9/19 Charlie pmps 441, +1/388, +3 360

Status
Not open for further replies.

EllieKozak

Member Since 2014
Hello my friends and happy Friday!!! I am so thrilled to report that I just got home from work to find my boy still chipper! No diarrhea, and his bg was 347! I was also able to upload his intermal med specialist report and the link is under my signature under the u/s link. I am hoping to have your opinions on what was found and treatment plans etc. Now that it looks like he is FINALLY responding to the insulin and antibiotics I think were finally going somewhere! For those that have asked if I feed him throughout the day, I have an automatic feeder that gives him 1/2 can of DM every 4 hours. I had been giving fancy feast but when he was at work with me I forgot to bring his food and the lowest calorie diet there was the DM by purina. That was yesterday that he started eating that, and I don't know if it is related to the formed stool, but I know the fancy feast wasn't doing him any favors. The specialist recommended EVO and I have also heard that Dave's brand (might only be local in new England) might be the best choices. Does anyone think I should give any r tonight or see how he does with just the lantus? Also, was hoping to stop the sub q fluids if it wont harm him to do so. Just because I feel that I have been torturing him constantly with pills, shots, bgs, etc and I would love to give him a break, just because he has been so cooperative and I know he absolutely hates the sub q fluids and that his diarrhea has subsided, is it that critical? If it is I will continue. Thanks!!
 
Re: +10 347 still no diarrhea finally posted report

WOO-HOO TGIF! I'm so happy it's friday! dancing_cat

What a great report on Charlie!

His ultrasound report is really interesting. I'm not an expert at evaluating these, but i did notice especially the infectious report about his chronic small bowel diarrhea - he's got some bad bugs in there. Punkin had Clostridium Difficile (c diff) which was really hard to get rid of. The metronidazole/fortiflora combo did it for him. I'm wondering if Charlie's "clostridium" is the same kind or not. In any case, it sounds like the new meds are working, so YAY!

If you do get him tested for acro, i would really encourage the iaa testing at the same time. it's helpful for us to know what the whole picture is when we're helping you.

If i were you, I would keep up the subqs and R as you have been for at least another couple of days. If he's doing well now, I wouldn't pull out the supports getting him there just yet. If his preshot is lower, though, you might want to skip or lower the R dose, depending on his numbers. Remember, on the AT, your targe range for normal numbers is 68-160ish.

Let's see what others suggest, though.

edited to add - to clarify, ellie, did you shoot any R this morning? If he got to the 170 on his own, without R this morning, that would change what I was saying. I would consider holding off on the R tonight.
 
Charlie pmps 441 give r?

Hi! Charlie has had a wonderful numbers day if you see his SS. However his pmps was 441. Keep in mind he hasn't had R since yesterday afternoon and kept the numbers down on just the L. Diarrhea is still gone and his appetite is ravenous again :). Just gave the 5 u L. Still have time to give R if advised. Thank you!
 
Re: +10 347 still no diarrhea finally posted report

julie & punkin (ga) said:
WOO-HOO TGIF! I'm so happy it's friday! dancing_cat


If you do get him tested for acro, i would really encourage the iaa testing at the same time. it's helpful for us to know what the whole picture is when we're helping you.

If i were you, I would keep up the subqs and R as you have been for at least another couple of days. If he's doing well now, I wouldn't pull out the supports getting him there just yet. If his preshot is lower, though, you might want to skip or lower the R dose, depending on his numbers. Remember, on the AT, your targe range for normal numbers is 68-160ish.

Let's see what others suggest, though.

edited to add - to clarify, ellie, did you shoot any R this morning? If he got to the 170 on his own, without R this morning, that would change what I was saying. I would consider holding off on the R tonight.
I will continue sub q. I didn't give R since yest afternoon. He did those numbers off the L and back on LC food. His pmps is 441 though and I don't want him to bounce. Help!
 
Re: Charlie pmps 441 give r?

Given that he got to 170 and is now over 400, the bounce has already started, I'd guess. Frustrating, I know! You just have to wait it out.
 
Re: Charlie pmps 441 give r?

So then I should skip the r Suzanne? Just making sure. I still have 15 more min until I'm at +1. Let me know. Thanks!
 
Re: Charlie pmps 441 give r?

i think it depends on your preference, ellie. since the bounce has just begun, it is safe timing-wise to give it. you wouldn't want to give it at the end of a bounce, because you wouldn't want to cause a steep drop. But now, i think it's ok.

I would be inclined to go with the 1u and get a +3.
 
Re: Charlie pmps 441 give r?

Went ahead with 1 unit. Got a bg right before which was 388. Going down!
 
Re: Charlie pmps 441 give r?

if you don't mind, it's really helpful if you edit the subject line of the first post so his updated BGs are there.

so tonight would be

9/19 Charlie pmps 441, +1/388

or something like that.

is that 388 just one hour after his L shot?
 
interesting report from the vet. I really urge you to go back to what I posted yesterday and ask her about the other treatments and also ask if she thinks the bile duct dilation is physical or functional.

I'm glad his diarrhea is better today.
 
Hi there :cool:

My brain thanks you for placing the R dose info in the cell that corresponds to the +hour given - (for me) it makes it so much easier to assess the whole picture. :-D

julie & punkin (ga) said:
If i were you, I would keep up the subqs and R as you have been for at least another couple of days. If he's doing well now, I wouldn't pull out the supports getting him there just yet.
I could not agree more. Although the last 24 hours or so have been thrilling, you are not completely ahead and clear of the crisis. The ketones and DKA are still visible in the side-view mirror - the one that says "'objects may be closer than they appear". ;-)

He has a good bit of recovering to do, on several fronts. You want to give him every advantage.
Remember, it's a marathon not a sprint

Keep your eye on the goal - to arrive at an L dose that will do the trick while keeping ketones away.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
interesting report from the vet. I really urge you to go back to what I posted yesterday and ask her about the other treatments and also ask if she thinks the bile duct dilation is physical or functional.

I'm glad his diarrhea is better today.
Thank you so much for the suggestion. I am going to be in contact with her on Monday with a progress report. Should I still inquire about the flavamox even though he's responding well to the zeniquin? He is also still on metro gping on 3rd week and he's been on forti flora one packet daily since June. Thanks again
 
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Hi there :cool:

My brain thanks you for placing the R dose info in the cell that corresponds to the +hour given - (for me) it makes it so much easier to assess the whole picture. :-D
Julie suggested it :)
Sandy have you had a minute to read the specialist report? I'd love your opinion as well when you get a chance! Thanks so much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top