9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 +6 208 +7 216 pmps 176+3 189

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125457
Good morning & happy fursday everyone ~O) ~O) !
Michael is starting in the blues! (Such a lovely color for him!) amps 175. Hope he wants to surf.
Darin,thanks for explaining. Its starting to make sense. You mentioned that he dropped 42pts in 2hrs. ( 21pts
in a hr.) and by those #'s, he could be having a safe cycle. What # range do I look for to determine a
safe cycle :?: ?
I was an hr. late in giving Michael his shot this am. I got up @ 5:30 instead of 5. I had a hard time trying to get him to eat all his food. ( he finally did after I mixed his treats in it.) I like to make sure he eats all or most of his food before I gave him a shot. I'm supposed to go out at 6 tonight and should be gone a couple of hrs.
If I give the shot @ 5-5:15 will that mess things up :?: ?
Also, Thanks, Sandy for looking out for us. I hope to be able someday to get a +10, +11 in the pm cycle, but for now (due to health problems) I'm going to have to wait. Getting a +4 in the pm was a step forward although I got up late. (I would set my alarm, but I have to take out my hearing aids at night and I can't hear.)
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175

Hi Paula!!

Great number for Michael this morning :-D :-D

Here's the thing about dropping 42 in two hours. He might not have dropped anything the first hour and dropped 42 the second. So you can't take the total drop and divide by the hours and get a drop/hour. By looking at his patterns, we can determine what seems to be a fast drop for him. If I test Gracie two hours after the previous test and she has dropped 42, I assume she might have done it in one hour and I test again in 30 mins to an hour depending on how low she is. If she is in blue and she has room to drop another 42 and still be safe, I test after an hour and then that tells me how fast the drop might be. If she's in green and I think she might be dropping that fast, I test in 30 mins.

Yes...you can shoot within 30 minutes of when you shot tonight and be just fine so shooting at 5 or 5:15 is perfect.

I hope he surfs today. Have a great day and fun tonight. Be sure you check him before you leave tonight. You might need to leave out some higher carb food if he's high green/blue. If he's mid green, you should post for help before you shoot, ok?
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175

Thanks, Marje
I just tested M @ amps +4 320 Big bounce! (143 pts from amps 175!) This sugar dance is full of surprises!
I hope he comes down when I test again. I am sooo tired of pink!
Paula :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 bounce or fd spike?

Hi again, All
Please check Michael's SS. Could the bounce (I think it was a bounce) be a food spike :?: ?
Any thoughts :?:
Thanks
Paula nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 bounce or fd spike?

I would say bounce because of the blue numbers, unless you feed him lots of high carb food, what is your feeding schedule?
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 bounce or fd spike?

you more than likely will see in even higher number on your next test. michaels history of bouncing brings him up into the red and remember bounces can last up to 6 cycles/3 days.
the bounce that Charlie is in right now from last night, was already at 423 @ +4
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 bounce or fd spike?

Thanks, Darin
Michael eats lc food. Friskies pate Morning & evening. A little bit during the day.
I was hoping this would be a fd spike. I guess I better put on my patience pants.
Guess Michael & Charlie decided to play "bouncy ball" together :roll:
How is Tommy? is he home?
Paula :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 bounce or fd spike?

I think the food spikes are usually noticeable in the first 2 hrs after a meal.
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 +6 208

Darin,
That's wonderful. Bet Sadie is glad to see him. (or at least when the vet smell wears off).
Tested M @ +6 208. (112 pt. drop from + 4 320) I will test @ +7 to see where this is going.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 +6 208

I agree with Darin that it looks like a bit of a bounce.

Just as a reminder....when his pre shot is lower than the numbers at the end of the previous test, you want to try and get a +2 test to see if he's still going down or up :-D :-D

Great job, Paula, and thank you, Darin, for helping Paula. You are awesome! I love it when our "newer" members (e.g. haven't been here for years) help other newer members.
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 +6 208 +7 216

Tested @ +7 216 little change. (+6 208) Maybe he is clearing the bounce :?: Anyway he likes yellow for now. Better than that stinky pink :!:
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 +6 208 +7 216

What is a ketone blood meter and how do you use it :?:
Thanks
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 +6 208 +7 216

Nova Max is one company that makes blood ketone meters and they used to send out free meters but I can't find the link. They work just like a glucose meter; you put the blood ketone test strip in the meter and then do an ear poke, put the strip to the ear just like with a glucose meter, and then it gives you a blood ketone reading. The strips are extremely expensive.

Unless you have worries for DKA, I think testing with urine ketone strips is sufficient and much less costly.
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 +6 208 +7 216

Marje, thanks for the info.
Paula :smile:
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 +6 208 +7 216

Great job on getting some more testing in. I am really surprised at his +6 not really sure what to make of it.
 
Re: 9/18/14 Michael amps 175 +4 320 +6 208 +7 216 pmps 176

Nice pmps for Michael, given that number I would test like you did last night. I will check in around your +2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top