9/18 Jessica AMPS 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

ftsang & Jessica

Member Since 2013
Jessica previous condo

Good morning all,

Get some nice blue last night.
This morning, her appetite seems low and not that hungry than before. Fed her some Purina DM savory select to spur her appetite.
She still has diarrhea but a little bit better. If condition remains will take her to the Vet this Saturday.
 
You might want to add a probiotic in addition to the Flagyl to help with the diarrhea. Plain yogurt with active cultures can work. (My cats won't eat it.) FortiFlora is available on-line. An alternative, is Pearls or ReNew Ultimate. Pearls are available at any pharmacy and the ReNew is often available at Whole Foods.

I'm not sure why you gave Jessica a slight dose reduction. If she has some sort of GI bug, reducing the dose may not be a good idea. If a kitty isn't feeling well, less insulin -- especially if there's an infection -- can mean that BG numbers go up and there's a greater risk for ketones. It doesn't look like the reduction has been a problem but if this were me, I'd have held the dose vs. reducing. I do think Jessica needs a dose increase at some point.
 
Hi Sienne,

I actually giving her Renew but I stopped as her diarrhea became worst and taking Flagyl from Vet. So, I will continue to give her Renew.
I reduced the dose because she got some green on 9/12 & 9/13.
For your information, I actually feeding her at PM +5, +7 & +9. Without the food, her BG might drop even lower and even droped to a dangerous level.
As you mentioned before, we should not feed her after the nadir, so I only feed her up to +7.
So, Do you think I should hold the dose or up the dose to 6.5U?

Thanks
 
I just noticed you're following SLGS. If you're sticking with that approach, I'd hold the dose for 7 days and see how Jessica does.

I'm not sure whether Jessica would have dropped too low. If you were giving LC food, it looks like Jessica had a great cycle. Personally, I'd like to see Jessica spend more time in numbers below 120 but it also sounds like you're not comfortable with green numbers.
 
Hi Sienne,

I'm feeding her Friskies SP Turkey & Giblets (5% Carb).
Yes, I love green. However, I'm not available in the day time to take the BG test that why I'm so hasitate to up her dose when I saw couple of greens last time.

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top