9/18 Skooter PMPS 120 +1 129 +2 93 +3.5 64 +4.5 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Da Beanz Pity Pawty (9/17)


It is Fursday, I didn't wake up during the night and I have just the slightest of headaches AND a morning condo!.....overall gonna call it a win....

I am taking the raw food out of his diet for just a small bit as I realized he was still ending up getting the FULL 5.5oz can of NV wet PLUS his raw....yeah mommabean didn't really do the math right on that one... :roll: I need to rethink how that bad boy will go as I like the idea of the raw food. It really seems simple enough, so we shall see lolol....

GOnna jet over to the gym real quick before work AND I think I might have time to get FINALLY get my Steamed Hot Carmel Apple Cider today! Calling this morning a win :)

The only "lose" is I will not be able to test Skooter again before going to work (he got his shot 30 minutes ago).....BUT today I have lunch early so I can be on the phones this afternoon, so I should be home by +5 to +5.5 to test him.....

Wishing everyone an AMAZING Fursday....only one more day to the weekend....then on Saturday my final 5K until 1-1-15.....I may end up having to skip his shot that morning as this one is the Minnesota Wild (Hockey) 5K and they have an open practice afterwards and my BIL is a bit obsessed with hockey, so thinking he might want to stick around.....but we shall see.....

Stupid question on that....I know that if he is not getting insulin he can't hypo.....again, I realize this is a stupid question, BUT.....do I need to be at all concerned with the depot draining and causing the hypo or is it really only when you inject "new" insulin into the system that can cause a hypo?
 
Re: 9/18 Skooter AMPS 148

Great start for Skooter this morning. Sounds like your morning is a win! :lol:

Yummmm on the Steamed Hot Carmel Apple Cider. Sounds great. Friday eve, woohoo! I have a Quarter marathon and a 5K Saturday morning. That will be the furthest run since my marathon at Grandma's in June. Yikes! Good luck on your 5K! I love hockey and don't get to see it in Tulsa much.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 9/18 Skooter AMPS 148 +5.5 116

Not really impressed with that +5.5 number.....

I was expecting lower.....so I guess, unless I see some improvement, Skooter gets a dosecrease back up to .5U on Saturday PM as I won't be able to monitor tomorrow day or Saturday day and I know it can take a few doses for the change to take effect.....I will then have Saturday PM, Sunday AM and Sunday PM to monitor and see how he is doing......
 
Re: 9/18 Skooter AMPS 148 +5.5 116

Have you been weighing Skooter regularly? That's another good way to tell if you've got the amount of food correct.

As for your question on worrying about hypos if you skip, the answer is - it depends. If you are at preshot and you get a low number, you can't just walk away and not worry about hypo. We always encourage people who skip at a low number to keep testing. Lantus has long action. However, if you get a reasonable blood glucose number like you did today for AMPS, I wouldn't worry about hypo if you skip. If you know his numbers are on the way up (without food) since his nadir the cycle before, then he is safe. You'll be feeding him and I presume leaving out the autofeeder. Hope you have fun at the run this weekend. Don't think our Canuckleheads have anything similar for their fans.

BTW, there are no stupid questions. It's only stupid if you need to know an answer and don't ask the question.
 
Re: 9/18 Skooter AMPS 148 +5.5 116

It looks like Skooter is giving you a safe surf today so you don't have to worry about him. Good luck with the 5K.
 
Re: 9/18 Skooter AMPS 148 +5.5 116 PMPS 120

Great answer from Wendy. And I think your question was very smart indeed because many would think if they skip the shot, there is no chance of hypo. But if numbers are running low, the depot can certainly affect the skipped shot cycle.

Another option if you know you will be gone Saturday is to start draining the depot with a reduced dose Friday night. That should help Saturday's numbers to be up just a little when you skip.
 
Re: 9/18 Skooter AMPS 148 +5.5 116 PMPS 120

I really don't know why I keep signing up for these...... :roll:

But it is nice to have something to do with my DBIL and maybe one day I will be able to run half a 5K lol...I wanted to do this one as it is the first year, and it would be kind of cool to continue to do it and say, hey I have done this every year since it started....plus it would be cool to stick around and see them practice :)

As I was showering this morning, I found a couple more pretty big scratches on my legs, Skooter must have gotten me during the night lol oh well.....

That PMPS is a bit perplexing....I was totally expecting a super high number since his +5.5 was 116 and normally I can get a green out of him during the day.....I wonder what he has in store for me. I just need to run to Walmart to pick up more needles for him, so should be good to be back by his +2.

Funny thing about that....I call to just make sure they had a box and could fill the script and they asked if I could wait a couple hours before coming in.....so basically you are telling me it will take you 2 hours to walk 15 feet (if that) grab a white box with a purple stripe on it and slap a sticker on it that says "For Skooter"?! I totally get that they have a lot of prescriptions to fill etc, but really? But I prefer the $12.50 to the $30 to $40 price tag, so I guess it is a trade off :)

I will be curious to see what Skooter has in store for me tonight....
 
Re: 9/18 Skooter AMPS 148 +5.5 116 PMPS 120

Hey, Skoots, be good for DaMamaBean. She got some 5K-ing to do. Oh and a Wild practice! Was pulling for them in the play-offs this year. Although I'm still a little sour about the NorthStars moving to Texas! Yes, I'm that old...and then some.

Have a great weekend, Molly. You, too, Skooter.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 9/18 Skooter AMPS 148 +5.5 116 PMPS 120 +1 129 +2 93 +3.

Yeah, I was bitter about the NORTHStars as well (I can't refer to them as their current name)....but I am sure glad we have our Wild now!

I still don't understand much about the sport, but I am trying....I might even try to get a jersey this year :)

Now Skooter boy.....feel free to slow your roll ever so slightly.....mommabean is pretty exhausted tonight.....
 
Looking good my friend!

Gonna get some shut eye until +6 or so and get a final test in for the night....and then try to get two nights in a row of uninterrupted sleep!
 
Fruit is essential for a good run - apple cider is a fruit right? :cool:
 

Attachments

  • blue green kitty.jpg
    blue green kitty.jpg
    56.7 KB · Views: 152
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top