9/18 AMPS 562! After low numbers last night

Lauren Ryan & Tommy

Member Since 2026
Can someone please help me understand what’s going on? We gave the dose reduction this morning, as instructed last night because he had low numbers. We did feed extra at that time and gave karo syrup twice (both times his numbers were in the 40s). Now we have the opposite problem. No idea what any of it means.
 
Lauren/Ryan, Here is your previous post:Do we shoot? Tommy 9/13 BG 106 we always link this in daily posts so that others will be able to quickly look back at what has been happening with our kitties.

He's bouncing. Here is a definition of bouncing:

"Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

The good news, is that he's already coming down from that bounce! I suggest you catch a +2/+3 tonight to see how he is managing tonight's insulin shot, especially since he's had some recent drops into lower numbers at night.

We're here if you/he run into problems.
 
Lauren/Ryan, Here is your previous post:Do we shoot? Tommy 9/13 BG 106 we always link this in daily posts so that others will be able to quickly look back at what has been happening with our kitties.

He's bouncing. Here is a definition of bouncing:

"Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

The good news, is that he's already coming down from that bounce! I suggest you catch a +2/+3 tonight to see how he is managing tonight's insulin shot, especially since he's had some recent drops into lower numbers at night.

We're here if you/he run into problems.
He’s back in the 90s tonight. Is that normal for a bounce? Nothing with him seems to follow a logical pattern which is the most frustrating part
 
Yes, it’s normal. The good news is that he is breaking his bounces fairly quickly. Keep an eye on him. When they have significant drops from the preshot number (like he did tonight), that can mean active cycles (cycles where they might drop into lower numbers) that you need to monitor with testing. He is actually following a logical pattern; you just need to learn that pattern. He’s gone a bit low tonight (compared to the 500 he was at this morning), so while he might still go lower tonight, you can expect another bounce from these lower numbers later. Hopefully, over time, the bouncing will ‘flatten’ out. If he falls below 90, he earns another dose reduction at his next shot.
 
Back
Top