9/17 Zeke - Hello LL! Question-Supplement/Course of action

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon LL!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted (Zeke's previous condo) but I’m regularly checking in to see how everyone is doing. Great to see more kitties on an OTJ trial (let’s go Skunky and Bobby – looking good so far).

Well, Zeke is doing great. Although we didn’t get the result we’d hoped for from the major dental back in June, we’ve gotten him back on track (BG wise), though he’s still not back at the 0.1u he’d been getting prior to his procedure. Zeke is currently so well regulated on this 0.5u that we’ve been hesitant to make any changes to his dose; however, we’re still hoping we can get him diet regulated even though he’s now been on insulin for over a year :YMSIGH: .

Zeke is coming up on 11 weeks at this 0.5u dose. During this period, we did test the (reducie) waters once. During the PM cycle on 8/25 we gave Zeke a 0.25u reducie. The following morning however his AMBG was a little higher (126) than what he’d been registering prior to the reducie (mostly greens) so we quickly aborted the mission. Perhaps I was a bit too quick in calling it a fail but I figured it wouldn’t hurt to give Zeke a little more time.

Because this was the second failed reducie in recent months, my thought is that unless he earns the reduction by dropping below 50, three times (as a long term diabetic), or he drops below 40, even though he’s been staying below 120 for quite some time (in the last month alone he’s only been over 120 intermittenly on three occasions), we should continue holding this dose. The only other consideration for reducing (for me) would be if there is a clear indication that his pancreas is working. When I can (mostly on the weekends) I’ll test him before his +8 snack so I can see if his BG drops by the time of his next shot. Only once (on 9/6) has his BG actually dropped but even then one could argue that considering meter variance he basically just stayed flat. If I were to start seeing this occur with some/more frequency, then I would be inclined to give a reducie a try. Do you think this is a wise position/approach? I wanted to ask because Zeke’s vet told us that keeping Zeke on insulin longer than necessary could do more harm than good. She didn’t elaborate and we didn’t ask but now I’m wondering if there’s some medical basis to her comment.

So my question is: Could not taking a reduction when he’s stayed in normal numbers for 7 consecutive days possibly be doing him more harm than good?

As always, the opinions of LL are always greatly appreciated. Wishing you all a great Wednesday.

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke AMPS 100. Hello LL! Quesiton for you.

he looks incredibly good, laura. i can't imagine what harm would come from giving him insulin - as much as he needs. he's getting pretty perfect blood sugar tests on the 0.5u right now. i think i'd just keep on doing what you're doing.

i think if he needed less, you would know because he would go low - and yes, for a more-than-a-year diabetic, it would take less than 40 for a dose reduction.

congrats on how you're handling him - you've done a super job! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke AMPS 100. Hello LL! Quesiton for you.

Thanks Julie for the visit and response. Just wondering, is there anything more we can do? Maybe someone in the past has found a supplement helpful in their kitty's pancreatic recovery. I'm sure this would have been mentioned before (if it existed) but I can't help myself - I just have to ask (this stupid question).
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke AMPS 100. Hello LL! Quesiton for you.

sure! i don't know of anything, but others might. Marje has used some supplements, but i'm thinking more for liver and kidneys, and Elise uses supplements with Max, too, i think.

it's not a stupid question at all, laura. you could put it in your subject line to get more eyes on it!
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke - Hello LL! Question-Supplement/Course of acti

Good idea Julie. Actually our civvie Ivan's creatinine was a little elevated 2.7MG/DL at his last vetty appt. He's currently getting cerenia every other day and half a pill daily of Benazapril 5mg and Furosemide 20mg for his cardiomyopathy. Any supplements that might be beneficial? Thanks.
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke - Hello LL! Question-Supplement/Course of acti

The only other consideration is that if Zeke is in normal numbers for a week, had you given any thought to shaving the dose?
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke - Hello LL! Question-Supplement/Course of acti

In the area of supplements, there are some chinese medicines. Can't remember the name now, but Neko's acupuncture vet mentioned one that they put their newer diabetic cats on. She didn't think I needed to do it for Neko because she's regulated enough, but not nearly as nicely as Mr. Zeke is.
 
Re: 9/17 Zeke - Hello LL! Question-Supplement/Course of acti

Hi Wendy and Sienne. Thanks for your comments.

Sienne and Gabby said:
The only other consideration is that if Zeke is in normal numbers for a week, had you given any thought to shaving the dose?

Sienne, as Zeke's pancreas is still not working (except for perhaps intermittently) what would be the benefit of shaving his dose?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top