After 2 hours without carbs, he's at 62 (+10). I'm REALLY not looking forward to shooting a full 11 units with a BG in the 50s or 60s. Even if it rises to blue or yellow before the onset of the next dose, that doesn't give him a lot of room to safely drop before he hits green again, and I don't want to be up all night feeding MC/HC just to do it again tomorrow morning on no sleep. So if his PMPS is green, I might do a BCS of 9 units, then give 11 again tomorrow morning to see if he'll surf. If he needs constant testing/feeding again, I'll reduce the dose, then reevaluate after Friday.
I know some people won't agree with this, but here's the bottom line: I'm running out of time to see what happens when the depot fills/Lantus depot drains. I'm only able to monitor closely for 3 more cycles, so I'd rather reduce proactively while there's time to see how far a lower dose will drop him. I reduced without a drain-the-depot dose last time, which could be why today followed the same pattern. If a drain-the-depot dose can help keep him safe on the same dose tomorrow, I can use that strategy to keep him safe on Wednesday/Thursday. And if it doesn't, then draining the depot AND reducing the dose might be my last resort.