? 9/19 Nellie AMPS 121 +2.5 135 falling out of being well regulated?

Skyynett

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-25-nellie-amps-102-2-86-4-79-failed-reduction.267578/

Hi all

Was out of town for a while but my partner did a great job looking after Nellie. We did end up needing two different pet sitters during that time so I decided to temporarily lower the dose for those days since the sitters wouldn't be able to get a reading.

Ever since then she seems to be on a mission to go back up the dosing ladder and I'm super confused. I feel like we were doing so well and it's all starting to unravel a bit. On 9/10 she got a couple of yellows, the first time since May (!).

I know they can go into the high numbers if they have an infection/illness, but she isn't sick, she's been eating, pooping, playing normally. Her last dental was at the end of May of this year and the vet said her teeth looked good, so she's good on that front.

I feel like it may come down to either she is:
1) Falling out of being well regulated and just needs more insulin
2) possibly reacting to a change in formula in one of her foods (Wellness CORE Turkey Duck). I notice the high numbers happen the day after she eats this particular brand, so I'm doing a trial without it for a while. Usually it's less than 1% carbs, so I wonder if maybe they changed up the ingredients due to supply chain issues or something?
3) potentially dropping low and I'm just not catching it, so this is all a bounce? I know this is the least likely scenario, given how much I test her.

As always, any feedback from the experts on here is always much, much appreciated!
 
There was a pfs and the one lowered dose. Give her 10 cycles and see if you see more green. If not then you can try an increase but I’d wait to see if it’s needed.
 
I'm leaning to option 1, caused partly by glucose toxicity. Her body getting somewhat used to higher numbers from lower doses and partial fur shots. You can always email Wellness and see if there have been any formula changes, but a change in carb% a couple percent here or there shouldn't make a difference. A lot of people feed in the 4-6% carb range.

If it's been a while since she's been to the vet, you could always take her in for check up. Get a look in the mouth to see if she needs a dental. That's one of the more common reasons cat's fall off the regulation rails.
 
Thanks Elise & Wendy - I'll keep holding this dose for 10 cycles and post here in case she needs an increase soon.

Yeah I thought maybe dental, but she got her teeth cleaned in May of this year and the vet didn't notice any problem areas then. She also had bloodwork done in July after she finished a course of antibiotics and her labs shows that she had improved. I'm going to wait a little bit to see how she does, as I'd rather hold on the vet for a little bit since she's been so many times this year that it's gotten quite pricey. But of course if she starts throwing even more yellows, I'll schedule another check up.

Emailed Wellness just in case, we'll see what they say!
 
Back
Top