9/19 Ella +2:35=40+2:55=56+3:15=56+3.5=59,+4=54+4:50=79

Status
Not open for further replies.

tpr

Member Since 2012
Good morning,

Thanks for all of the visits yesterday and taking the time to suggest some potential solutions for us :-D http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79310

Ella is isolated in the bedroom each weekday to ensure she has access to food. I leave out her lc but she rarely touches it. Ella used to hoover her dry food but since she's been on wet she needs encouragement to finish her meals. I don't think an auto feeder will help her in this case. She pretty much needs someone physically present, unless it's dry food, to coax her to eat. When she is dropping she sometimes seeks me out for food but it's usually me who catches her lows and then feed her accordingly. Syrup helps to bring her bg's up a bit but it wears of quicker than the hc plus there is no guarantee that she will eat the food I leave out for her. She doesn't like any of the food we eat, never has. She doesn't even get excited about tuna :?
The only solution that I see at this point is giving her dry food when she is low but I worry that she will stop eating the wet if she gets a taste of the kitty crack again. I'm also very concerned about not being home to know if she's earned a reduction and dosing her inappropriately because of that.

I have a new position this year and don't have the flexibility like I used to. It is not possible to change my schedule and even if I could, it doesn't allow me much time to get home and care for her the way I would need to if she was low. In terms of dosing her, I get up early to ensure I get a +1 and 2 so that I can feed her accordingly but after that, she's on her own and I'm left to worry.
 
Re: 9/19 Ella 385

Hi Tamara, so sorry you are having the issues with Ella not eating the wet but loving the dry. I know Mags would be in heaven if she could eat dry! I hope something can be worked out for her. I can see your dilemma with the new position and not being able to get home to monitor. I wish I lived closer and could help you. Hugs.
 
Re: 9/19 Ella 385

Hi Tamara,
This has probably been suggested to you at one time or another, but maybe it bears repeating: have you tried sprinkling FortiFlora on Ella's wet food? It contains the same "kitty-crack" ingredient found in dry food: animal digest. You could also try grinding up some dry food and sprinkling some on Ella's wet food. Anything to get her to eat when you're not home.

I hope you will find an acceptable solution to your dilemma. Thinking of you and sending :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/19 Ella 385

I'm not sure if Stella and Chewy's is available in Canada, but you could try a raw pet food store for other freeze dried raw options. One I know of is The Dog House, but it also carries cat food. That store also carries the Red Dog/Blue Cat food I serve to my monsters, including the kangaroo.
 
Re: 9/19 Ella pmps 92 +1:50=49

Thanks for the visits and continued suggestions.
Gotta be quick because I'm on watch. I took the reduction before earning it tonight and I'm glad I did. Ella's +2 today told me it was going to be an active cycle. I gave her, her usual meal as well as some hc. Lucky for me, there was a school wide assembly and a colleague covered for me in the gym. I raced home over lunch and fed her a mc/lc combo and when I got home after school she was 131. We were on our way to the vet so I packed the hypo kit. She was SUPER stressed the whole way there and the whole way back and I was expecting to see a higher bg but she was 92 at pmps :o . My intuition told me to reduce as she was on a mission despite all the hc,mc and vetty stress. Off to test. Will post back later.
 
Re: 9/19 Ella pmps 92 +1:50=49

I took the reduction before earning it tonight.
You did.

J.D. will sometimes go down at the vet. It's just the way he is. He's stressed, and crys, and pees, and wants to go home, but he's super mellow, and all the vets love him.
 
Re: 9/19 Ella pmps 92 +1:55=49+2:15=56

Good intuition and great catch!

My thought was the same as Ella's -- if you can get FortiFlora that may be a solution. It has the same coating that's on some dry foods and many cat's find it irresistible.
 
Re: 9/19 Ella pmps 92 +1= 70 +1:55=49+2:15=56+2:35=40

Eeks, she'd dropping. Just gave her more syrup and lc. Gonna re-test in 15. May have to pull out the hc.
 
Re: 9/19 Ella pmps 92 +1= 70 +1:55=49+2:15=56+2:35=40+2:55=5

Ella - Look at you lovin' the green! Green is nice, but how about eat so you don't worry your mama so much, k?

Have a peaceful night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 9/19 Ella +2:35=40+2:55=56+3:15=56+3.5=59,+4=54

Thanks for the visits Libby,Dyana and Sienne! She's definitely enjoying the green. I haven't been feeding her that much but I just gave her some lc with hc to see if i can bring her up a bit more. She doesn't nadir till around +8 so this might be a long evening. She hasn't been hungry at all. I've had to force her to eat a bit each time. I have been using fortiflora the last few weeks and she does like it but it doesn't make her eat independently.
 
Re: 9/19 Ella +2:35=40+2:55=56+3:15=56+3.5=59,+4=54

:shock: WOW - Quite the night for you. Surf well little one, just a bit higher too.

I hope you will be able to reach a solution with your work dilemma. Wouldn't it be great if you could just keep her with you while at class....
 
Oh how I wish I could keep her with me in class. That would make my life so mcuh easier:) Just fed her some more hc/lc mix as I want to go to bed for a teeny bit. Will set my alarm for sport checks as she doesn't nadir until later. Hmmm, I'm really curious/nervous as to what the morning will bring and what I will do if her numbers are low. I have a conference at another school tomorrow so I definitely can't come home. I guess we'll wait and see.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top