? 9/18 Hester Sue AMPS 178, +2.25 90, +4 44, +5 60, +7 116, +10 152, pmps 158, +2.5 51, +4 41

Morna & Hester Sue

Member Since 2026
She just tested at a BG of 44. We shot 0.1 this morning. She ate, and snacked a little as well. I guess now it the time to offer a little HC food?

We are so new at this, and the numbers just aren't making sense to me. Our appointment with a recommended vet is still almost 2 months out.

She ate a little chicken baby food that has corn starch in it, but did the growl/hiss and ran away again. She's back now. I am worried.
 
Last edited:
Baby food does not have a lot of carbs. Can you add a little honey or Karo? New dose will be a drop. You insert the syringe pushing in the pkynger into the vial or pen and then release it and it will draw up a drop. The larger depot is effecting her bg but you still need to reduce. Keep offering a little food every 20-30 minutes but glad it went up to 60.
 
Baby food does not have a lot of carbs. Can you add a little honey or Karo? New dose will be a drop. You insert the syringe pushing in the pkynger into the vial or pen and then release it and it will draw up a drop. The larger depot is effecting her bg but you still need to reduce. Keep offering a little food every 20-30 minutes but glad it went up to 60.
Thanks. i did put a few drops of maple syrup in the baby food. I need to get more of the FF with gravy. I have classic pate, but she's not fond of it.

A drop is even less that 0.1?
 
Yes, a drop is smaller than 0.1 units. To test, load 0.1 units and twist the plunger until you get a drop out. Keep twisting the plunger to see how many drops there are in 0.1 units. Hester Sue looks like she still needs a tiny bit of insulin.
how do I record the drop on the SS?
 
I should have tested at +1 and +2, but I am running out of strips. At +2.5 Hester Sue's BG reading was 51. I practiced measuring 1 drop before the evening shot. And I suspect my 0.1 was lower than I thought.

Is she just exceedingly sensitive to insulin? She ate Weruva BFF OMG (ignored the pureed chicken in broth) and has been sleeping in my arms, but these bounces, or whatever they are, are nerve wracking. I know 51 is still "OK", but i don't know how much more she's going to drop.

I can't imagine what would happen if I'd stuck with the vet's original directions. Well, I can. She almost died 2 not quite 2 weeks ago.
 
Can you give her a bit of maple syrup or whatever you have to get her to come up?
How many test strips do you have?
 
It's 2:30am here, but I can stay up with you for a bit. I'm a morning person but have been up with my cat tonight. That 51 at +2.5 scares me. The insulin is just starting to take affect, I wish you had more test strips. I wish I could bring some to you right now, because this is when you really need them.
I think tomorrow, no insulin for Hestor Sue.
 
Can you give her a bit of maple syrup or whatever you have to get her to come up?
How many test strips do you have?
Thanks for the reply. I have about 10 strips, but as i detailed elsewhere, no way to get more soon.

I offered her some FF pate. I could do more maple syrup -- used some earlier today. I am staying up to test again soon.

She doesn't appear in distress, but this can't be good for her.
 
It's 2:30am here, but I can stay up with you for a bit. I'm a morning person but have been up with my cat tonight. That 51 at +2.5 scares me. The insulin is just starting to take affect, I wish you had more test strips. I wish I could bring some to you right now, because this is when you really need them.
I think tomorrow, no insulin for Hester Sue.
Thank you. It's only 11:43 here. But I do have to be up at 7.

And yes, the 51 so soon is alarming. I am still very much new to this, and have pretty much everything to learn, but the steep drop in BG after only one drop of Glargine. I wish I knew what was going on.
 
I'm glad you have 10 strips. You might have to test every hour (or more), until her nadir. Do you have any HC food like any with gravy?
 
I'm glad you have 10 strips. You might have to test every hour (or more), until her nadir. Do you have any HC food like any with gravy?
I still need to look at the lists. I have some, but she hates the Purina pro plan stuff. I am out of the FF gravy.
 
I forget, when she was diagnosed was it just a regular blood test or a Fructosamine test? It's okay if you don't remember right now.
 
I forget, when she was diagnosed was it just a regular blood test or a Fructosamine test? It's okay if you don't remember right now.
She was diagnosed on September 1, which is when the vet's office called to say the fructosamine test had come back very high. She had had a urinalysis done on 8/18, as well as the blood test. That is when they suggested the further testing of the blood they already had.
 
Can you do me a favor? When you color the square on your spreadsheet with the dark green and then the numbers are in black, I can't see the numbers (old eyes). Can you make the numbers be in white color instead so they stand out?
 
I am not good at spread sheets. Especially in Google. How do I do that? If I just put in the number, it does it automatically, but if I put in a time fraction, it's in black and I have to do teh color manually.
 
If you see this at the top of the spreadsheet
1789802250884.png
the A with the lines under it will change the color of what's written in the box. See if it works.
How is she acting? Has she eaten some food?
 
It's not working for me. I took the time fractions out for now so the writing is white.

She's acting fine. didn't eat much. She did the hiss/growl again. I strongly suspect that what is raising her BG is dental disease, and she may have a tooth that is hurting her. BUt she's cuddly and mostly eiterh sleeping across my arms, or close to the computer fan, which runs hot.
 
I just tested and was about to write when the computer froze and I had to reboot.

Down to 41. Offered her purina pro plan bits in gravy. She took a few licks then walked away. Same with a puree, and every thing else. I did put some syrup on her mouth.
 
I really do not want to have to syringe feed her. I think her mouth hurts, and the chance causing even more stress and pain is too great.
 
How about giving her another small swipe of maple syrup? I know it might get messy, but hopefully she'll lick off what gets on her fur.
 
J.D. was diabetic for 9 years. The colors on J.D.'s spreadsheet got messed up over the years. Jackson has acromegaly, so he's on a high dose right now which is scary to me. I was following SLGS until about a week and a half ago.
 
He's such a cutie. This is scary. The initial dose of 1 unit didn't seem like much, but it almost killed her. She doesn't weight much. Around 7 pounds.

My girls are 17 years old now. The 3rd one didn't quite make it to 17. I wish i could afford more frequent vet visits to try to get some questions answered in person.

Here is a picture of the girls when they were much younger.
1789805887057.png
 
I know pets get expensive when they become elderly. My cats have always been about 10 years apart, so about every 10 years I have to spend a fortune on vet bills.
I know someone who announced that she just got 5 kittens, and then the next time I talked to her she got one more. I'm thinking wow, when they all get older together..
Waiting for your next test, and hoping it is like this morning's cycle.
 
I really should not have kept all 3 kittens, once i had them old enough to find new homes for. But back then I was employed and stably housed, and I thought of keeping 2, and could not figure out who to let go of. And back then they seemed attached to each other. Hah. That didn't last. By 3 or so, they just all wanted my attention. And at some point I realized I had not thought about having 3 geriatric cats at once. Previously I had only had solo cats, and the one who was my once-in-a-lifetime soul cat died of cancer before she was 12.

Sunny died of congestive heat failure on July 24th. Then Sibyl's hind legs went weak and the vet thought it was likely a fibro-cartilaginous embolism, and in trying to diagnose that, they figured out she had stage II CKD. Not surprising in a 17 year old cat. And they Hester Sue got her diagnosis.

Going to test again now.
 
Cats can live a long time with stage 2 CKD. My last precious girl Ginger had it for years and finally passed at over 20 from kidney disease. I miss her so.
The syrup must be taking effect. Too much, I suppose. Up to 102 now.
That's good! Has she eaten anything?
I wish she could have some antibiotics or pain meds for her mouth.
 
20 is amazing. My mother's childhood cat, Augie, who she got when she was 12, lived to be around 20. Never had a litter box of commercial cat food. Ate table scraps and organ meats, and went outside. Lived from 1950 to c1970. !7 seems remarkable, but I am not ready for them to be gone, and they do enjoy life,

I will test in 15 minutes. Her poor ears.
 
120 at +5.5

So I wonder what would have happened had I waited and not given syrup. Would she have climbed on her own? Or tanked again?

Thank you so much, Dyana, for staying up with me. I think it's 5am where you are. I hope Jackson is okay, too.
 
The scary thing is that she might have tanked. That 41 was too close to 30s or lower.
Yes, it's a beautiful 60 degrees outside, and I'm going to bed before the sun rises.
Luckily Saturdays are my day off, so I could do this for you.
Jackson is fine, thank you. I guess I'll stay up for his AMPS now in a half hour.
Have a good night, both (I mean all 3) of you 🐈:bighug:🐈‍⬛
 
Hi Morna, sharing my personal moment and experience with you: Mami Cat has a somehow similar pattern to Hester Sue's. She reaches 52 (or even less) at +2:30 with just one drop, even if the AMPS is around 200 (or lower).

For the moment (long story short) I stopped with the AM drop, because of that.

Maybe you can keep the drop if you give her wet food with more carbs in strategic moments of her curve (before the falls). You could try it. And the most experienced ones can advise you better.
You did the single drop the right way, correct? It is good to practice it, to be sure. It is easy. 🙏🏼

So nice to see that Dyana was there with you 🥰. I hope both of you could sleep a bit. Sometimes, (probably you know that) a little bit of syrup or glucose makes the BG rises quite much, but then it tends to go down quickly, after a while... So like you did, it is better to go for it, even when we give it a bit more than needed.

🧡 wishing you and Hester Sue a good weekend ✨
 
Thank you Clarice. Yes, I practiced the 1 drop. Her BG just now at +10 was 201, so I do not think it fell again. I am going to try for another half hour of sleep.
 
Back
Top