9/18 Muffin pmps 66 +2 46 +2.5 55 +3 49

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79274

Recap:
amps 369 shot .1u
+2 324
+4.5 277 Got p'titis dx, so gave bupe
+7 303
pmps 384 shot .25u she wouldn't eat
+.5 gave pepcid and slice turkey ham
+2 82 Ate good amt
+3 42 fed 1 tsp with lg drop karo
+3.5 40 ate small drop karo off top of food
+4 42 ate 1 tsp
+4.5 55
+5 47 fed 1.5 tsp
+5.5 52
+7 52 left 2 tsps out
+10.5 63 food was gone but may have been Kibby

amps 69 shot .1u FUR SHOT bupe


Wow, another crazy long night. Maybe I should have stayed more vigilant, but it looks like she did exactly what I thought she'd do - surf those high 40's to low 50's. I decided that since I was going to be up with her anyway, to experiment a little with karo, as I've never used it on her before and I have no other way to give her higher carb food. Muffin is and always has been very much a one brand/flavor gal. I learned that if she's ever in trouble, it's probably going to takea lot more karo than she got last night. :lol: Thank you Sienne for your experiences with honey vs karo.

Marje was so sweet last night to call me and make sure I'd be ok before she went to bed. Even after I assured her we'd be fine, she still came back on the board to check on us. Thank you so much!

Muffin was pretty perky last night after the pepcid, for a few hours. Then she went to bed on the cat tree and I felt bad having to keep waking her up for pokies. This morning she is hiding in the corner behind the desk again. I gave bupe with her shot, and as soon as I post this, I'll give pepcid, as she's not interested in eating. AND I gave a fur shot this morning - definitely smelled insulin on her. ohmygod_smile :oops: :YMSIGH: :sad: I feel like I'm just messing up right and left here. I'm sorry my sweet baby girl. cat_pet_icon Mama's doing the best she can. I hope by the end of the week I've got this figured out.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69

Wow, Anne & Muffin, what a night. I think you really need some Espresso today or something strong! :-D I hope today you can get a nap if you're able; I always have a hard time falling asleep daytime hours. Is there anyone else there to help you?
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69

Don't beat yourself up too much - kitty knows you're doing all you can! Hang in there! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69

Saw what a rough night you had as it happened.
:YMHUG: for you and Muffin.

Hope today gives you a break.
You will find your rhythm.
bummer on fur shots, I did it too today. I should learn that if I can't see the needle going in to just stop and start over.

Hope you can rest some in between if the drama continues.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69

Morning Anne - no, no mess up on our part - I think you are doing wonderfully. You've been thrown back into all the FD stuff fast and hard, and have done so great with it. And now with the P-titus DX. you've done great. My hat goes off to you.

No worries on the fur shot - I think she will recover from that just fine. Amps is awesome. I wonder once the p'titus is dealt with how much longer you will need to have her on insulin. It will be interesting to see what she does today. Good luck Anne - keep on truckin'! Hang in there.

Enjoy your day today - I hope you can get some shut-eye in soon too. :-D
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69

I agree with Michelle...try to grab some sleep and muffin will be back at it quickly. You might have gotten in more than you think.

Sending your sweet darling healing vines. I think you are doing great and you are not messing up. Ever! You are a wonderful mamabean.

And now for you... I-) I-) I-) I hope.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 Still not eating

+3 66 She still isn't eating, so maybe it's good I did a fur shot. I gave bupe at amps, pepcid 15 mins after that. When she still hadn't eaten at +1.75 I fed slice of honey cured turkey. hoping that would spark her appy. But she still hasn't touched her food, and she's still not feeling well, meatloafing behind the desk.

Interesting day tho - I called the vet just to let him know what was going on, and that I was reducing her back to .1u. He asked if I was sure I was using U-100 syringes. I could hear in his voice that he thought maybe I was mis-dosing, so I offered to bring in sample syringes using red water of my .25u and .1u. After close examination, he agreed it was the right dose. He seems shocked that such a small amt is causing these huge swings, like the pinks after I skipped a shot,etc. To me, it makes sense, since she didn't have a depot yet to help her out at all. He said he may call the specialist to see if he can get answers about why this is happening, so I am looking to use Muffin to get him more education re diabetes and lantus. He seems very interested in figuring this out, so I am happy about that. Any opportunity to educate!

Anyway, he suggested waiting until pmps and if she doesn't want to eat still, to give cypro. So that's the plan for now, and he's left a message with the U/S people to get that scheduled ASAP.

OT: I can't figure out how to make my "last condo" links in first post of the day to stop breaking every time I edit the subject line...
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 Still not eating

I'm wondering if Muffin needs an anti-nausea med vs. the Pepsid. You might ask the vet for Cerenia or Zofran rather than the Pepsid. (Pepsid helps with acid stomach. It isn't all that great with nausea.) If you're going to get an anti-nauseant, you might ask for an appetite stimulant in case you need it.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 Still not eating

Called the vet - when the tech came back from asking dr about zofran or cerenia, he didn't want to give either, just wanted me to continue with pepcid, and give cypro if needed. I explained that I didn't want to give cypro if she's nauseous, and the pepcid hasn't worked. If I give pepcid again, it's at pmps, and if it still doesn't work, then she goes 24 hrs w/o eating - not ok. When I described her behavior, she got an ok to give me something I didn't understand the name of in my brain-dead state, so I went in. Well, she apparently thought I said Muffin was vomiting. I explained that she wasn't vomiting, that she just doesn't feel good, and I've given bupe and pepcid with no improvement, so I think she's nauseous maybe. Dr. still didn't want to give zofran or cerenia, and gave me Carafate, which I'm reading is prescribed mainly for ulcers. Should I give her this?
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 Carafate?

Sorry I cant help with this drug, but just wanted to say that I support you and hope tomorrow will be a better day for you & Muffin...You have good help here...Wish these vets only knew how closely we monitor our fur babies actions & how closely we watch them..Hope Muffin feels better really soon--Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 Carafate?

+5 78 Still no food, so I went ahead and gave 2.5mls carafate, because I want to give her some time for it to work and for her to eat before the girls get home. Once they're here, she won't eat. She still feels lousy, poor baby. If nothing changes by 4:30, I'm going to try more bupe - that will be 8hrs on that. Does that sound ok?
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 Carafate?

I haven't a clue what your vet is thinking. Pepsid is an H2 blocker that is commonly used for gastroesophageal reflux (GERD) and ulcers. Carafate's method of action is different than that of Pepsid but it is used for the same purpose -- GERD and ulcers. It will not address nausea. I haven't a clue why they think this med may help unless he's thinking that Muffin has an acid stomach and that's causing nausea. None of the vet Rx indicates that Carafate is useful for anything except an ulcer. There are more effective drugs available for nausea.

If your vet persists, see if you can get through to him with this link on the pharmacological control of vomiting. It includes sections on ondansatron (Zofran) and maropitant (Cerenia). Karrie/Maverick may have more info on these two meds in cats. You can send her a PM.

Have you tried tempting Muffin with baby food?

[I'm making rude grumbling noises about your vet not listening to you.]
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 Carafate?

I'm sorry Muffin is still not feeling well and not wanting to eat. I hope you can get something for her that will help with this. Don't be too hard on yourself. You're doing a great job. Muffin knows you are trying to help her. Hang in there.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 Carafate?

Yeah, I don't know what he was thinking either, and I don't know his reasoning for this. I was unable to speak to him personally. She just kept saying he said "this would be safer." I have no idea what would be so unsafe about zofran or cerenia...
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 Carafate?

Anne. Muffin knows you're trying to help. She'll come around..... hopefully very soon!
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 Carafate?

Since you tried it tonight and I suspect you will want to try it in the AM (you need to give the Carafate 2 hrs before a meal), that should be long enough to see if it improves Muffin's eating. If it doesn't, suggest that the vet humor you and give you an Rx for an anti-nausea drug. I'd also ask for an explanation of why either Pepsid or Carafate are safer.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 Carafate?

Uh Carafate? That's what they wanted to give me when they thought I had an ulcer.

Anne....in yesterday's condo, I left you a link (the first one) for treatment of feline p'titis. It discussed cerenia and zofran (ondansetron). Maybe take that to him.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 Carafate?

Anne & Muffin,
What a hassle with your vet and the meds. I hope you can convince him to give you the ones that will work. In the meantime, Rusty is sending Muffin a beautiful bouquet of healing vines.

Hugs,

I hope Muffin feels lots better very soon,

Ella & Muffin
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 +10.5 76 answers

Ok, I went back to the vet, for the 3rd time today to return the carafate and demand cerenia or zofran, or at least answers as to why I couldn't have them. I had to wait for nearly an hour, but that's ok. I do respect and trust him, so here's what he told me. They don't have zofran there in the office. He said the carafate in conjuction with pepcid works really well to calm the stomach/GI tract. The carafate apparently coats the stomach really well. So he promised me that if I gave cypro, it would be fine. He didn't want to give cerenia because he said it's pretty strong. She was eating fine all last night, and it's just been today she's not wanted to eat, so with everything else going on with her at the moment, he didn't want to add something that strong into the mix unless it was absolutely necessary. I can respect that. He did eventually offer to send some home with me, but asked me not to use it unless I really had to. I told him I was going to trust him on this, and jokingly said he should give me his cell phone number so I could call him to come babysit Muffin at 2am. He immediately said that he would most certainly give me his cell phone number, it would be right next to his bed, and if he had to come down to the office for us in the middle of the night, he would absolutely do so. Feeling confident now, and armed with his cell phone number, I declined the cerenia. I came home, tested Muffin (+10.5 76) and gave her 1/4 tab cypro. She has already come out of her hiding spot, eaten a bit, and been purry and affectionate. So, things are working out.

I realize she's not supposed to eat after +10, but todayI don't care :lol: I need to make sure she's going to eat something before I can shoot her. Because I really really really need to be able to sleep tonight.

Also, she's getting her ultrasound tomorrow. He wants me to go ahead with bupe in the am, and give insulin if she's high. Barring some unforseen (and entirely possible) event, I plan to shoot her regardless in the am. She will be sedated for the U/S, but not under full anesthesia, and he promised to monitor her while she's there. She'll probably only be there 2-3 hrs. I'm to drop her off at 10:30, because the radiologist can't give them an exact time when he'll be there. But I have (and will again in the morning) ask them to call me when he does get there so I can be in the office during the procedure - you know, just in case. He's also going to run a full blood panel tomorrow just to recheck everything for me.

So keep eating Muffin!! Atta girl!
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 +10.5 76 answers

We've had major appy issues with Zener too and it's a real challenge. He gets 1/8 Zantac and 1 mg ondansetron, both BID. He also gets 1 mg Cerenia every other day. This combination seems to keep his appy going pretty well. We give cypro as needed but we've found that just a crumb or even 1/16 or 1/32 of a pill will get his appy going. Karrie has said that you shouldn't give cypro without an anti-nausea drug like ondansetron. Paws crossed that you find what works for Muffin.
Liz
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 +10.5 76 answers

What a lovely vet!!

I would give Muffin whatever she will eat. You can always adjust insulin dose if she wants to munch on HC.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin amps 69 +3 66 +5 78 +10.5 76 answers

I think that's great that he is so willing to work with you. Most vets don't carry ondansetron (zofran). The best thing todo is get a script and fill at Costco.

I had to laugh because I picture this scenario:

LL: Anne! Go BACK to the vet and don't come home until you hacpve zofran and cerenia.
VET: who are these crazy on line people? Here's my cell phone number but do not give it to THEM.
ANNE: please don't make me go back without the zofran and cerenia. You don't kno who's brutal they are. Please please please :lol: :lol: :lol:

Is Miss Muffin fractious at the vet? I'm not a fan of sedating for an u/s if the kitty is not fractious. With two good vet techs, they can lay her on her back in the tray and one gently hold her back legs and the other the front.

Muffin my bestest gurlfren! I just had dose pictures of my belly took. Dey shaved off my polka dot hair :shock: but it wasn't bad and it didn't hurt. I just laid there and dey let my mommy scratch my head and talk to me. Don't be fraid...it be ok....I Tink of you tomorrow! Luv you! Gwacie!
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin pmps 66

Pmps 66 shot .1u. I expected a higher ps than this, with her just having eaten. I sure hope she plans on sleeping tonight, and letting me do the same! @-)

Liz - Muffin doesn't have appy issues all that often, usually just with a CP flare. Of course, if she's going to continue tohave them every 2 months....Yep, I'm already wishing I'd given less than 1/4 tab of the cypro. I can't believe they prescribe 1/2 tab. The first time I used for Muffin, I actually GAVE 1/2 tab, and OMG, she was a wild starving animal. :lol: I'll have to remember for next time to give even less. I was trying to tell Dr that I didn't want to give it w/o anti-nausea meds, but he insisted this would work...and I have to admit, it did.

Sienne - This is why I love my vet! I think at this point, with the cypro, she will eat almost anything! :lol: She's already been scavenging in the kitchen, and she just wolfed down her dinner in 2 seconds flat. Now she's knocking things over on the desk. She may keep me up tonight begging for food! :lol:

Marje - :lol: :lol: :lol: I actually told him that he's not giving me what I want, and I can live with that IF I know WHY I can't have what I want! (There goes Muffin's dish on the floor! Jeez, girl, can I just finish the condo? :lol: ) Actually, no, Muffin is not at all fractious at the vet - she's more like a wet noodle. So I'll ask them to try without sedation first. She does get very scared, so they may be thinking sedation to keep from raising her BG too much. I'm going to take her blankie with her, and have them put that and the one from the carrier in the cage with her, so she can lay on her own blankie and hide under the other one. That really helps her a lot there.

Gwacie! Oh noes! I'z gonna habs nekkid tummy? Oh wells, less bathing time, right? heehee. I twy to be bwave, like you waz! Lubs you gurl! Muffin
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin pmps 66 +2 46

+2 46 :YMSIGH: Not sure what to do here...well, I know what I should do - stay up and test. But I absolutely cannot do this again tonight. I got 45 mins of rest today - not sleep, rest. She's eating quite a lot of food. I could put some karo in it and set alarms, but I'm betting that once I'm asleep, I won't hear them. Oh Muffin, Muffin, Muffin. Gotta lubs her.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin pmps 66 +2 46

Want me to send Mike over? He's great at late nights .....with the cats :lol: :lol: :lol:

Seriously......I'm worried that the karo will wear off fast again. This is really, really low for +2....with an entire cycle ahead and a possible fur shot this morning. Geeezzzzz.

How can I help you?
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin pmps 66 +2 46

Either let me fed-ex Muffin to you and Mike for the night or ....I guess I'm putting on the coffee again. ohmygod_smile

This makes me wonder, and I know it's too soon to decide, but what I should do in the morning. I could either skip the shot or trust the doc to test her...
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin pmps 66 +2 46

Send her over! :lol: mike is great ith Los numbers!

Who would think you would need to take back a .1u shot.

I'd see where she is in the morning. If she's super high, you might want to shoot unless you think between not having food and her propensity to drop, she'd get low. If she's low, I'd skip.

Anne and Liz feed Zener some kind of honey trest that brings him right up. I wonder if it would work for muffin?

Wish I could stay up but tomorrow is a work day for me. I'd keep you company. We could gossip :twisted: :twisted:

I hope you can get food in her and she will come up. If you need someone to talk to to stay awake, call me. Mike will be up until 1 with Grace. I'll go back to sleep. If you need advice, I can pop on the board quickly with my iPad.

Thinking of you.
 
Re: 9/18 Muffin pmps 66 +2 46

+2.5 55. She's eating again. Haha, I wish I could, Marje! Thanks, I may just have to use that new cell phone number after all ;-) Ooh, I have some crunchy cat treats - I could give her a few of those. I know they take a long time to work, but I might get half a night's sleep. They may help to keep her higher tomorrow as well. What do you think?
 
+3 49 At +2.75 I fed 8 whiska licken's tender morsels chicken and cheese flavor treats. I feel bad, I'm trying to find ways to cheat. :oops: I'm so sorry Muffin, but mama needs a break!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top