9/19 Harry AMPS 64 +2=88, +4 =98, +6 =78, +10 =117

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erika&Harrycat

Member Since 2015
Yesterdays Condo

Recap
AMPS 250
1 unit
+3 61
+5 56
+9 91
+11 137
PMPS 176
1U
+1 221
+2 177
+3 170
+5 123

Still trying to figure out Harry's dance. He was hanging out in the green a lot yesterday and this morning it's the same.

Last night was the first time in a week he didn't wake me in the middle of the night begging for food! Progress. I'll take it!

Today should be interesting to see where he takes me.

Happy Weekend!!
 
Last edited:
I didn't shoot. But I did feed. :banghead::(
Should I wait longer? I have been so tired lately I'm forgetting all that I'm learning.
 
I'd wait to see what others say but since you fed unless there was a huge jump in numbers I would skip. You might want to change your subject to say stalled but fed with the next test number and should I shoot.
 
Usually when we stall, don't feed so we aren't shooting a food spike. We want to see if the cycle is ending and he heads up on his own. Also...there is no set amount of time that we stall ...in other words, if he's still on the way up at +14.5, you can still shoot but it just makes it harder to get back on schedule once you stall past two hours. If you shot now, you have to shoot 12 hours from now and then start to work you way back.

So, at this point, it might be fine to skip and start over at his regular time tonight. But, if it were my cat, I'd continue with the 1u dose until he earns a reduction by going below 50 as long as you can continue to monitor him. The reason I'm suggesting that is because this dose is working for him and you want to give his pancreas as much time in healing numbers as possible. He might earn that reduction in the next cycle or two....we really don't know. But if you are able to be there and test/manage the curve, if necessary, it would be a good thing for him.
 
I totally understand and agree! I'll keep testing through out the day and shoot at his PMPS time. I was so out of it from lack of sleep, so after I fed him... I was like, "wait... Why did I do that?!" Ugh so annoyed with myself. But if it happens tomorrow or the next day I will remember. Thanks, Marje!! :)
 
You're welcome and I'm pretty sure we've all done that in our sleep deprived hazes!

Enjoy your day....I would grab a mid cycle test and +10 so we can see how he likes no juice.
 
Thanks! And I want to add one thing.....for the benefit of other members as well as you.

This is peer review board and it's a great thing because one person doesn't have all the right answers. It's important that others offer you their opinions and you consider them. Just because I suggest something to you, doesn't mean you have to do it. You should consider all input, weigh it all out, and then decide. I'm typically going to recommend what is in the TR protocol as long as I know it's safe for that cat at that time but we all know those are guidelines and sometimes we need to modify the approach.

I'm just adding this because I want other members to feel free to step up and offer their thoughts, as well. And if you are ever uncomfortable with something suggested...don't be afraid to speak up. Remember...he's your cat and you hold the syringe.
 
Last edited:
Thanks for that! I appreciate yours and anyone's input in helping me keep my kitty happy and healthy. Everyone has been so kind and supportive. Learning lots here and so very grateful for this board and all the amazing people here.
 
Good afternoon Erika!

I would like to revisit my suggestion in yesterday's condo for a minute. Here is what I wrote:

If you're following Tight Regulation Protocol as in your sig, technically he's not due a decrease unless he drops below 50 BUT I think I would reduce. I say this because with this only being his third day on Lantus, his depot isn't filled yet so you're not even yet really taking advantage of all the dose. When that fills, I think that full depot and dose is going to bomb him.

My reasoning was so you wouldn't end up having to skip shots due to low numbers. It is suggested that the starting point is 1 unit but that doesn't necessarily mean that's the best place to start for every cat. You are just starting to try to find the right dose for him, not walking back down the dosing ladder. This morning you had to stall and end up skipping as he was too low to comfortably shoot. Since this is now the 4th day, the depot should be close to full but possibly not quite. Yes you want to keep him in 'healing numbers' but that's the 'normal' range, 50-120. I still feel it would be better to back off to .75u's letting the depot fill then moving up if needed. This would allow Lantus to work as designed. You want to find stable numbers. You were using another insulin but it didn't work the same way. Now that you had to skip today, it's affecting the fill of the depot. If you hadn't fed his low numbers yesterday, he would likely have dropped below that 50 reduction number - you were already just 4 points above that early in the cycle. Yes that's trying to predict what could have happened but in my opinion, that's what would have happened as there was nothing to stop that downward slide already in progress.

This is different than what would be suggested for a cat already on Lantus. Even I would agree with letting them 'earn' a reduction of under 50. That's just not the case here.

As Marje so graciously pointed out above, I have a different opinion but you hold the syringe. Weighing all the reasons of both suggestions, you can decide which is more comfortable for you. Everyone will support whichever way you decide to go.

This isn't an 'argument', this is just differing opinions... :) All of us want Harry to be the most healthy cat he can be!

HUGS! Hope you get a good nap today!
 
Since you didn't shoot this morning, today's also the best time to change your shooting schedule IF you want to

Looking great so far Harry....show off those surfing skills, OK?


Yeah I was thinking of shooting at the 7's. That was his normal shooting time anyway. Still trying to figure where's he's going today.
 
Good afternoon Erika!

I would like to revisit my suggestion in yesterday's condo for a minute. Here is what I wrote:



My reasoning was so you wouldn't end up having to skip shots due to low numbers. It is suggested that the starting point is 1 unit but that doesn't necessarily mean that's the best place to start for every cat. You are just starting to try to find the right dose for him, not walking back down the dosing ladder. This morning you had to stall and end up skipping as he was too low to comfortably shoot. Since this is now the 4th day, the depot should be close to full but possibly not quite. Yes you want to keep him in 'healing numbers' but that's the 'normal' range, 50-120. I still feel it would be better to back off to .75u's letting the depot fill then moving up if needed. This would allow Lantus to work as designed. You want to find stable numbers. You were using another insulin but it didn't work the same way. Now that you had to skip today, it's affecting the fill of the depot. If you hadn't fed his low numbers yesterday, he would likely have dropped below that 50 reduction number - you were already just 4 points above that early in the cycle. Yes that's trying to predict what could have happened but in my opinion, that's what would have happened as there was nothing to stop that downward slide already in progress.

This is different than what would be suggested for a cat already on Lantus. Even I would agree with letting them 'earn' a reduction of under 50. That's just not the case here.

As Marje so graciously pointed out above, I have a different opinion but you hold the syringe. Weighing all the reasons of both suggestions, you can decide which is more comfortable for you. Everyone will support whichever way you decide to go.

This isn't an 'argument', this is just differing opinions... :) All of us want Harry to be the most healthy cat he can be!

HUGS! Hope you get a good nap today!


Thank you KT!! Yes, this is all so new and quite difficult to make the right choice. Such a "fun" numbers game. Hehe. I'am worried that his numbers were quite low this am and for not having a dose today he's already in the 70's. Where did that come from? Lol fun dip. I'm keeping all of your wise and cautious information in mind and so very much appreciate it. Maybe you and Marje can help me figure out what to dose him after the +9 or +10 test.
 
I am beginning to doubt you and Harry are going to do this sugar dance for long, I think he just needs a bit of help for a short time. :) Sounds like he's already trying to pull himself down all on his own. Wouldn't 'diet controlled' be SO wonderful?

I know you're in a 'spot' with differing opinions when you're just getting your feet on the ground. It's REALLY hard when you don't yet have experience under your belt to figure out what's best. Heck, it's difficult to even know what questions to ask huh? I still remember being in that spot years ago - I knew I didn't know but I didn't know what I didn't know. :confused:

The rest of the day's numbers will be quite interesting. :):)
 
glad to see others showed up today. some days are light, some are full here....
I was on my way out the door....
so all I could do was ask the question so the next one could give input.
 
Well well well...Sir Harry is on a mission! STILL dropping at +18!

Yeah he's finally on the rise. Man, it took me 30 min to test him. He is so stubborn. Get a test? Get a treat!! Come on buddy!!

Yeah that would be fantastic if he could be diet controlled. But I won't get my hopes up. I'll see how PMPS goes... I switched to freeze dried chicken as the treat and he's gaga over it!! Lol
 
Did you feed between the 2 tests? It's not the wrong thing to do, just another piece of info for this puzzle also known as King Harry!
Haha! I gave him a little snack a little less than a quarter of a can of wet food at +6. This cat cannot handle just two meals a day. But he's getting better.
 
It's not necessary that he only gets fed twice a day....most cats do better with small meals than 2 huge ones so it doesn't tax the pancreas as much. Some people feed small meals throughout the cycle (except the 2 hours before shots) and some try to get the feedings in before nadir (so that once the insulin is starting to wear off, you're not adding "fuel to the fire"), but ECID so just keep good records of when you feed Harry and see what works best for him!

Looking darn good there Harry!! Keep it up! (or is that "keep it down?" ;))
 
It's not necessary that he only gets fed twice a day....most cats do better with small meals than 2 huge ones so it doesn't tax the pancreas as much. Some people feed small meals throughout the cycle (except the 2 hours before shots) and some try to get the feedings in before nadir (so that once the insulin is starting to wear off, you're not adding "fuel to the fire"), but ECID so just keep good records of when you feed Harry and see what works best for him!

Looking darn good there Harry!! Keep it up! (or is that "keep it down?" ;))


Hehe!! I wanted to be all strict since he was free fed all the carbs he wanted his entire life so I could be more lenient about how eats. Yes, I'm trying to write everything down. So I can remember. I can tell he's not as hungry. Like following me around. But when I get up, he's up to see if I'm going to give him a snack. Lol
 
Sometime over the next half hour would be good and let's see where he is in relation to that 117

BUT

I know you struggle to test so if you think you can only get 1 in, wait until 6:30 your time. I'm CST, it's 7:47 for me right now.
 
Sometime over the next half hour would be good and let's see where he is in relation to that 117

BUT

I know you struggle to test so if you think you can only get 1 in, wait until 6:30 your time. I'm CST, it's 7:47 for me right now.

Aww, crud. I can still do a 6:30. I have hubby to help me.
 
OK, my suggestion would be to shoot at 7:00 unless the next test is going down again. You've got my shot amount and reasons above. I still feel it should be backed down to .75 units. You up to a few tests tonight? There's really no way to predict this cycle - he may run fairly steady or he may start diving again.

Tagging @Marje and Gracie - your input after today's run?
 
If you have plenty of supplies and can test tonight if you need to, I'd stick to the 1U dose until he earns the reduction by dropping below 50 (which may not be too much longer but there's no way to predict...darn it!)

I understand Lyresa's point of view, but this dose has been good for him so far...but you hold the syringe and only you know how tired you really are too!
 
The 1U dose brought him down into good numbers...that's what I mean by it's "good for him", but I totally understand what Lyresa is saying too....we don't want you having to always have to skip shots because he's too low to shoot either

It really will depend on how you feel tonight Erika.....Earlier today Marje had said if it were her cat, she'd hold the 1U dose until he earned the reduction too, but yes, with him responding so well, it's really got to be your decision what you're most comfortable with

If you want to reduce, that's FINE too!...if the reduction doesn't hold, we'll just have to go back up!

No pressure from any of us...whatever you decide really is fine Erika!! You're the only one that knows how tired you are and how stressful your day has been on you
 
The 1U dose brought him down into good numbers...that's what I mean by it's "good for him", but I totally understand what Lyresa is saying too....we don't want you having to always have to skip shots because he's too low to shoot either

It really will depend on how you feel tonight Erika.....Earlier today Marje had said if it were her cat, she'd hold the 1U dose until he earned the reduction too, but yes, with him responding so well, it's really got to be your decision what you're most comfortable with

If you want to reduce, that's FINE too!...if the reduction doesn't hold, we'll just have to go back up!

No pressure from any of us...whatever you decide really is fine Erika!! You're the only one that knows how tired you are and how stressful your day has been on you

Thanks Chris and Lyresa! A lot to think about. I'll decide In a few min here after this PMPS. I'm kinda leaning towards a lower dose. Just because Iam tired. And if he can't hold it I can always go back. You all have been so kinda day I really appreciate you taking the time to help us. Big HUGS!!!
 
FWIW I agree with Lyresa on this one and would lower the dose, especially if you're still having a little trouble testing - although you can't tell that from his spreadsheet :)

If you don't shoot it's a AMBG for blood glucose rather than AMPS for preshot
 
Well King Harry - you are a puzzle aren't you! PMPS 131/145 about the same level....

Erika, can you stall for about half an hour and see where he is then? Since he didn't go higher, he might be turning around.
 
Gah!! Sorry... I fed him. I really need to stop doing that. You all must think I'm Special o_O I apologize. I'm gonna do the .75.
 
Let me explain a bit better - since he didn't continue to go up, his pancreas may be trying to kick in and bring himself down with a bit of his own insulin. We lovingly refer to it as 'sputtering pancreas'.
 
Let me explain a bit better - since he didn't continue to go up, his pancreas may be trying to kick in and bring himself down with a bit of his own insulin. We lovingly refer to it as 'sputtering pancreas'.


Lol! That's cute. I'm fine stalling, but does it mess with things since I fed him? He doesn't usually spike after I feed him... But I can test at 7:00? 7:30?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top