Stressedcatmom
Member Since 2017
I made a mistake and shot about an hour early last night, but I don’t think it matters given his high numbers.
I’m losing it.
I’m losing it.
I may switch vets and go back to prozinc this is driving me insane. I wonder if the dose is too high?I made a mistake and shot about an hour early last night, but I don’t think it matters given his high numbers.
I’m losing it.
I agree with what the others have said. You've not given Lantus enough time to make a decision about whether it's effective.
I would encourage you to consider switching to TR. You are testing enough and TR will give the the opportunity to increase the dose more quickly.
U dont want to increase a whole unit, we increase by .25I feel like I am already doing TR? I can test way more Friday-Sunday as I am off. M-Th I can test about an hour after shot and always before bed (unless I fall asleep)
I just freaked out an emailed the vet. I hope she doesn't want to increase to 3u (that was her plan in 3 weeks)
I know. My vet is a whole unit kind of vet. I'm just preparing myself.U dont want to increase a whole unit, we increase by .25
Mine was too but my catI know. My vet is a whole unit kind of vet. I'm just preparing myself.
Lol. Very true.Mine was too but my cat![]()
I have. What is the minumum number of tests on TR per day? What times are suggested? I looked at the sticky but I cant seem to figure it outHave you taken a look at other member’s SS? It might help put things in perspective. Some immediately show progress and some take time.
Some, like mine, are taken on roller coasters. My vet started Ming on lantus with extreme doses. I was introduced to lantus on FIRE as someone on the board put it.
Right now, you are in control and despite the high numbers, this is valuable when caring for your cat.
As to Yoshi’s numbers, I think officially going TR will help fast track things and get him out of those highs.
That’s goodI have. What is the minumum number of tests on TR per day? What times are suggested? I looked at the sticky but I cant seem to figure it out
Totally agreeHave you taken a look at other member’s SS? It might help put things in perspective. Some immediately show progress and some take time.
Some, like mine, are taken on roller coasters. My vet started Ming on lantus with extreme doses. I was introduced to lantus on FIRE as someone on the board put it.
Right now, you are in control and despite the high numbers, this is valuable when caring for your cat.
As to Yoshi’s numbers, I think officially going TR will help fast track things and get him out of those highs.
So with 2.25... on a syringe that has half unit marks, would that be a full two units and then halfway to the .5mark?Please think about increasing your dosage by .25 - if you're following TR you can continue to increase in .25 increments every 6 cycles (2 cycles per day)...a lot of cats start really high like Yoshi. Please don't give up yet - and don't bother going with your vets recommendation - I'm sorry but I have to keep saying this...your vet doesn't know as much as the collective wisdom of this group. Unless your vet has treated hundreds of cats for multiple years - there is no comparison.
Please listen to the people here and stop worrying about the high numbers. It's your cat and as you continue to use Lantus it will build up and begin to work - but it appears he needs more - some cats here are on quite a bit more and it's the dose that finally helps them get to better numbers.
Take a look at Luci's SS - she started out high...and we move the dose up and down and up and down as needed. There are many others - review those SS's and see what works for many of us - it can work for you too![]()
would that be a full two units and then halfway to the .5mark
Everyone wonders that if their cat is in high numbers. Been there, done that. Much more likely Yoshi just hasn't hit a good dose yet. You started at a safe dose, and have increased by safe amounts, with enough tests to show that you aren't missing any lows. Therefore, the dose is too low. Speaking of which, if you can reliably get a before bed test, you will get a better picture of what is happening overnight. The black this morning leads me to think he is bouncing, the questions is what did he see last night?I wonder if the dose is too high?
With numbers as high as you are seeing, you would be find and safe to increase by 0.5 units. Per TR, if all the nadirs are over 300, increase by 0.5 units. We want Yoshi in better numbers faster.U dont want to increase a whole unit, we increase by .25
Thanks WendyEveryone wonders that if their cat is in high numbers. Been there, done that. Much more likely Yoshi just hasn't hit a good dose yet. You started at a safe dose, and have increased by safe amounts, with enough tests to show that you aren't missing any lows. Therefore, the dose is too low. Speaking of which, if you can reliably get a before bed test, you will get a better picture of what is happening overnight. The black this morning leads me to think he is bouncing, the questions is what did he see last night?
With numbers as high as you are seeing, you would be find and safe to increase by 0.5 units. Per TR, if all the nadirs are over 300, increase by 0.5 units. We want Yoshi in better numbers faster.
Here is the link to yesterday's post, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-16-yoshi-amps-384.219403/
so she should increase 2.50You are definitely testing enough for TR but that is only half of what TR is, the other half is how often you change dosage. SLGS only changes dose 1 time a week (1x/14cycles) whereas with TR depending on your cats BG results from the previous few cycles you actually change dose once every 3 days (1x/6 cycles). When you follow TR it is a more aggressive method which allows you to get your kitty out of high numbers soonerI feel like I am already doing TR? I can test way more Friday-Sunday as I am off.
I don't follow TR but I believe you must get at the very least 4-6 tests a day (anyone can correct me), Basically at the very least your AMPS, and PMPS plus an additional test during the AM cycle and one during the PM cycle. You may need more tests depending on how low your mid cycle tests are.I have. What is the minumum number of tests on TR per day? What times are suggested? I looked at the sticky but I cant seem to figure it out
Thank you. I gave 2.5 will get before bed test in 3-4 hoursEveryone wonders that if their cat is in high numbers. Been there, done that. Much more likely Yoshi just hasn't hit a good dose yet. You started at a safe dose, and have increased by safe amounts, with enough tests to show that you aren't missing any lows. Therefore, the dose is too low. Speaking of which, if you can reliably get a before bed test, you will get a better picture of what is happening overnight. The black this morning leads me to think he is bouncing, the questions is what did he see last night?
With numbers as high as you are seeing, you would be find and safe to increase by 0.5 units. Per TR, if all the nadirs are over 300, increase by 0.5 units. We want Yoshi in better numbers faster.
Here is the link to yesterday's post, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-16-yoshi-amps-384.219403/