9/19 Minky AMPS: 409, 163@+4.5, PMPS: 216, 421@+3.75

I thought I was supposed to only do the 2.25 since she was high. Am I supposed to stay at 2.25 when she is back the 200s or 100s?
 
I thought I was supposed to only do the 2.25 since she was high. Am I supposed to stay at 2.25 when she is back the 200s or 100s?
@Sheila and Minky
I'm sure you should have stayed with 2.25 units I'm tagging Bron ok
Bron at what BG should she not shot since she is new. She does come home at her lunch hour to feed and test Minky , probably around @+5
I think her shot times are 6 AM and 6 PM. Is this correct Sheila
So she might not be able to stall in the morning
Plus I don't know if Sheila knows what to stall means can you please explain it to her for me
Thanks Bron :cat:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Bron can you please look at her SS she gave 2 units tonight and 2.25 this morning

Her shooting times
Here is what Sheila said
I usually test between 6:30 and 7:15 AM. I can only be home for 15 minutes for lunch. It takes 10 min each way to travel and lunch is only 38 min.
 
Last edited:
@Sheila and Minky
I'm sure you should have stayed with 2.25 units I'm tagging Bron ok
Bron at what BG should she not shot since she is new. She does come home at her lunch hour to feed and test Minky , probably around @+5
I think her shot times are 6 AM and 6 PM. Is this correct Sheila
So she might not be able to stall in the morning
Plus I don't know if Sheila knows what to stall means can you please explain it to her for me
Thanks Bron :cat:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Bron can you please look at her SS she gave 2 units tonight and 2.25 this morning
Thank you for checking and asking. I didn't even think about it. I usually test between 6:30 and 7:15 AM. I can only be home for 15 minutes for lunch. It takes 10 min each way to travel and lunch is only 38 min.
 
Thank you for checking and asking. I didn't even think about it
No problem at all, hopefully Bron will come back on soon. Bron lives in Sydney Australia so it's about 2:00 PM there for her Friday . The only reason I know what time it is by Bron is because I Google to see what time it is there now lol
Do you think you can do a 2 hour curve over the weekend?
@Sheila and Minky
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Do you think Sheila should do a 2 hour curve this weekend?
 
Last edited:
I have to Google times too. My dad is India. I finally set a clock for a India time on my phone :) What is a two hour curve?
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours.
After you give Minky her insulin you would then test her every 2 hours until you get to the PMPS number
 
Oh that makes sense. I think I could do that. I don't think Miss Mink will be happy though :(
Maybe she won't mind , but it will give us more information. Maybe you can give her a treat while you test her . Freezer dried treats are fine.
Wait a minute and I'll give you information on them

You can get any freeze dried treats ,information is there
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/brand-new-many-questions-3.255627/#post-2878703

Or give her a few pieces of boiled chicken , don't put anything in the water at all



One member does this she said
I used to boil a chicken breast, cube it, flash freeze it (on a baking pan in the freezer… helps the cubes from sticking together) then put in a container in the freezer. Then every night I’d take out a few chunks out and let them thaw in the fridge for the next day.
@Sheila and Minky
 
Last edited:
I probably will test now as I am getting ready to go to bed. She seems to be perkier tonight for which I am glad.
Sounds good , just be sure to add it to your title and spreadsheet, I'm curious.
I'm getting tired too lol
I had surgery on my shoulder on 8-30 and just started physical therapy this Monday 3 times a week . Have to go for 8 weeks . Just need to wear a sling when I go out. I can leave it off at home.
Physical therapy is kicking my butt lol
I had a rotator cuff tear
Pain in the neck to drive with one hand
@Sheila and Minky
 
421 :( I should have given the 2.25 units. *sigh*

Oh I am so sorry for the surgery and pt. When something doesn't work, that is tough.
That's ok you can go back to 2.25 units in the morning, do you leave food out for her after you leave for work?
And do you have a hypo kit med and high carb foods if needed
I forgot do you have other kitties
@Sheila and Minky
Don't forget to add that test to your title , I'm a stickler when it comes to things :p
 
I leave some wet food out. I put the dry food up on the table. She can get it to it if she really wants it; she has to jump up on a chair and then up on to the table. I am trying to get her away from the dry food. I have some of her food in gravy which is higher in carbs and I have corn syrup.
 
I leave some wet food out. I put the dry food up on the table. She can get it to it if she really wants it; she has to jump up on a chair and then up on to the table. I am trying to get her away from the dry food. I have some of her food in gravy which is higher in carbs and I have corn syrup.
Do you have other kitties?
What is the name of the dry food , was wondering how many carbs it is
@Sheila and Minky
 
What does on a dry matter basis mean vs. as fed if you know?
I can't find it right now but I know that on our food chart Dr Pierson goes by the as fed values and some go by the dry matter.vwhen I fine it I'll tell you

Med and High Carb food and have honey in your house



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods



https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

10% and under is low carb
11% -15 is medium carbs.

16- 24 is high carb.


What wet food are you feeding is it low carb
@Sheila and Minky
 
Thank you :) I made a list of her foods based on the report I saw somewhere among the files. It was like 60 pages I think. Is honey better than corn syrup? Does it matter what kind of honey?
 
What does on a dry matter basis mean vs. as fed if you know?
This has always confused me
Found this posted by a member
This is how the foods on Dr Pierson's list are calculated.
('Dry matter' just means the food as if all the water has been removed).

When calculating the percentage of calories from carbs you can use either wet matter or dry matter values (because water has no calories so the result should be the same...

Dr Pierson uses as fed on her food chart so I always went by that as fed
What is the name of the wet food you feed
@Sheila and Minky
 
Minky is most likely bouncing from the blue BG today. And she possibly went lower after that.
As you are doing SlGS here is what it says in the SLGS dosing method about what to do about preshot numbers
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
We don’t want you to skip a dose because of the recent history of DKA. And because you are using an alphatrak meter I would add another 20 points to the BG numbers they give you above…so for example ‘below 150 don’t give insulin’… would say ‘below 170’ but we need you to give some insulin because we don’t want you to skip, so try and post and ask or give a token dose such as 1/4 of the dose. Does that make sense.?
Do you work 5 days a week.?
Honey, corn syrup or Karo are all ok to use if the numbers are low.
 
Minky is most likely bouncing from the blue BG today. And she possibly went lower after that.
As you are doing SlGS here is what it says in the SLGS dosing method about what to do about preshot numbers
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
We don’t want you to skip a dose because of the recent history of DKA. And because you are using an alphatrak meter I would add another 20 points to the BG numbers they give you above…so for example ‘below 150 don’t give insulin’… would say ‘below 170’ but we need you to give some insulin because we don’t want you to skip, so try and post and ask or give a token dose such as 1/4 of the dose. Does that make sense.?
Do you work 5 days a week.?
Honey, corn syrup or Karo are all ok to use if the numbers are low.
@Sheila and Minky
 
Sheila said , but then deleted it
She is at 461 above her preshot dose so should I give 2 units or 2.25? I have to make a decision in the next 15 minutes.
Sorry I just saw this at 8:40 this morning

I saw this on my email and tapped on view post but I didn't see it anywhere that you posted this .I would give 2.25 units. Where did you post this ?
@Sheila and Minky
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Last edited:
I posted here but had to make a decision so I deleted it. I gave two units to be safe looking at Bron's post.

"Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve..."
 
I posted here but had to make a decision so I deleted it. I gave two units to be safe looking at Bron's post.

"Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve..."
Ok I thought I was going crazy. I'm no expert but I still would have given 2.25
When you get home just remember to put 2 units on your SS
Don't worry about it, let's see what Bron says ok
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sheila and Minky
 
Last edited:
I posted here but had to make a decision so I deleted it. I gave two units to be safe looking at Bron's post.

"Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve..."
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Bron should Sheila have given 2.25 units this morning? I posted above and tagged you that she shot 2 units last night and 2.25 units yesterday morning , she thought the 2.25 units was only for yesterday morning because her BG was high
Can you please look at her SS
 
Minky is most likely bouncing from the blue BG today. And she possibly went lower after that.
As you are doing SlGS here is what it says in the SLGS dosing method about what to do about preshot numbers
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
We don’t want you to skip a dose because of the recent history of DKA. And because you are using an alphatrak meter I would add another 20 points to the BG numbers they give you above…so for example ‘below 150 don’t give insulin’… would say ‘below 170’ but we need you to give some insulin because we don’t want you to skip, so try and post and ask or give a token dose such as 1/4 of the dose. Does that make sense.?
Do you work 5 days a week.?
Honey, corn syrup or Karo are all ok to use if the numbers are low.
I do work 5 days a week. Should I keep her at the 2.25 units?
 
Back
Top