9/19 - Scratchie AMPS 398

  • Thread starter Thread starter Scratchie'smom
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Scratchie'smom

9/18 Condo

Really down today with Scratchie's numbers. Worried as well that he's not improving. Some make it look/sound so easy. Seven months since dx.

Recap of yesterday's numbers (such that they are):
AMPS = 288
+10.5 = 415
PMPS - didn't test - bad I know.
Increase dose to 2u (recommonded by Marje and Sienne)
+2 = 337
+5 = 294
Tried to get a test at +8.5 and Scratchie wouldn't cooperate. (1:30am)
Tried again at +11. He wanted to play so we did.
AMPS = 398

Cuddly and slobbery kisses this morning at 3:00 am. Eating good (not as much as I would think based on his high numbers however), negative on ketones. All P's good. The way he is acting you would think his BG would be lower, he just must be used to the high numbers?? Food is all Friskies - Special Diet LC.

Hate doing an increase during the week when I have to work, but have to get his numbers down - I understand that. Tonight will get +2, +5, +8 and see how we go.

Have a good day.

Jo
 
It's definitely not easy.

I know it's been a challenge for you to get more testing in and you are working your way up to it.
And you are having to do it all by yourself and work all day.
It makes it even more of a challenge.

I guess my favorite go to line is to step back and look at the big picture and where Scratchie would be without all you are doing and
how far you have come now.
It defintely takes up our time and dedication and sleep deprivation, all for love.

Maybe with the increase , Scratchie will move down into some yellows and blues.
Paw crossed.
It will come. :YMHUG:
 
You always know how to make me feel better and you are right! I just wish I could get DH on board with testing, then I wouldn't be so nervous and scared when at work.

Thanks Rhiannon.
 
Is he just ambivalent towards cats?

My husband hasn't done anything to help either but he would in a pinch like if I were in the hospital.
He likes Shadow more than any other cat we have ever had.
He used to feed her every morning and let me sleep before FD.


I know not everyone has the attitude of saving their pets , some would rather just start anew and don't have the intense attachments.
I get lots of eye rolls from folks at my church that I am doing all of this..?... for a cat...?... ohmygod_smile
and I always say, you betcha.
You won't like me very much when she's gone . I grieve very hard , have had 2 pets that I was intensely attached to before and spent
2 years in grief counseling. Their absence now is much louder to me in life than their presence was when they were here.

So I will do as much as I can for Shadow as long as she can stand it and not withdraw completely. She has adjusted to our new life
and is starting to be her old self again and cuddly. I wasn't sure she would persevere. i was afraid she might shut down.
But she is adapting.


Hopefully over time, your husband will see how much Scratchie means to you and decide to help you out when it's needed.
Everything takes as long as it takes.
 
9/19 - Scratchie AMPS 398, PMPS 257

Thanks Rhiannon. He's never liked cats, but I think he is figuring out how much Scratchie means to me. I'm hoping to convince him to help with the testing when he is home during the day. Even just one test would relieve my mind.

Got home tonight and my boy was hungry!!! Told him we had to test and he surprised me again (did this the other day) headed downstairs and waited by the couch for me to get things ready, then lift him up on the couch and do the test. Then it was food!!! He's such a sweetheart!! PMPS was 257! Yahoo!!!

I know, I need to watch him closely tonight so we're going to do a +2, +5 and +8. He sleeps next to me on the floor so I should hear if there are any problems.

Much better end of the work day, than the start!!

Jo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top