9/19 Lucy PMPS=200;+2=221 // sick again...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

9/18 AMPS=131; +2=151; +9.5=142
9/18 PMPS=130; +2=139; +6=164

9/18 AMPS=137; +2=85; +3=81; +9.5=220
9/18 PMPS=200; +2=221

In case you didn't see my yesterday evening's report, after talking with the vet yesterday morning, I have finally decided to increase her prednisolone dose back to the original dose.
Seeing how Lucy has been lately, I feel that it's better for her overall well being.

It's not going to help anyone because this experiment failed, but here is the recap of her steroid dose experiment.

until 6/30 : 5mg every other day.
7/1 - 7/21 : 2.5mg every day.
7/22 - 9/18 : 2.5mg every other day.
from 9/19 : 2.5mg every day.

As you can see, I have decided to give her 2.5mg every day instead of 5mg every other day.
I did express my concern about adrenal insufficiency by dosing her every day when discussing with the vet, but she doesn't think I should worry about it.
Maybe her prednisolone dose is still very small to cause suppression, at least not in any greater way than dosing her 5mg every other day.
So in order to flatten her BG cycles, we decided that half tablet every day would be better in Lucy's case.

From today, it's going to be a pred day every day, so I'm sure I need to give a dosecrease soon.
Today's PM cycle will be her 10th on this dose, so I think I'm going to increase her insulin dose tomorrow.

Lucy seems to be feeling a bit better today than yesterday.
Her appetite is also a bit better too, though not by much.
Today she is taking little bigger food balls offered on my finger.
I just have to be careful to pick out all the visible veggie bits or she won't take the next bite.
Today's Wellness had a lot of potato bits. :-x
She pooped a large normal looking poo this morning, during the finger-feeding session.
My mother would say "Bad manner!!!".

I hope everyone's having a nice day. :smile:
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy AMPS=137 // steroid increase

Hi guys .. good luck with the new steroid increase .. sometimes I think you just have to do what you think is going to be best for your kitty .. It's a nice amps though lucy! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=85 // steroid increase

:shock: +2 is 85.

I don't know what happened.
I haven't changed anything YET.
I do love this number, but not when Lucy isn't eating well!!
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=85;+3=81 // steroid increase

I hope Lucy surfed safely for you today and the new pred schedule will help her feel better.
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=85;+3=81;+9.5=220 // steroid incre

I came home to a huge puddle of vomit.
I don't know what happened after +3 today because I left for work, but she didn't finish her 3rd breakfast and since she vomited she probably went lower.
I think the +9.5 is a combination of bounce and not feeling well.

She is not feeling well right now, and may be nauseated, so I gave her Cerenia.
I hope she'll be better by the dinner time.....
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=85;+3=81;+9.5=220 // sick again...

Awww Mariko, I'm sorry little Lucy is feeling yucky. I hope tomorrow's a better eating day.
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=85;+3=81;+9.5=220 // sick again...

Oh Mariko, you are so patient and smart and caring with your Lucy.
I am so glad she has you, because you have the wisdom to get her through all her problems, and the patience to help her, and the love to celebrate every victory. As we do with you!

The Cerenia sounds like a good decision, and I hope you have a gentle evening.

And thank you for the great advice you gave me yesterday about how to inject and release slowly. I've started doing this.

Best wishes to you and Lucy and Ginger!
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=85;+3=81;+9.5=220 // sick again...

Mariko, I hope that Lucy will settle in to the new meds schedule and that she'll be feeling better again soon. You are doing such a good job balancing all of Lucy's meds, foods, etc. Sending lots of healing vines this evening,

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy AMPS=137;+2=85;+3=81;+9.5=220 // sick again...

Sending tons of prayers that sweet little Lucy is feeling better by now...I know how worrisome it is when they don't feel well.
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy PMPS=200 // sick again...

((Mariko)), sending many feel-better to sweet LucyGirl.
I'm sorry she's not feeling well tonight.
I hope the Cerenia helped.
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy PMPS=200 // sick again...

Thank you always for your vines because she needs it.

Liz, I haven't tried ondansetron.
When I asked the vet for anti-nausea meds to keep at hand, she gave me Cerenia.
I asked her why she picked Cerenia over Zofran (<-- this is ondansetron, correct?), and she just said she thinks Cerenia is better.
I didn't ask her to explain further at that time.
Do you like Zofran over Cerenia?
So far, I have given Lucy Cerenia tablet twice including today, and it seems to work.
I think Lucy is no longer nauseated, or at least not as nauseated, but her appy and energy are still very low...
But at least, she is eating slllloooowwwwwwly, tiny bite at a time.
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy PMPS=200 // sick again...

Poor Lucy! Sorry to hear she is feeling sick again. It sounds like you have a good plan for the meds going forward and maybe it will be easier to keep her BG level this way. Your patience with feeding her is amazing, Mariko. I hope her appetite picks up tomorrow. Take care!
 
Re: 9/19 Lucy PMPS=200 // sick again...

:sad: :sad: :sad:
Sorry to hear Lucy isn't feeling her best, but glad that she's eating a bit. My Theo got Cerenia yesterday, it is also a bit of a anti-inflammatory.

Sending tons of healing vines over the water.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top