9/18 KT AMPS 102/75/62/66/67/72/58/62/61/82/59/+11-94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
I haz a fuzzy rock,
Someone kicked him off da ledge
He showed me dem low numbers
Teetering on that edge

I fed dat fuzzy rock,
He started to get higher
I shooted him wif juis
Jus a bit over the wire

We shot a little late
We iz gotta walk bak
to get to our rite time
an get bak on track

Da juis is gettin' lower
We dropped a dose again
Go Pretty Boy Go
DIS is gonna be our 'WIN'!

OK so it fell off at the end....I iz not a great 'poem-er'.... :roll:

Sir KT handed me a 44 at pm+10.75 'cos again, he didn't eat. I have a new need - (QUESTION 1) does ANYONE have any idea what cycle we're shooting for with Lantus? I read 'you're not shooting this cycle' with it but if I DO shoot it, I have results that I haven't had when I skipped. I'm really struggling with this shed thing and his 'way of life' (i.e. sleeping all night). QUESTION 2: I'm wondering if another insulin that's not a depot type would be better for us now. Any feedback?

pm+10.75 - 44
pm+11.25 - 53
pm+11.5 - 68
pm+11.75 - 88
pm+12 - 91
AMPS 102 (30 minutes late)

All other fuzzy feetz are doing fine this morning. I'm getting awfully close to letting Leo stay in the sunroom with Pepper and Schniggles all the time. Pepper is telling me it's OK but every once in a while, Leo still hisses a bit. He also wants to start playing with her as in "attacking her waving tail" which I don't think is going to be a good outcome. I've let them all stay together for lengths of time as I can sit and watch to stop anything that gets outta hand. Pepper's letting him play with her mouse toy - I THINK she actually brought it to him yesterday but I'm not sure....

Thoughts and prayers for all needing them today. BIG HUGE HUG to all that visit,

OOPS! Forgot to add LAST CONDO HERE!!
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He iz a ROCK - was 44!!! Question P

Hi,
I don't have any real answers to your question.
I did go send Marje a pm so that she'll notice later today and hopefully have an answer.

Deb ( & Yahtzee) and I were discussing this the other day about what we do today in this cycle affects the next cycle, not so much
the current one but I think it's the ECID thing. Some are affected by this moment beyond the next cycle.

Wish we had a little gauge like on the car that shows us how full our shed is and how long it will last.
But then again, I wouldn't want my kitty attached to a computer like the car. :-D
But it can definitely feel like a dark cloud over your shoulder.
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He iz a ROCK - was 44!!! Question P

Hi guys ... no advice from me .. the shed always threw me off anyways .. that 44 was a little low last night KT, but after that you were looking awesome! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He iz a ROCK - was 44!!! Question P

I'm not entirely sure I understand your question but I'll try. If I'm confusing you more, can you explain what your question is again?

Because of the insulin depot, it takes a little while for the insulin level to "catch up" with changes. Essentially, it takes time to bleed off excess insulin or for an increase to build up to the current dose in the depot. For some cats, this process can take one cycle; for other cats, it takes longer. This is one of the reasons we give a dose increase 6 cycles to settle.

There are pros and cons to the shorter acting types of insulin. One big issue for you is that most of them can drop numbers like a rock. Lantus is far more gentle. I would be nervous about a shorter-acting insulin given your testing limitations at night.

One observation: It looks like you intervened fast and hard on 9/16 with the 48. Given the green the cycle before, it looks like KT was winding up for a dose reduction. You may have been OK with taking the skinny off of the dose after that cycle.
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He iz a ROCK - was 44!!! Question P

Sienne,
THANK YOU! Yes you understood my question exactly....and answered it as best anyone knows I think.

The 9/16 cycle - I did intervene hard and fast on that 48. I did that because of the enormous drop he made over 3 hours - from 283 down to 48. That fast of a drop usually makes him bounce like a HUGE rubber ball - I was trying to slow it down quickly and hopefully stop such a high bounce. He did bounce the next cycle with an am reading of 305 so my response didn't work too well. It wasn't the food that did that, it was Mr. Liver.....

THANK YOU AGAIN SIENNE! I'm SO thankful you're here to help!
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He iz a ROCK - was 44!!! Question P

Lyresa

I agree wholeheartedly with Sienne that staying with a long acting insulin like lantus or lev is better for KT in the long run. While I could tell you that you could try levemir, I also think its important that you understand the onset and nadir are much different than lantus and I'm not sure the fits in with your need to be able to sleep at night. I would suggest that you get Dyanas thoughts. She uses lev and she has to sleep at night as well since she works. She might be able to tell you how it works for her. You might also ask Barb/Checkers. But I do know that I am up more with lev when Gracie is running in normal numbers because of the late nadir.

I don't think of my shots in terms of which cycle I'm shooting for. What I do is try and follow the protocol as closely as I can but I do have to fine tune it for Gracie's needs. I also study all the data I have collected in the preceding couple of weeks to see if I can anticipate what she might do in a cycle.....I use it to determine dose if she needs an increase or reduction but if she doesn't, I use it to see if she is clearing a bounce and might give me a more active cycle.

When kitties are diabetic over a year, it's good to follow the protocol as much as you can but they are guidelines. You may need to tailor KTs dosing for his particular needs while just keeping those guidelines in mind.

If you have other specific questions, please let us know. We are always happy to help.
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He iz a ROCK - was 44!!! Question P

THANK YOU TOO MARJE!

Re: considering the change - rather than Lev, I'm thinking more specifically about something like PZI, a single cycle type of insulin. I'm glad you all can see what this would do to my nights - I'm having trouble thinking this thru completely. I SO appreciate the input!!

He's playing a rock again - food propped up that 44 all the way up to 102 but now at +1.5, he's back down to 75. Having to use the OneTouch meter for 3 days until $$ arrived sure bruised his ears. It takes a LOT more blood. I bought 100 strips yesterday for his Confirm which takes such a bitty bitty drop that I usually don't even make them sore doing a full curve.

BIG HUG and THANKS AGAIN EVERYONE!
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He iz a ROCK - was 44!!! Question P

Hey, Lyresa -

Loved your poem! U iz so creative!! :-D

KT is certainly keeping you on your toes! Good luck on figuring out which insulin is best for you.

BIG HUG -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He waz 44!!! ? ANSWERED-TY +1.5-75!

IMHO, I wouldn't switch to ProZinc for the reasons Sienne pointed out. You can ask some ProZinc users that have moved to one of the Ls. With ProZinc, you are potentially constantly making dose adjustments...they dose on the PS. Actually, a great resource would also be Carl. He hasn't used the Ls but he is knowledgable about PZ and he's learning fast about the Long duration insulins.

I hope you fed that 75. See if you can get him to slow down a bit.
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He waz 44!!! ? ANSWERED-TY +1.5-75!

Yes Marje, I fed that 75 trying to slow it down but it didn't work - he's STILL playing fuzzy rock.

pm+10.75 - 44
pm+11.25 - 53
pm+11.5 - 68
pm+11.75 - 88
pm+12 - 91
AMPS 102 (+12.5 and includes food)
+1.5 - 75
+2.5 - 62

Just gave him the rest of the can of FF gravy food - if this doesn't stop it within another half hour, I'm stopping it with a drop of Karo.
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He waz 44!!! +1.5-75 +2.5-62 ROCK a

I can second what Marje is saying about constantly changing doses on ProZinc. We were on ProZinc for 5 months before coming to Levemir 3 months ago. You're welcome to look over Hershey's SS for those ProZinc months and see we were changing doses sometimes at every shot, not to mention regularly changing the scale we used. And, yes, Carl is a wonderful resource!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He waz 44!!! +1.5-75 +2.5-62 ROCK a

Good? I think you are dealing with depot here. I like your idea to stay on top of it.
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He waz 44!!! +1.5-75 +2.5-62 ROCK a

constantly changing doses on ProZinc

That's actually the reason I've considered changing - I CAN change dose by the cycle. I have enough history now to realize how and why he plays rock sometimes and, unfortunately, it's NOT because his pancreas is working. Every time I can see where his lack of food plays a big part in his low numbers. I think I've got 2 choices 1) start getting up at night and making him eat 2) change to a 'per cycle' insulin. #1 isn't going to work well as he doesn't LIKE to wake up at night. He'd rather sleep than eat. When I've tried this in the past, he just goes back to sleep - I have to syringe it in.
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He waz 44!!! +1.5-75 +2.5-62 +3s-66

pm+10.75 - 44
pm+11.25 - 53
pm+11.5 - 68
pm+11.75 - 88
pm+12 - 91
AMPS 102 (+12.5 and includes food)
+1.5 - 75
+2.5 - 62
+3.25 - 66
+3.75 - 67


Looks like we're going to surf now BUT only because of the HC food....not giving Karo, waiting to see how long the HC lasts...
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He waz 44!!! +1.5-75 +2.5-62 +3s-66

You're going to run into the same issues regarding food no matter which insulin you choose. In some ways, you have greater flexibility with Lantus and Lev. With the later onset, you don't have to insure that your cat eats before or at shot time. If KT were to be Mr. Picky-eater, he wouldn't be a rock. He'd be a boulder.
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 He waz 44!!! +1.5-75 +2.5-62 +3s-66

Ok Sienne - that adds another 'pro' for Lantus and makes sense BUT leaves me with THIS question:

With a single action insulin, couldn't I give less over those night cycles when I know he probably won't eat and isn't bouncing?

JUST FYI - I'm just EXPLORING this option right now- trying to make sense of it, NOT making any decisions to change right now...I still have a whole vial of Lantus left thanks to my wonderful 'anonymous' donor several months ago.

Thank you all again for continuing this discussion....
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 +1-75 +2-62 +3s-66/67 +4-72 +5-58 +6

Still surfing at +6.25 - 62

This should be about nadir for him, he hasn't eaten since +4-ish....lazy kitty's been sleeping....
 
Re: 9/18 KT AMPS 102 +1.5-75 +2.5-62 +3s-66/67 +4.5-72

Hi Lyresa!

I just got home from work and saw your PM, and I'd be happy to weigh in. :smile:

You are right, that changing to Prozinc would give you more flexibility, both with dose and with shot timing because it isn't as rigid as an L insulin as far as a 12 hour schedule goes. You've gotten great input from Sienne, Marje and Libby already.
First let me explain my approach to Prozinc/PZI dosing. For the most part, like Marje said, people base the dose on PS numbers with the "P" insulins. I however, base my advice using both the preshot and the nadir numbers. Prozinc is much more of a "if this, then that" insulin. Once you've collected data to see what a dose does, you can to some extent get an "expected" amount of drop on a given dose. So based on history, you can give a bit more, or less, and have some control over the drop in BG. And for the most part, you don't worry much about carryover, no depot to fill or empty. It's a much more "linear" or "proportional" way of thinking. I judge a dose to be effective based on "percentage of drop" rather than looking at the raw numbers. To me, a drop of at least 50%, but not more than 75% seems to have some measure of control over the "bouncing".
What you seem to be hoping for is a "sliding" scale, so that you can worry less about steep or deep drops at nadir, where you would shoot a lower dose at PMPS than at AMPS? That is "possible". But I will tell you that sliding scales don't seem to work well with some cats. It is the way that Bob was dosed for the 10 weeks he was on insulin. Many PZI folks have tried it, with varying degrees of success. Determining the scale is the hard part, and the only way to do it is to do it, gather data, and adjust accordingly. That can take time, and it can also mean just as much, if not more, testing that you would normally do with Lantus.

You're going to run into the same issues regarding food no matter which insulin you choose. In some ways, you have greater flexibility with Lantus and Lev. With the later onset, you don't have to insure that your cat eats before or at shot time. If KT were to be Mr. Picky-eater, he wouldn't be a rock. He'd be a boulder.

Sienne makes an excellent point here. If your normal dose of PZ on a 250 preshot is say 1.5u, and that gives you a nadir in the upper greens with normal food intake, that's a nice cycle. Remove the food, however, and that 95 nadir might give you a 40 nadir instead. The insulin is going to do what it is going to do, and it is going to do it "this cycle". You could reduce your dose, betting that he won't eat much, but then he decides to eat, and all of a sudden, that 95 nadir turns into a flat yellow cycle, That might be okay, but it isn't helping him get any better, and it isn't getting him used to low blue and green numbers. Which means he's more likely to bounce when he does see them.

There are also some characteristics of the P's that might drive you crazy. While some cats have a fairly normal regular cycle in terms of timing, other cats experience things like the timing of the nadir changing, and for no apparent reason. And I have seen where a dose that is too high can do one of two things. It can either cause a deep drop around +6, or it can cause a "long cycle" where the nadir happens later, and instead of a dose lasting 10-12 hours, you have a cycle with a non-shootable number until +15. With PZI, there is definitely a "no shoot" threshold. Like with any insulin, if a member is "new", we put the line at 200. If you are a BOS sort of girl, you might lower that number, but not until you have the data to back it up, just like the L's. I shot PZI into Bob on "normal" range BG numbers (not because I had BOS, but because I listened to my vet, whose "no shot number advice" was "if he's under 100, call me before shooting". I wasn't an active member here for most of his time on insulin, so my advice came mainly from my vet, until I started looking around FDMB, realized I wasn't testing enough mid-cycle, and unilaterally decided to start lowering his doses. I still used a sliding scale, but it was my own scale, not the vet's.
With PZ, there isn't a "shoot low to stay low" methodology. If you shoot low, he's going low. If you skip, he's most likely going high next preshot.

Another "con" in my opinion is that there is no protocol to follow. The TR protocol used to scare me, as people like Sienne and Marje I am sure recall ;-) . It used to be "no way would I do that!". I still wouldn't, but not because it scares me because now I at least understand it. My schedule, and my job, would make it impossible for me to follow the protocol. I could not shoot every 12 hours and I couldn't test often enough at the right times to "do right" by my cat. But at least now I grasp the concept of how Lantus works, and if I thought it offered my next sugarcat his or her best chance at remission, I'd use lantus and rely on the amazing people here to get us through it as best as I could manage.
The protocol, however, in terms of how and when to adjust the dose? To me, it is a huge "comfort". It's logical. For the most part, there's no guesswork. Sure there's wonky happening all the time. But that happens with every cat, with every insulin. There are dives and managing the curve with food, but you'd see that with PZ as well. What you wouldn't have is a logical set of guidelines to follow.

If you were using Prozinc... this morning, you would not have given insulin. You could have stalled without feeding until KT came up to your "no shoot" line, and shot a reduced dose. Or you could have skipped entirely. At PMPS, you would see most likely a high number (pink at least). You wouldn't know if that was due to the low green and a bounce, or from the reduced dose or skipping. Probably a combination of the two. With Prozinc, the advice is "don't shoot the bounce". In other words, if KT bounces, you don't up the dose because of the higher preshot number. Just stick with his normal dose...... see the problem with that? If you're using a sliding scale, how do you know what number you're shooting into? Is it bounce? Is it due to no or little insulin? You don't know, so you sort of have to wing it, erring on the side of caution. Otherwise you're up all night testing. I guess what I'm saying is that there isn't really any greater feeling of security regarding dose, or how much diving and dropping is going on, if you're using a sliding scale and you're running into the same stuff you're seeing on Lantus....low numbers at AMPS or PMPS, bouncing, etc.

I have never "watched" a kitty who switched to Prozinc from Lantus. I know that some have. Robin (Rob and Harley GA) I believe used Lantus, Lev, and Prozinc. But that was all before I joined the board. Deb (Barn Cats R Us) went from Humulin, then Lantus, to Prozinc, but did not post much, and ended up coming up with her own plan that worked to get Marilyn OTJ. I'm sure there have been others, but I am not familiar with the specifics. Yes, it's an option for you, and I would do whatever I could to help you out if you were to take that route. I'm just not sure it's an attractive option for KT, and I can't say he'd do better or that it would lessen the stresses that this dance is putting on you and your family.

I hope that helped?

Hugs,
Carl
 
CARL! That's WONDERFUL! THANK YOU for taking time to give so much insight. It sure helps with my understanding of the difference in the actions.

Whew! What a day! And I'm not sure it's over yet....

AMPS 102
+2- 75
+2.5- 62
+3.5 - 66
+3.75 - 67
+4.5 - 72
+5 - 58
+6.25 - 62
+7 - 61
+9 - 82
+10 - 59
+11-94

Not sure what I'm going to shoot tonight. He's not zoomed YET so don't want to kill the run...I know what I shoot tonight WILL affect tonight's cycle. I've still got half an hour before I have to decide. It will definitely not be more than 2 and maybe a buck less....?
 
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: and lots of :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: s

Lots of terrific info. in your condo today, Lyresa! Good luck with whatever you decide upon.

Wishing you and the fur gang a fine evening. And KT, no surprises tonight, OK?

Ella & Rusty
 
What a great day for KT and what fabulous info from Carl. Wow did I learn a lot!! Wonderful post.

Hope he will come up for you...I know staying up is difficult.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top