Skyynett
Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-25-nellie-amps-102-2-86-4-79-failed-reduction.267578/
Hi all
Was out of town for a while but my partner did a great job looking after Nellie. We did end up needing two different pet sitters during that time so I decided to temporarily lower the dose for those days since the sitters wouldn't be able to get a reading.
Ever since then she seems to be on a mission to go back up the dosing ladder and I'm super confused. I feel like we were doing so well and it's all starting to unravel a bit. On 9/10 she got a couple of yellows, the first time since May (!).
I know they can go into the high numbers if they have an infection/illness, but she isn't sick, she's been eating, pooping, playing normally. Her last dental was at the end of May of this year and the vet said her teeth looked good, so she's good on that front.
I feel like it may come down to either she is:
1) Falling out of being well regulated and just needs more insulin
2) possibly reacting to a change in formula in one of her foods (Wellness CORE Turkey Duck). I notice the high numbers happen the day after she eats this particular brand, so I'm doing a trial without it for a while. Usually it's less than 1% carbs, so I wonder if maybe they changed up the ingredients due to supply chain issues or something?
3) potentially dropping low and I'm just not catching it, so this is all a bounce? I know this is the least likely scenario, given how much I test her.
As always, any feedback from the experts on here is always much, much appreciated!
Hi all
Was out of town for a while but my partner did a great job looking after Nellie. We did end up needing two different pet sitters during that time so I decided to temporarily lower the dose for those days since the sitters wouldn't be able to get a reading.
Ever since then she seems to be on a mission to go back up the dosing ladder and I'm super confused. I feel like we were doing so well and it's all starting to unravel a bit. On 9/10 she got a couple of yellows, the first time since May (!).
I know they can go into the high numbers if they have an infection/illness, but she isn't sick, she's been eating, pooping, playing normally. Her last dental was at the end of May of this year and the vet said her teeth looked good, so she's good on that front.
I feel like it may come down to either she is:
1) Falling out of being well regulated and just needs more insulin
2) possibly reacting to a change in formula in one of her foods (Wellness CORE Turkey Duck). I notice the high numbers happen the day after she eats this particular brand, so I'm doing a trial without it for a while. Usually it's less than 1% carbs, so I wonder if maybe they changed up the ingredients due to supply chain issues or something?
3) potentially dropping low and I'm just not catching it, so this is all a bounce? I know this is the least likely scenario, given how much I test her.
As always, any feedback from the experts on here is always much, much appreciated!