9/18 Max AMPS 510 +2 390 +4 360 +9 399 PMPS 403

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Bad number this morning plus possible fur shot then sticking my finger with the needle. Not a good start. :arghh: I think all of the insulin went into Max but I did smell some on him so not sure. I ate Hershey bars for breakfast just in case. I really wish we could get Levemir. Lantus stings him and sometimes he jumps. His vet won’t prescribe it among the many other things we’ve disagreed on.
 
Good morning, Lori. Sounds like your Saturday is not going very well. Does your vet give you a reason for not wanting to prescribe the Levemir? Susie doesn't seem to have a problem with the Lantus stinging her. Are you sure it just isn't the needle? How is he doing overall? Does he act like he is feeling good?
 
Hi Lori, looks like Bama Kitty and Max are hanging out together today on the wrong side of the spectrum. I just recently transitioned over to Semglee (a Lantus bio-equivalent) from Novolin N. I had a couple of back to back fur shots earlier in the week. :facepalm: So frustrating! Some vets seem so set in their ways and not open to trying something they are unfamiliar with. My vet is fairly young but admitted she wasn’t familiar with Semglee and I had to wait several days for her to research and approve it. Then I had to wait longer for the pharmacy to order it.
 
Good morning, Lori. Sounds like your Saturday is not going very well. Does your vet give you a reason for not wanting to prescribe the Levemir? Susie doesn't seem to have a problem with the Lantus stinging her. Are you sure it just isn't the needle? How is he doing overall? Does he act like he is feeling good?
It’s because he’s on such a big dose and the acidity of the Lantus affects some cats is what I’ve been told by some others here. All I can say is that vet number 2 for us has a lot to learn about Max’s condition. I’m going to see a new vet soon. He was feeling good yesterday but not today. That’s how it is these days for us. Trying to stay positive but some days are really tough. Thank you for your concern and encouragement Summer.
 
Hi Lori, looks like Bama Kitty and Max are hanging out together today on the wrong side of the spectrum. I just recently transitioned over to Semglee (a Lantus bio-equivalent) from Novolin N. I had a couple of back to back fur shots earlier in the week. :facepalm: So frustrating! Some vets seem so set in their ways and not open to trying something they are unfamiliar with. My vet is fairly young but admitted she wasn’t familiar with Semglee and I had to wait several days for her to research and approve it. Then I had to wait longer for the pharmacy to order it.
I understand. My vet is not even open to any of my suggestions or requests. Max is a big cat, very strong and muscular so sometimes if I don’t have a good hold on him, he jumps. We are just having one of those days. Hope your kitty feels better!
 
Bad number this morning plus possible fur shot then sticking my finger with the needle. Not a good start. :arghh: I think all of the insulin went into Max but I did smell some on him so not sure. I ate Hershey bars for breakfast just in case. I really wish we could get Levemir. Lantus stings him and sometimes he jumps. His vet won’t prescribe it among the many other things we’ve disagreed on.
Oh my goodness. I think that’s awful your vet won’t let you try the Levemir. It was so good for us. Maybe you should ask the NC State people for an Rx. Of course, you don’t want to alienate your regular vet, I am sure.
 
Good morning, Lori. Sounds like your Saturday is not going very well. Does your vet give you a reason for not wanting to prescribe the Levemir? Susie doesn't seem to have a problem with the Lantus stinging her. Are you sure it just isn't the needle? How is he doing overall? Does he act like he is feeling good?
Hi Summer, Lantus can sting at higher doses. Many cats will react to it and I have known people whose cats went ballistic from the sting (it has an acidic base.). Max is currently on 10 units so it’s a large dose and he apparently can feel it.
 
Oh my goodness. I think that’s awful your vet won’t let you try the Levemir. It was so good for us. Maybe you should ask the NC State people for an Rx. Of course, you don’t want to alienate your regular vet, I am sure.
Yep I sure am going to ask NC State for a script! I also have an appt with a new local vet after our appointment with NCSU. New vet has taken care of acrocats before, this one I have now has not.
 
@Wendy&Neko should we try the 10.5 again now? That’s where we were when he had the hypo before or should we wait a little longer? I guess you saw about my questionable fur shot but he’s still in high numbers. It’s hard to predict what this guy will do.
 
I will be interested to see what Wendy says. You’ve held this dose for more than six cycles unless me looking on this phone is leading me wrong. And you haven’t seen much action- only one blue. I’m thinking increase. But I don’t know what your shot time is or if you already shot - or what time Wendy will be able to check in.
 
I’m going to increase in the morning. I was just wondering if Wendy thought 10.5 or 11. He went a little too low at one point on 10.5 but I don’t know if that even matters now. I know by the rules we go to 11 but I just wondered what Wendy thought about him.
 
Hi Lori, have you decided to follow TR then? If yes, please add to your SS and your signature. If that is the case, given that you believe you may have had a furshot this morning, the count starts over, and I would hold the 10u, since you've now disrupted the depot, and you would hold the dose.

Counting Cycles

If you are following SLGS, you need to hold a particular dose for 7 days.
 
Hi Lori, have you decided to follow TR then? If yes, please add to your SS and your signature. If that is the case, given that you believe you may have had a furshot this morning, the count starts over, and I would hold the 10u, since you've now disrupted the depot, and you would hold the dose.

Counting Cycles

If you are following SLGS, you need to hold a particular dose for 7 days.
Okay thank you. I’m doing TR so I will add it.
 
Back
Top