9/18 Foster Bastian Goes Home Today | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

9/18 Foster Bastian Goes Home Today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Venita

Member since 2009
Bastian is going back to Stefani's today. He is a beautiful, well-mannered, active 10YO classic Tuxie.

Bastian is a bouncy boy, quick to respond to even small amounts of insulin with a quick drop and a rebound into 300s/400s. SInce 8/23/10, I have been splitting his dose into two shots timed 2-3 hours apart. This has softened the drop and extended the duration to the point where he spends most days in the blues and greens.

Bastian has been diabetic for well over a year, and never properly managed until he was surrendered to a shelter for euthanasia and rescued by Stefani's foster group. He likely will never become diet controlled, but he certainly is a happy insulin-dependent diabetic.

I suggest that others with bouncy diabetics consider the split shot approach. It got Cherie's Patriot OTJ, and has smoothed Bastian's curve. Perhaps someday it could even become part of the protocol.
 
interesting. I’m not sure it’s advisable to use Bastians’s spreadsheet as an example, with shots given in the 40’s and 50’s, with him going into the 30’s with no followup tests, going to bed on a PS of 55 last night… If you want to be a case study, then more testing would be a good idea so others can study your spreadsheet and learn, or so you can point to your data to prove why it’s working and why it’s safe. Sure, you’re getting some nice numbers, but at what expense? I don’t know that it would be worth it to me to have my cat at risk for hypo every day. I KNOW I wouldn’t recommend it to others.

Perhaps Bastian would do well on TID dosing. At least it would be a consistent dose at a consistent time, and maybe you would be able to lower the dose enough to keep him safe. Usually TID cats are microdosers who can’t give enough insulin to overcome the bounces. We don't usually suggest TID or other customized dosing, because for the majority of people it's impossible. It's hard enough to get some people to test/shoot twice a day, let alone the 3 shots and round the clock testing needed with TID dosing.

I'm curious about the logic of 9/11's shot patterns, what made you decide to give shots at these times?

PS1 ~ 80 (+13) 0.5u
+3 ~ 40
PS2 ~ 61 (+3.5) 0.25u
+3 ~ 59
PS3 ~ 100 (+2.5) 0.25u
PS4 ~ 151 (+10) 0.25u

I’m trying to see how you’re determining when and what to shoot, but I can’t see it. Some cycles I see 0.5/0.25, some cycles I see 0.25/0.5 or 0.25/0.25, sometimes +2 sometimes +3, but there aren’t patterns that I can see. I guess I have to understand something and know it’s safe before recommending it to others.

Sorry it’s time to give Bastian back, though I bet Stefani will be happy to see him. :smile:
 
ah, Venita...your post is very matter-of-fact, but i remember the post where you mentioned that he let you kiss his belly...bet it's a kind of a tug to see him head out the door...

celi & binks
 
Thanks for looking in on us Libby.

Libby and Lucy said:
interesting. I’m not sure it’s advisable to use Bastians’s spreadsheet as an example, with shots given in the 40’s and 50’s, with him going into the 30’s with no followup tests, going to bed on a PS of 55 last night… If you want to be a case study, then more testing would be a good idea so others can study your spreadsheet and learn, or so you can point to your data to prove why it’s working and why it’s safe. Sure, you’re getting some nice numbers, but at what expense? I don’t know that it would be worth it to me to have my cat at risk for hypo every day. I KNOW I wouldn’t recommend it to others.

I see your point, but I know from history (early in his time here with me) where Bastian is going. I was data-ready to shoot those numbers. And data-ready to let him go on his own after +2 last night. I did do follow-up testing when he was in the 30s and 40s. Not every 15 minutes every time he hit those numbers as some here would suggest, but early on I tested low numbers every 30 minutes, and I learned where he was going.

Perhaps Bastian would do well on TID dosing. At least it would be a consistent dose at a consistent time, and maybe you would be able to lower the dose enough to keep him safe. Usually TID cats are microdosers who can’t give enough insulin to overcome the bounces. We don't usually suggest TID or other customized dosing, because for the majority of people it's impossible. It's hard enough to get some people to test/shoot twice a day, let alone the 3 shots and round the clock testing needed with TID dosing.

Stefani works full time, so she cannot do TID. I worked Sebastian into a pattern she could hopefully maintain. I know she is not as comfortable with the lower numbers, that's why I tried to do a couple cycles on .25/.25 so that she would know that he would end up in the high 100s/low 200s at PS, where she is going to be more comfortable. As I said in my post Bastian is "quick to respond to even small amounts of insulin."

I'm curious about the logic of 9/11's shot patterns, what made you decide to give shots at these times?

PS1 ~ 80 (+13) 0.5u
+3 ~ 40
PS2 ~ 61 (+3.5) 0.25u
+3 ~ 59
PS3 ~ 100 (+2.5) 0.25u
PS4 ~ 151 (+10) 0.25u

As I wrote on the SS, 'Messed up day timewise due to personal commitments." I was away from the house from the AM+9.5 to PM +7. I gave him low, safe (for him) .25U doses. As I wrote there, " I was an insulin pump today. Nice day though."

I’m trying to see how you’re determining when and what to shoot, but I can’t see it. Some cycles I see 0.5/0.25, some cycles I see 0.25/0.5 or 0.25/0.25, sometimes +2 sometimes +3, but there aren’t patterns that I can see. I guess I have to understand something and know it’s safe before recommending it to others.

I was trying to see what pattern of dosage and timing would fit best into Stefani's schedule and desire to run his nadir around 100. I don't dose less than .25U (can't see it). Perhaps Stefani will try those lower doses, or let him run higher than her target if she feels uncomfortable about shooting in the double digits even with .1U. I left her a note about the dosing in the comments section of today's line.

Sorry it’s time to give Bastian back, though I bet Stefani will be happy to see him. :smile:

I hope she will be. She's terribly busy helping to manage her mother's treatments for her recent Stage 4 breast cancer DX. Hopefully, someone will soon want to adopt Bastian. I feel he will fit into just about any situation as long as someone is willing to manage his food intake. He lives for food, and will even lick a plate hours after it has been licked before. With little effort, he could be a blimp. (='.'=)


PS--Celi, yes. Bastian allows me belly kisses.
 
Hey Guys!

I want to publicly thank Venita for all her hard work getting Bastian better regulated. Bastian's stay at Camp Venita will go a long way toward helping me be a better foster mom for him, since I now know what he responds to.

I also thank you Venita, for keeping my needs in mind as you worked with him. You are right, TID is not possible for me. As devoted as I am to my cats, I am absolutely dependent on my job to keep a roof over our heads and cat food coming in the door.

I am comfortable with nadirs as low as the 60s, and I've learned not to freak with 40s and 50s, but just feed. 30s still freak me out, so I will likely be slightly more conservative. I will be comfortable shooting at around 100 to start, given the small doses he's on, and then may go as low as 75 or 80 for preshots depending on what I see.

This will be a new thing for me -- split shots. I've done booster drops before with lantus (ooooo, controversy!) but not split shots per se. I'm glad it seems to work for him, as he hasn't "read the book."

I will still e looking for a permanent home for Bastian. As darling as he is, there is a lot on my plate, and he would benefit from being placed with someone who is retired or works from home. That would be ideal, given the split shot thing. There are going to be days when it may not be possible for me to be exactly on time.

Hugs, everyone! Will update on Bastian again after he is resettled. I'm predicting 3 days under the bed. :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top