9/19 Billie PMPS 333 +6 173

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello LL!!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125521

We have green three cycles in a row!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: That hasn't happened since 7/1 & 7/2. And she only bounced up to 243, then came right back down?? Did the aliens get Billie too? I didn't test until+3.5 because I figured she was going to hang out in yellow or high blue. I was quite surprised. So now I'm thinking crap, she is looking really good, and I'm about to leave and mess it all up. ohmygod_smile

So, I have a couple questions.

1. What should her dose should be while I'm gone from tomorrow AM till Tuesday PM? She is at 1.5u now. She has been eating 2%-6% food on this dose and I haven't had to manipulate with MC or HC at all. Her lowest nadir was 68. She is on the food trial with Evo venison 6% so she'll be eating that while I'm gone.

2. DB will be testing at PS times (8:45/8:45) and at least once at some point in the AM cycles to see what she's up to. If he happens to shoot a low-ish AMPS, he could monitor that cycle more closely. But, he works overnight and can't test at all in the PM cycle. He'll be out the door a half hour after PMPS. Should we have a "don't shoot" number for the PM shots?

3. Should I start the reduced dose tonight to drain the depot? Tomorrow is the one day DB works in the morning. I can give her shot before I leave, but he won't be around to monitor until +8, and I am assuming that's not safe if the 1.5u depot is still in the mix.

4. I also have this question in the back of my mind...if she has another awesome cycle today and doesn't bounce or doesn't bounce that high, are we making progress, and should I stay to avoid messing up that progress?? She's throwing me a curveball.

Thank you so much for any advice and input!!! I wish I could send you all flowers.
 
Re: 9/19 Billie AMPS 243 +3.5 99 +4.75 78 +6 79 vacation dos

Hi Deanna:

Murphy's law seems to be in full force for you today. It's just like when I finally make the decision to get my hair cut because I can't stand the way it looks - the day before the appointment, it looks great! Now, do I cut it or not???

I 'm not going to give you dosing advice - I'll leave that to the people here that are better at it than I am. I will tell you that I think reducing the dose tonight is a good idea, given her numbers today, and that I would definitely leave DB with a "don't shoot" number. Will he be able to call you if he is unsure what to do? I always stress to my catsitter to call me if there are any questions, no matter what time it is (and yes, she has called at 6:00 am before!).

I hope you get some good answers to your questions, and that Billie keeps looking so lovely in green today!
 
Re: 9/19 Billie AMPS 243 +3.5 99 +4.75 78 +6 79 vacation dos

Thank you Tricia! Murphy's law indeed! All this green is great. I just don't want to ruin it.

DB will be calling me if he's unsure...and he'll be calling me even if he is sure, because I want to know what all her numbers are like.

I'm going to get a +10 in a little while, and we'll see what she is looking like! Actually, DB is going to be getting the +10.
 
Re: 9/19 Billie AMPS 243 +3.5 99 +4.75 78 +6 79 vacation dos

I'm not one for giving dosing advice but perhaps Tricia has a good idea about starting the reduced dose tonight as it can take a couple cycles to kick in if the depot is large. I'm glad your brother will be able to test and shoot while you are gone. I hope you have a wonderful time and he doesn't need to call you at any odd times. Billie will get back on track soon enough when you return.
 
Re: 9/19 Billie AMPS 243 +3.5 99 +4.75 78 +6 79 vacation dos

Reducing the dose tonight is fine. You might want to set your dose so that it's on a line on the syringe (i.e., a full dose or a half unit vs. a dose that's a quarter or three-quarter unit increment). It's a safer way to set the dose for someone who's not familiar with how to draw up the insulin. That said, I'd think 1.0u will keep Billie safe.

Is there a reason that your DB can't shoot earlier? It might give him a chance to get a +2 before he leaves in the PM.
 
Re: 9/19 Billie AMPS 243 +3.5 99 +4.75 78 +6 79 vacation dos

Thank you Elise and Sienne! Sienne, thank you very much for the dosing advice. 1u sounds good to me. I just got a +10.5 and she's at 325, so at least I'm no longer worried that she suddenly decided to stop bouncing and I'm ruining it. She did have a great few cycles though!

DB works overnight shifts from 10pm until 8am, so he wouldn't be able to shoot any earlier in the AM. He just got his first test, and did a great job!! He probably would have done an even better job if I hadn't been standing over him helicoptering. Billie seemed a little confused but she was totally fine with it.

Should I still start the reduced dose tonight even though she's bouncing? I'm thinking yes because it's about the depot, not the current numbers?
 
Re: 9/19 Billie AMPS 243 +3.5 99 +4.75 78 +6 79 vacation dos

You have no idea if this is a bounce or not and won't until later in the cycle. It's entirely your call whether you reduce tonight. Of course, if you reduce and Billie's numbers go high, you won't know if it's a bounce or the lower dose! Ya gotta love our kitties. They just like to keep us confused.
 
Re: 9/19 Billie AMPS 243 +3.5 99 +4.75 78 +6 79 vacation dos

I really wish I had magic words of wisdom for you, Deanna. I do think it's great that DB will call you with the numbers. No one knows Billie as well as you do, so you can always make a call on the spot if needed to reduce more, hold the dose, skip, etc. Sometimes you just have to go with your gut in the moment. (See - told ya I didn't have any magic words. ohmygod_smile )

Sending out lots of moral support, anti-stress vines for you, and safe surfing vines for Billie in your absence!
Shelly
 
Re: 9/19 Billie AMPS 243 +3.5 99 +4.75 78 +6 79 vacation dos

Thanks Sienne and Shelly! I got a +11.5 (we're on a 6:30/6:30 cycle right now and will be moving to 8:45 tomorrow night) and she's hanging out in stinky pink land. I had DB give the 1u. I figured it's safer that way to drain the depot now since she has been breaking bounces quickly. The shot went fairly well. We'll see what she does with that tonight.

Shelly, thanks for the vines! Those are as good as magic words.
 
Re: 9/19 Billie PMPS 333 vacation dosing

i think she'll get back on track after you get home - and the plan you have right now will let you enjoy your visit without too much worrying. that's pretty important!

have a wonderful weekend!
 
Re: 9/19 Billie PMPS 333 vacation dosing

Looks like another beautiful cycle for Billie- DB is doing a great job, Billie will be in good hands, I am sure! Have a great weekend, continuing to send "Rest and Relaxation" vines for you, and healing, no coughing and no hives vines for Billie! Scritches to Brooklyn as well. :-D
 
Re: 9/19 Billie PMPS 333 vacation dosing

Thank you Julie and Ruth! I think I will enjoy the getaway! DB should be well prepared. He'll be checking in with numbers, so I'll be updating her spreadsheet and will probably post a couple times. Billie made it back down to blue tonight, so that's cool. I'll be shooting at 6am tomorrow, then heading out! DB will be in around 1. I have the kitty cams set up and working, which is awesome. I was out for a while tonight and tested them. I saw Billie relaxing in the window seat :-D

This comes with a big ANTIJINX! but I didn't hear Billie cough all day today! I was out for a few hours on and off, but I haven't heard a single cough since the middle of the night last night. So, I'm starting to be less worried about that, and I have a feeling the diet change is helping. Yay venison. Her hives are about the same. I think the scabby areas just need to heal.

Thank you again to everyone who chimed in with dosing advice and encouragement today! I hope everyone has a nice weekend.
 
enjoy your time away. hehehe and if you just *happen* to post, we'll be watching for a Billie update. ;-) but maybe you should just try to enjoy the break.
 
Enjoy your vacation Deanna. Billie is in great hands. Fantastic to hear that you didn't hear her cough today! Do the kitty cams come with audio? :lol:
 
Have fun, Deanna!!! I'm glad Billies numbers are so great! I think 1u is a great suggestion.

Try to have a great time and don't worry :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top