9/18 Minky AMPS: 385, 318@+5, PMPS:538, 400@4.5

I know it looks scary to see high numbers like that but a lot of diabetic kitties do get them. My Sheba had them a lot, especially in the earlier times. Just make sure she is eating and drinking well and you keep giving the insulin as directed and keep testing
 
I know it looks scary to see high numbers like that but a lot of diabetic kitties do get them. My Sheba had them a lot, especially in the earlier times. Just make sure she is eating and drinking well and you keep giving the insulin as directed and keep testing
It is super scary. And I don't understand why it went up so much.
 
Can you make sure you get at least one test in during all the pm cycles please as it is important we can see if she is dropping lower at night.
Are the syringes you got the U100 3/10 insulin syringes with the 1/2 unit markings?
Because of the recent history of DKA, I think you could increase the dose in the morning to 2.25 units providing she doesn’t drop into blues or greens overnight. Are you ok with how to draw up that dose?
I will just see what @Wendy&Neko thinks about the increase as I am just wondering if that BG 538 could be a bounce.
 
When are they coming? It’s really important we know if there are any ketones as it tells us if there is enough food and enough insulin.
Is she eating well?
I can't know about the ketones--I just ordered the meter. She is eating pretty good and drinking. She was eating a gravy food that is higher in carbs and she kept going up. We gave her another food that she is liking and her numbers were coming down. Now this :(
 
Can you make sure you get at least one test in during all the pm cycles please as it is important we can see if she is dropping lower at night.
Are the syringes you got the U100 3/10 insulin syringes with the 1/2 unit markings?
Because of the recent history of DKA, I think you could increase the dose in the morning to 2.25 units providing she doesn’t drop into blues or greens overnight. Are you ok with how to draw up that dose?
I will just see what @Wendy&Neko thinks about the increase as I am just wondering if that BG 538 could be a bounce.
I didn't know to do the additional testing in the pm until someone mentioned it in the last day or two. Yes the syringes are those. I don't know how to draw up that dose. I tried using the syringe to do just the 2 units, and I am scared to do it. Is the top of the plunger supposed to be right on the marking line or just below it or just above it?

Also, my husband wants to pick up the dry food. I don't know if that is a good idea or not. She is going for that even though there is other wet food down she likes.
 
Also, my husband wants to pick up the dry food. I don't know if that is a good idea or not. She is going for that even though there is other wet food down she likes.
At the moment we want her to eat as much as she will so feed her whatever she likes. I’d offer the low carb first though but try and keep the number of carbs about the same each cycle, if you know what I mean. We don’t want her eating all low carb one cycle and all dry food the next as that will effect the BG
 
. I don't know how to draw up that dose. I
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales:

49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg

If you ever have to increase the dose to 2.25 units 2.25 - units the top of the plunger would be between the 2 unit and 2.5 unit markings
Just pull the plunger a little bit under the 2 unit markings, you have to eyeball it
@Sheila and Minky
 
Last edited:
We have the one on the left. Does the plunger line up then with the 2.5 unit line or does the top of the plunger rest just under the 2.5 line? I don't know if that makes sense.
I just corrected what I said please read it again
I didn't mean to put 2.5 units ,so I corrected it to tell you how to do 2.25 units
@Sheila and Minky
I'll post it again

If you ever have to increase the dose to 2.25 units the top of the plunger would be between the 2 unit and 2.5 unit markings
Just pull the plunger down a little
@Sheila and Minky Sorry about that
 
Last edited:
didn't know to do the additional testing in the pm until someone mentioned it in the last day or two. Yes the syringes are those. I don't know how to draw up that dose. I tried using the syringe to do just the 2 units, and I am scared to do it. Is the top of the plunger supposed to be right on the marking line or just below it or just above it?
Do you know how to draw the insulin from the pen?. I think we gave you a picture how to do that on the other thread.

Get one of the new syringes and practice with coloured water or some black tea so you can see it. Post it so we can check it. To do that you copy and paste the photo.
We want you to draw up 2.25 units which is 2 1/4 units so if you look at the drawing above you can see there are 1/2 unit markings on the syringe. You need to mentally cut the 1/2 unit in half and that will be a 1/4 of unit. So you draw up to the 2 units and then draw up another 1/4 of a unit. Does that make sense?

Here is a photo of 1/4 of a unit for you to see. So you need to draw up the 2 units and then that extra 1/4 unit like this photo

upload_2024-9-19_11-28-18.jpeg

 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-9-19_11-28-18.jpeg
    upload_2024-9-19_11-28-18.jpeg
    26.1 KB · Views: 108
I could see a possibility that Minky went lower the night of the 16th, then bounced again, but it's only a guess. That would have been 6 cycles after the skip and six cycles after the greens. Ketones test data would really help in the decision.
I agree ketone test would help and where a possible bounce could have happened. What do you think about an increase?
 
Do you know how to draw the insulin from the pen?. I think we gave you a picture how to do that on the other thread.

Get one of the new syringes and practice with coloured water or some black tea so you can see it. Post it so we can check it. To do that you copy and paste the photo.
We want you to draw up 2.25 units which is 2 1/4 units so if you look at the drawing above you can see there are 1/2 unit markings on the syringe. You need to mentally cut the 1/2 unit in half and that will be a 1/4 of unit. So you draw up to the 2 units and then draw up another 1/4 of a unit. Does that make sense?

Here is a photo of 1/4 of a unit for you to see. So you need to draw up the 2 units and then that extra 1/4 unit like this photo

View attachment 71015
I don't know how to copy and paste a photo I took.
 
I don't know how to copy and paste a photo I took.
I don't know how to do it either , I'm sure @Bron and Sheba (GA) can explain it .
By the way
I corrected what I said please read it again
I didn't mean to put 2.5 units ,so I corrected it to tell you how to do 2.25 units
@Sheila and Minky
I'll post it again

If you ever have to increase the dose to 2.25 units the top of the plunger would be between the 2 unit and 2.5 unit markings
Just pull the plunger down a little
Just want to be sure you saw it above
So sorry about that
@Sheila and Minky
 
I don't know how to do it either , I'm sure @Bron and Sheba (GA) can explain it .
By the way
I corrected what I said please read it again
I didn't mean to put 2.5 units ,so I corrected it to tell you how to do 2.25 units
@Sheila and Minky
I'll post it again

If you ever have to increase the dose to 2.25 units the top of the plunger would be between the 2 unit and 2.5 unit markings
Just pull the plunger down a little
Just want to be sure you saw it above
So sorry about that
@Sheila and Minky
It's okay, we all make mistakes. Thank you for caring so much <3
 
We are all like family here ,we all care :cat: I wish I could tell you how to copy and paste a pic , are you using a laptop
@Sheila and Minky
I am thankful for this group. I am sitting here crying because I am tired, overwhelmed, have work, have been racing home during my 38-minute lunch to check on her, and am just wanting her to be okay.
I have the picture on my phone, but I can send it to my laptop too.
 
Sorry. I can’t help. I have an iPhone. I just hold my finger on the picture and copy comes up. I click on that and then paste onto the thread. I dint know if that will work with an android.
 
I am thankful for this group. I am sitting here crying because I am tired, overwhelmed, have work, have been racing home during my 38-minute lunch to check on her, and am just wanting her to be okay.
I have the picture on my phone, but I can send it to my laptop too.
Please don't cry :( , I know you are tired mentally and physically, She will be ok ,all the experienced members here will help you. Take a deep breath , believe me she will get better :bighug::bighug:
@Sheila and Minky
 
Please don't cry :( , I know you are tired mentally and physically, She will be ok ,all the experienced members here will help you. Take a deep breath , believe me she will get better :bighug::bighug:
@Sheila and Minky
When she was hospitalized I was traveling 1.5 hours each way. The first day I was so impressed by the place, and the second day was beyond horrible. I brought her home, and we prayed for a miracle. If the Lord didn't give us one, I wanted to make sure the time we had with her was quality time at home with lots of love. The Lord healed her a bit each day and I was so relieved. I was force feeding her every day, giving potassium, testing, giving insulin, and trying to make her understand all this craziness. I missed the first two days of school (I teach high school) and my first day of my new job at the community college (someone was kind enough to take the class for me). As she got better, I was so incredibly thankful for the Lord answering the prayers. Now we are struggling with these sugar numbers, and I feel like I have no idea what I am doing. We messed up on Friday, and I feel like I have caused this massive spiral for her that never will seem to get better.
 
When she was hospitalized I was traveling 1.5 hours each way. The first day I was so impressed by the place, and the second day was beyond horrible. I brought her home, and we prayed for a miracle. If the Lord didn't give us one, I wanted to make sure the time we had with her was quality time at home with lots of love. The Lord healed her a bit each day and I was so relieved. I was force feeding her every day, giving potassium, testing, giving insulin, and trying to make her understand all this craziness. I missed the first two days of school (I teach high school) and my first day of my new job at the community college (someone was kind enough to take the class for me). As she got better, I was so incredibly thankful for the Lord answering the prayers. Now we are struggling with these sugar numbers, and I feel like I have no idea what I am doing. We messed up on Friday, and I feel like I have caused this massive spiral for her that never will seem to get better.
You brought her home and saved her. You are an awesome mom!
You didn't mess her up on Friday, everyone here will help get her back on track and you will start to see better numbers. Don't beet yourself up. You just have to hang in there ,it will be OK :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Sheila and Minky
By the way she's a beauty :cat:
 
You brought her home and saved her. You are an awesome mom!
You didn't mess her up on Friday, everyone here will help get her back on track and you will start to see better numbers. Don't beet yourself up. You just have to hang in there ,it will be OK :bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Sheila and Minky
By the way she's a beauty :cat:
Thank you <3 She is my sweet girl--so intelligent and always mothering her sisters. We think she was born first, and so we call her Minky Mama.
 
With past DKA I would increase to 2.25 in the morning unless the bg is under 200 at amps. @Bron and Sheba (GA) What do you think?
I think the dose should be increased to 2.25 units as long as Sheila can monitor the next several cycles just in case that 538 was a bounce.
Sheila getting the ketone meter is a priority as it’s really important we know what’s happening with the ketones.
 
I think the dose should be increased to 2.25 units as long as Sheila can monitor the next several cycles just in case that 538 was a bounce.
Sheila getting the ketone meter is a priority as it’s really important we know what’s happening with the ketones.
I have it ordered, but it will be a few days before it comes :'(
 
I just gave her 2.25 units. Her sugar was 409. The needle is longer on these syringes, and it seemed like it hurt which made me feel horrible. Are there maybe syringes I could get with a shorter needle?
 
Back
Top