9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 PMPS 191+1.5/223+2.5/280+4.5/171

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+2/300

Mystery solved I think. I just checked the vial and it expires 9/14. I don't know if that means the beginning or end of the month but I will start a pen tonight. I have never used a pen before so I will look at a video on how to use it as I think I have to pull it apart. I'm so stupid.
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+2/300 Expired insulin explains numbers

Oh wow! I'm glad to hear you figured it out. You're not stupid at all - it's smart that you thought to check it. It's better that it's something going on with the insulin than something going on with Max.
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+2/300 Expired insulin explains numbers

The pen is SOOO much easier! I'm actually a little upset that I'm going to have to go buy a vial of Lev this weekend - not only because of the cost, but because I like using the pens. They're so much more transportable, you don't have to refrigerate them. And they are very easy to use. Just think of them as another, differently packaged vial.
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+2/300 Expired insulin explains numbers

There's no real difference to using the pen, just take the cap off and put the syringe in the rubber membrane, just like with the vial. We don't use the needles that attach to the pen, it's just a mini vial. Actually you should refrigerate the pen too. It will last longer. And store it upright, after several pokes that rubber membrane can leak and you end up w/ bubbles in the pen.
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+2/300 Expired insulin explains numbers

Thank you so much for the storage suggestion, Ann. I am so relieved to think it is the insulin. Now I wonder is I should give him the usual dose or will it cause him to dive? Then again it was sent to me and not in the fridge fir about 24 hours until it reached me. This will be interesting to see what happens. This last vial was a gift as well which is why I wasn't as aware if the expiation date. Lesson learned.

Thanks Deanna for the encouragement. I still feel a little foolish.
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+2/300 Expired insulin explains #s+4.25

Sorry I missed Max's birthday party the other day, although I think I made it in time for the birthday "week." Happy birthday to Max!

I still feel a little foolish.

My dad uses Lantus and mailed us a partial pen when we first made our insulin switch. Guess what? I was so focused on the numbers that I didn't check to see how much was left in the pen. I discovered on a late Friday afternoon that we were out of insulin so I had to call the vet and get a prescription called in since Dad couldn't get a pen to me via overnight delivery at that point. That little "uh-oh" cost me $225. I was furious with myself. Then I thought, "Ya know what? I'm dealing with tons of issues right now, and I'm really stressed out. I should be proud that I'm handling everything as well as I am." In the end, I actually found the vial easier to use than the pen, so my expensive goof may have actually been for the best in the long run.

BTW, the pen Dad mailed me went without refrigeration and probably got shaken up quite a bit during shipping. It held up fine, so I'm guessing you won't have a problem with your pen, either.

Hope your mom is doing well, Elise!
Shelly
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 Expired insulin explains #s+4.25

Thanks, Shelly. I got Max 12/20/97 and they said he was 2 1/2-3 months old so I guessed at his age. When he was little I went for the 3 months age but as he aged I leaned toward the 2 1/2 lol. He was at the emergency room on 12/25/97 and they wrote 2-3 mo. It will be interesting to see how fast he comes down tonight and how long the depot takes to fill up. I'm almost wanting to wait until tomorrow but I don't think it will fill quite that fast. This is coming from the one who is lousy at predicting what Max will do. He was in green just a few days ago. :roll:
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 Expired insulin

Hi Elise!!

I'm so sorry I missed Max's birthday while I was gone. Please give him an extra big birthday hug from his auntie marje!

I don't think the company refrigerates the lantus when they ship it so it should be ok but once you start drawing from the pen, it should be refrigerated. I keep mine in a cheese drawer so it does lie flat and I've not had it leak or get bubbles but I'm sure it very likely could. I just like the cheese drawer because it stays closed most of the time and is not exposed to the refrigerator door being opened and shut.

I'd leave the dose and just play it by ear. If his insulin was total toast, it might take a few cycles to rebuild his depot. You test enough that you'll catch lower numbers and know when to decrease the dose.

I hope your mom is better.
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 Expired insulin

Don't be too hard on yourself. It's easy to forget to check the expiration date. We just automatically assume what we're using is good. At least you have an idea of what has been going on with Max's numbers now. I hope the new juice helps bring him down soon. It's really easy to use the pen. I switched form the vial to the pen and it's just about the same drawing insulin. Just make sure you don't squirt anything back into the pen. It is pressurized and that can mess it up.
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 Expired insulin

Thanks Marje. I hope that the expired insulin is the cause of these crazy numbers. It makes sense to me. Then I was thinking how just 3 days ago he was green but I remember this happened with my first vial where I was questioning it. That time it hadn't expired but it was over 5 months that I was using it. I guess I will find out soon enough. I want to get that figured out before I make a vet appointment as that will be one less thing to be concerned about if the new pen works. If not I might ask for a script for levemir.

Thanks for stopping by Carla.
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 Expired insulin

Good luck on the pen! Im gonna open my new vial on Saturday and start using it as well. It will be interesting to see how they both do for sure. Oh, and I forgot to wish Max a Happy Birthday too!!! :oops:
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 Expired insulin PMPS 191

I started the new pen tonight. I still had a bubble that I couldn't flick away from the side of the syringe but that is probably good since I have one every day. I'm going to practice with the old vial and see if I can figure out a way to get rid of them once and for all. If the expired insulin is the problem I should see the results pretty quickly I think considering his pmps number.
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 Expired insulin PMPS 191

Nice start tonight. Good luck with the fresh juice. I hope it brings Max into greens, but maybe not too low tonight.
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 Expired insulin PMPS 191

Ive been trying a little tip that I read on here from someone else. If I get a bubble..(and I aways do..), I pull in a little bit of air into the syringe to make a bigger bubble, and then flick the barrel of the syringe to move the bubble directly beneath the needle, and then push that bigger bubble out. It works most of the time, but usually it takes a few tries. Good luck either way!
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 Expired insulin PMPS 191

Hi Elise, hoping the new pen solves the mystery for you! I just started the first pen as well, so far, so good. Max is off to a good start tonight, safe surfing and I hope your mom is still doing well!
 
Re: 9/18 MAX AMPS 226+6/188 Expired insulin PMPS 191+1.5/223

Hi Ruth. I haven't seen a condo for you lately but might have missed it. I hope Tiger is doing well.

My mom was very tired today and her BP was low but HR better. I hope it was just an off day. Thanks for asking.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top