9/18 Reuben PMPS 304

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
9/17 Condo

4th Cycle of reduced dose --

He was in the green last night, which makes me think he probably was the night before when I didn`t test. Pinks at pre-shot are better than reds, I'll take 'em. I`m sewing up a new pair of patience pants, extra large to leave room for growth.

Reuben is hiding, hmmm. Tired of the poking? He and Zack spent the night next to the heater; he threw up 30 min before pepcid dose again; was less interested in his breakfast than normal (odd) but scarfed tuna just fine, so I sprinkled some on top of his food; hineycam© detects a little liqui-poo-ness; he still wants nothing to do with being picked up, (normally is a velcro cat) but likes to be petted; he is hiding between the bed and the wall right now after breakfast (a first). Wants nothing to do with testing? Maybe a new enticing test treat would help... Any suggestions outside of store bought made-for-cats treats (none to be found here)?





Potencil 50mg bid
pepcid 2.5mgbid
bupe - 0.07-0.10ml/8 hours
miralax - suspended
 
Re: 9/18 Reuben AMPS 399

Hi Alexa, sorry about Reuben's upset tummy. I hope the pepcid helps. Maggie was also running away from me when it was time for the poke. Hope both our kitties return to better numbers.
 
Re: 9/18 Reuben AMPS 399

Poor Rueben.
Hope those meds start making him feel better.

Probably don't have a lot of suggestions that you haven't thought of already.
parmesan cheese, scrambled egg, crab , pastrami ?
Shadow always wants my husbands eggs on the weekend.

Do you try to pet him in between test times and remind him it's not always about the poking?
I have to remind myself to do that sometimes.
and I'm really lax about getting toys out to try to get her interested.

Hope it gets better.
Hugs.
 
Re: 9/18 Reuben AMPS 399

Hi guys .. sorry to hear about the pukus .. hope that is the last of that .. mocha never ran at pokey time, as in, spot check time, but dang would she ever run at shot time! She was like a little maniac running through the house as fast as she could!
 
Re: 9/18 Reuben AMPS 399

Thanks guys! I think he felt all your nice comments... he came out for testing all by himself, and asked for a 2nd breakfast :razz: Yeay!

Ann - It's funny about the pepcid, he`s fine until half an hour before the next dose...like it lasts 11.5 hours for him, especially on an empty stomach right at the end--maybe a factor?

Rhiannon - You`re right about needing to spend quality time in between... I kind of get side tracked by the new 'don`t pick me up' thing which makes me feel badly... But I need to do things *his* way, which is a new way. I need to don the Flexibility Fedora (in addition to the Patience Pants) and follow his cue for a new kind of relationship. He *does* want affection and fun, just not the old way. And thanks for the food suggestions, hadn`t thought of those!

Devon - Omigosh, what a crazy image of Mocha running from the shot - poor thing!! I`m going to move the pepcid dosing time up a half an hour and see if the problem is solved.

Anne - Turkey lunch meat, great idea! I`ll get some uncured turkey breast, he'll love it!!
 
Re: 9/18 Reuben AMPS 399

reuben'smom said:
.. I`m wondering if the high/low/high/low boinging can take on a life of its own... and also wondering if I should be trying not to let him go too low in order to help with that? I am now also thinking that he probably came down the night of the 16th, based on what he did the 2 subsequent cycles.

He could have come down on the night of 9/16 or the 403 could have been the start of the bounce from the low numbers in the a.m. cycle. Some caregivers have noted that it sometimes takes about 24 hours to see a bounce really gin up.

I don't prescribe to a caregiver of a newly diagnosed cat controlling the curve to the extent that they prevent them from earning reductions. That's how a newly dx cat gets overdosed. The point is for him to earn reductions and move towards remission. What you want to do is keep him safe when he does get below 50 by knowing how to bring him up. You can learn to manage the curve with regular food to minimize dives and flatten the curve which helps with bounces.

He's going to bounce...almost all cats do at least for a while because it is normal. It would be abnormal for a nonregulated cat to not bounce from lower numbers or steep dives. It's important that we not get wrapped up in these bounces and we ignore them as much as possible....focus on what he does when he clears the bounce and what those trends look like from cycle to cycle. I actually think he is looking pretty good!

I believe that Reuben's low number yesterday was due to his depot and clearing a bounce. I think he needs more time on this dose to drain his depot and see where it might take him. You might find as he's clearing bounces that he might need more insulin but I'd hold steady for now. Remember the ship. :-D

One other thing...I know we have to sleep but I'm uneasy about stopping testing for the night withou seeing rising numbers that are not food influenced. Why? Because nadirs can shift and that is possibly what happened on 9/16. So I think it's wise to set an alarm and grab one more test after what you think his nadir normally is to just be sure he's coming up.

You are doing great Alexa!
 
Re: 9/18 Reuben AMPS 399

Hi Alexa!

I was wondering how you and Reuben are doing? You haven't updated your subject line yet. I hope all is okay and Reuben feels better than he did earlier.

We've been busy. I had to do my online shopping for Racci's supplies, order meds, etc. I got everything done except the methyl b12 which I still have to order and the furminator. I hope you're having a good day.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/18 Reuben AMPS 399

Marje and Gracie said:
reuben'smom said:
...He's going to bounce...almost all cats do at least for a while because it is normal. It would be abnormal for a nonregulated cat to not bounce from lower numbers or steep dives. It's important that we not get wrapped up in these bounces and we ignore them as much as possible....focus on what he does when he clears the bounce and what those trends look like from cycle to cycle. I actually think he is looking pretty good!...
Thank you So Much Marje -

You answered all my questions and I feel much more confident about this phase now - the Patience Pants Cruise Ship phase, just sit back and enjoy the view. I am relieved to know his bg behavior is normal and I don't need to be worried. And I now understand what complacency means in our LL world - I had an attack of it last night. It will not happen again. At least one test that shows rising numbers before slumber...

There is the possibility of a busy night tonight, after his flat curve today... coffee pot is ready to go.

I appreciate your help so very, very much Marje, Thaaank Youuuu!! :razz:
 
Re: 9/18 Reuben AMPS 399

MelanieAndRacci said:
Hi Alexa!

I was wondering how you and Reuben are doing? You haven't updated your subject line yet. I hope all is okay and Reuben feels better than he did earlier.

We've been busy. I had to do my online shopping for Racci's supplies, order meds, etc. I got everything done except the methyl b12 which I still have to order and the furminator. I hope you're having a good day.

Melanie & Racci

Hi Melanie - Thanks for your concern... we are fine, I just spaced out the subject line today, I think I`m kinda tired. Reuben came around quickly and had a nice day just relaxing on bupe. Glad you`re getting your supplies taken care of. HOpe Racci`s day was good! Thanks again, Alexa
 
Alexa

You are very welcome. It's my pleasure to help you any time I can :-D

We all have attacks of complacency and better to have it when they are high than low :-D

Have a great night.
 
Hi Alexa. Tucker and Sophie LOVE the small frozen salad shrimp. I buy a bag of the smallest frozen shrimp I can find. A few of them will thaw out in a minute or two in water. They like to drink the shrimp water too!
Sometimes I will make a shrimp salad sandwich for me too! Yummm.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top