9/18 Crushy +3 309 (going to miss shot on Sat. what to do??)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=104656

amps 335
+3 309

Im planning on upping his dose tomorrow am. Does that sound about right?

All the Ps in place. He's snoozing outside now...

also, I am not going to be home during Crushy's normal shot time Sat night. Ill be 1 to 2 hours late. I posted on the main health board asking what do do: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=104480 I was hoping for a few more opinions though. My thought was shoot as soon as I can and monitor a lot that night. I dunno though....

and one guy posted " I note that you have relatively log mid-cycle BG this sync compared to before. Thus, skipping may be best"
I have NO idea what "relatively long mid cycle BG this sync" means!...I asked and PMd him and he didnt respond. Can someone please translate?

Thanks
Michele
 
Re: 9/18 Crushy +3 309 (going to miss shot on Sat. what to d

I agree with the increased dose tomorrow. Looks like he needs a little more juice.

As for the weekend, if you can change your regular shooting schedule, give it when you get home at 11:30-12...that would change your AM dose to 11:15-11:45. You can go back 15 minutes per cycle to get back to the schedule you want.

You could skip the dose and just start over on Sunday morning at usual shot times (his BG will probably be up Sun morning if you skip)

On these two suggestions below, I don't know if they'd be something others would agree with or not. I'd be interested in seeing what those more experienced eyes think about them...just for my own education.

You could give a partial dose when you get home just to keep from losing too much momentum

You could also start tonight..give the PM shot 15 minutes later than normal and add 15 mins per day until you'd be able to give it closer to the time you'll be home Saturday night...then start backing up again
 
Re: 9/18 Crushy +3 309 (going to miss shot on Sat. what to d

Time changes are typically done as either 15 minutes per shot cycle or 30 minutes once a day.
- If he's really sensitive, go with the 15 minutes per shot time shifting.
- If he has ever had DKA, the time shifting is better than skipping. You don't want to risk setting DKA off by letting him get higher than normal for him.

If he's nearing good numbers and has never been DKA, you'd be OK to skip that one shot.

Or, can anyone else shoot for you? A friend, a neighbor, a pet sitter?
 
Re: 9/18 Crushy +3 309 (going to miss shot on Sat. what to d

He's never had DKA.

I keep wanting to just give a smaller shot when I get home. Like 3/4ths of what he would get just to offset the high BG of not getting any shot at all. Bad idea?

Crushy is super wary of strangers. Other people, including the pet sitter, freak him out so Im not sure they'd be able to give him a shot for me. It would be a battle. He's such a sweetheart to me and my husband, just not other people unfortunately.
 
Re: 9/18 Crushy +3 309 (going to miss shot on Sat. what to d

I don't think there's an issue with a late shot. (Early shots are more of an issue since they act like a dose increase.) The complication with a late shot is that your next shot needs to be 12 hours later and that may throw your schedule off when you try to get back to your original shot time. If you can't accommodate the shift in schedule, then think of it as a fur shot and skip. If your schedule has the flexibility, they shoot late and start working the shot time back to your preferred time in 15 min. increments at each subsequent shot time (or by 30 min. once a day).

If, however, you test a +11 and Crushy is in the 300s or above, you could easily shoot early to help get back on track more quickly.

FWiW, I haven't a clue what Larry was talking about in his post, either.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top