9/18 Charlie PMPS 317 +1 225 +2 119 +3 86 +4 59 +5 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Hi everyone,

Charlie was still in high numbers as of this morning. Started giving a lower dose as decided yesterday (1 unit instead of 1.25).

Didn't have time to post as I had a hectic morning at work.

Will test when I'm home from work to see how she's doing. Likely, I'm guessing she'll come out of her bounce this evening.

Hope you're having a great day,
Jill
 
Re: 9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367

Hi guys .. sorry for the bounce, but it looks like charlie is working her way out of it nicely .. hoping by tonight you have a nice blue number to shoot .. have a great day!
 
Re: 9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367

Hope you come home to a cleared bounce. Sometimes it takes a few days to drop back down and adjust to the new dose.
Paws crossed it happens quickly.
Charlie is making progress. :thumbup
mantra = FD is a marathon, not a sprint.

Hope you have a Great day!
 
9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367 +9 349 PM313 shoot a falling #?

Friends,

Charlie seems to be coming down from her bounce. I notice that she's declining between +9 and now. Not sure if this is a double dip (we've seen this before in Charlie's patterns once or twice), or if this is a normal drop that follows a bounce.

In any case, is it safe to shoot this falling # since the dose has been reduced to 1 unit? Quick thoughts appreciated. Supposed to shoot right this minute and do not want to be too delayed.

Thanks,
Jill
 
Re: 9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367 +9 349 PMPS 317

I did a second test 15 minutes later and Charlie was rising marginally (from 313 to 317). Although this marginal difference probably means nothing, it was enough to make me decide to shoot, as my logic is:

- she's not so low that shooting seems to be a risk (especially since I'm now giving her a reduced dose of 1 unit, rather than the 1.25 that took her into the low zone a day or so ago).
- I was already 15 mins behind shot time, and didn't want to delay further.

Think I made the right call but time will tell.

Have a great evening. I can smell Danish pork and potatoes in the kitchen, with a hint of red wine in for good measure. Need to run to catch some of that yummy goodness! :-D
Jill
 
Re: 9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367 +9 349 PMPS 317

Jill

Sorry...I was on earlier but had just left to test and feed Gracie when you put up your question.

Yes...I would have shot that dropping number if it even had continued to drop when you retested. But I also would have gotten more tests in...even a +1. It's always good to listen to what your data is telling you :-D

I'm kinda confused. You said she was rising from313 to 349 but you show 317 as PMPS. Did you wait and retest after the 349?
 
Re: 9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367 +9 349 PMPS 317 +1 225

Hi Marje,

GOOD catch. In my rush to get to dinner, I typed that wrong. I think I looked at her +9 just prior, so I had that number in my head and wrote the wrong one.

I corrected my text above. OOPS.

Also, it's still not +1 time yet, so I can still get that. No problem. Or did you mean I should have gotten a +11 and a +12? My partner got home from work at +9, then did a test, then drove to pick me up from work, and when we got home, I did a test as a PMBG at 6:50pm. Then I posted, and 15 minutes later I retested at 7:05. Waited until 7:15 in case someone chimed in. Nobody did in that timeframe so I made a call to shoot. Think it was the right one, right?

I was thinking about you when I posted, as the other day you said there is a way to decide if it's safe to shoot a falling number (for example, if numbers start falling due to a bounce)? Can you refresh my memory on that one so I know for the future?

Also, do you agree that there are examples in Charlie's history where she seems to have a double dip? Or do you think that's related to dropping bounces?



Jill
 
Re: 9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367 +9 349 PMPS 317 +1 225

+1 is 225. That already seems to be quite a drop for only +1. I don't know. What do you think?
 
Re: 9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367 +9 349 PMPS 317

I am sorry I didn't catch you just to make you feel better but it usually takes me a bit to get Gracie tested and fed and then the others also want to be fed ;-)

I think you did great by shooting....absolutely. And I did mean a +1, not a +11 although I am a huge fan of +11 checks but realize it's tough during the week for those who work. :-D

I am also a big fan of shooting dropping numbers as long as (1) you have supplies and can and will test because numbers will likely keep dropping until onset and then may drop more, (2) you have the data to know your cat and how they will respond to you shooting a dropping number and to feeding, and (3) it's a safe dropping number to shoot. What is a safe number? It's different dependent on (1) and (2) above. When Gracie was on lantus, I learned to shoot a 50 that she had dropped into. That is not a safe number for many but I knew exactly what I needed to do to keep her safe, I knew what she would do, and I knew that I would check her every half hour if I had to. With time, we will help you learn to shoot lower dropping numbers. For now, it's fine for you to shoot these higher dropping numbers and will help Charlie out BUT....and I emphasize BUT.....you have to know that when you shoot any dropping number, you simply must get no later than a +1 test. Sometimes you need to get a +.5. You have to learn to listen to your data that you've been collecting.

The other thing I said about dropping numbers and clearing a bounce is if the dropping number is a high one and like it was on 9/17 a.m. cycle, the action of the bounce clearing and the action of the shot you are giving is likely to rev up the drop .....just as you saw. So it's important to look at the data and be on top of that with very early testing.

Why are dropping numbers a good thing to shoot if you can do it safely? Because you can take advantage of overlap. On a typical lantus curve, the numbers come up at the end of the cycle and then you have to wait a couple hours until kitty onsets for numbers to come back down. When you shoot a dropping number, numbers usually continue to come down and overlap with the onset of the next cycle so kitty stays in nice numbers. Of course, TR'd cats do this anyway. But again.....shooting dropping numbers can be dangerous if you don't know how to do it, don't know your cat, don't know how to deal with low numbers, etc. So it absolutely must be done with caution and with help from an experienced member if the number you are shooting is 100 or below (higher if it is a really new member).

I'm not seeing any real clearcut examples of Charlie getting a second dip but it would look similar to her a.m. cycle on 8/30. A second dip is where they come down and nadir, go back up, and then come down again at the end of the cycle but not as low as the nadir. The +10/+11 tests are good for seeing whether you have a second dip or not.
 
Re: 9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367 +9 349 PMPS 317 +1 225

Charlie is acting a bit weird right now. She honestly looks like she's drunk. She's lying tilted to the side on the couch and is breathing weird. Can a big drop have that kind of effect on a cat? Do you consider her drop from PMPS to +1 to be a big one, or is it just me? She just seems real strange. Or maybe I'm also a paranoid diabetic kitty mom?
 
Re: 9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367 +9 349 PMPS 317 +1 225

Yes, that's a big drop. Roughly 100 points in an hour is a big drop. See if Charlie will munch on some LC food just to slow things down.

Are you sure Charlie isn't just being a cat? You might want to take a look at this Dear Mom letter.
 
9/18 Charlie AMPS 418 +1 367 +9 349 PMPS 317 +1 225 +2 119

Sienne,

That is my all time favorite post that I have ever read on this board, as we SO RELATE to those emotions. It's really cute and very appropriate.

Let's hope Charlie is just being a cat and trying to mess with us. I will test again at +2 and give her a little bit more food. We are trying to keep her on the 200 grams a day diet, and her last portion for tonight is supposed to be given before bed in 2 hours. I can give it a bit earlier and let her decide when to eat it.

Jill
 
9/18 Charlie PMPS 317 +1 225 +2 119 +3 86

Tonight's pattern looks eerily like that of just a few days ago (Sept 17th in the AM). Another steep drop at +2.

I wonder if we are seeing so much progress because we started regulating her food more strictly? We started this strict 200 gram a day approach on Sunday, so that wouldn't necessarily explain her low numbers on 9/15 (Sat night) though.
 
Re: 9/18 Charlie PMPS 317 +1 225 +2 119 +3 86

Good luck with the food regulation. I hope it helps you get Charlie in better numbers. Good luck with that drop to +3. I hope you can be around to keep an eye on Charlie tonight.
 
It's 11:30PM and I'm still up. I'll try to stay up for a few hours if things start going in the wrong direction. Will test now at+4.
 
9/18 Charlie PMPS 317 +1 225 +2 119 +3 86 +4 59 +5 101 +5.5

Last 3 tests showed rising numbers:

+4.25 (11:25pm) was 59
+5 (12am) was 101
+5.5 (12:30am) was 115

Does this mean I can go to bed?
 
I don't have enough experience to answer your question. Maybe you should try changing your subject line to ask that question and put a question mark on it. Hopefully some of the experienced people will be on the board soon and see your question.
 
When was the last time you fed anything? You want to see two rising numbers that aren't "food boosted".

Carl
 
Jill

Posting from my phone. If you havent fed in a couple hours you can prolly go to bed. 1 more test in a couple hours would probably be good if you can manage it
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top