9/19 Alex AMPS 480, +2.5 309

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone,
Wanted to let you all know we are alive and sort of well ... :?
It's been a rough week in my house and both kitties have been sick (not with the same thing but sort of and it's been exhausting).

Jackson is really on the mend..but I really don't know what's wrong with Alex :( He's acting okay, he's been hungry except for yesterday am when he had a higher ketone count than he should which is now under control. His numbers have been wacky for about a week and I had to raise his dose. He isn't acting sick though except for maybe a little yesterday. He went for blood tests which are all fine including his t4 which could have been a like reason for his loose stools? I brought in a stool sample but vet says he has so parasites.

He was put on flagyl a little less than a week ago week ago (here comes another lame vet story) and didn't respond real well to it. I was randomly giving probiotic like Culturelle. Vet told me he couldn't stay on flagyl more than 5 days even though he still had mushy stools.I read the boards and the net and Ive seen lots of cats are on it for way longer than 5 days. It had seemed like he was getting a little better. I stopped the flagyl, mush again.
Also he gave me a probiotic called "Proviable" which is a paste that clearly says to give 2-3 times a day for 48 to 72 hours and its expressly for firming stools in cats and dogs. He said to use it once a day. he was also on an anti spasmodic which he wanted him off because of side effects..that I can live with.
But after seeing him poop 5 times in 90 minutes last night (and I couldn't reach vet), I just decided to do what I think is best and put him back on flagyl and I'm going to give him Proviable 3 times a day like the instructions say. Isn't that why things have instructions?


what happened with Jackson is I thought he had what Alex had cause there was mushy stool in the pan he uses with the wee wee pads. Alex never poops there. So I figured they were sick together again. Started treating him for same thing and 2 days later I saw Jacky straing to pop like he does when he's really backed up. ..which makes him vomit. so he was straining and vomiting for over 24 hours and then I SAW Alex poop in Jackson's pan :( Finally Jackson needed a little rectal DSS which didn't work and caused more of the same except he was messing all over the place and then Friday he needed a 'big boy' enema..his first ever..which did the trick but his belly was so sore he was like a lump on a log until last night. He also has a URI which is responding well to Amoxi drops.

Sorry to be rambling but I'm exhausted. i've been sleeping on the couch all week with no access to bedroom because Jackson has been trying to 'go' wherever he gets the urge and it hasn't been pretty...sorry Jackson cat_pet_icon

Have a nice day everyone!

5 days ago
 
Gosh, I'm sorry to hear about all your vet issues. I don't know about any of the medications you referred to, but you would think instructions are placed on a package for a reason. Sounds busy at your house...I hope you are able to get your kitties feeling better soon and you can get some well deserved rest.
 
Carrie & Trouble said:
Gosh, I'm sorry to hear about all your vet issues. I don't know about any of the medications you referred to, but you would think instructions are placed on a package for a reason. Sounds busy at your house...I hope you are able to get your kitties feeling better soon and you can get some well deserved rest.

That's what I think too! Thanks for reinforcing my thoughts again! :-D

I'm sure things will be back to normal around here soon...they better be ... I-)
 
Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
So sorry Caryl....I hope they will feel better and better with each day.... :YMHUG:

Thanks so much Pat!
Jacky is pretty much on the road to recovery...Alex I am still working on but his appetite and attitude are both good and that is more than half the battle, no?

Thank you..as always! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top