? 9/17 yosh amps 541 pmps 453 +3 396

Stressedcatmom

Member Since 2017
I made a mistake and shot about an hour early last night, but I don’t think it matters given his high numbers.

I’m losing it.
 
We all made mistakes, dont be so hard.on urself, let me say this, if it were MY cat I would increase to 2.25, even though ur on SLGS, are u able to test during the day, saying this to try and get those numbers down, others will weigh in I'm sure
 
Last edited:
Looks like last night ended up working out! Don’t punish yourself, you’re doing a great job!

I think whether you use Lantus or Prozinc is definitely up to you, the important thing is that Yoshi is getting insulin support! You have to do what is best for you and Yoshi. If you decide to move to prozinc you can always sell your unused Lantus in the supply closet :)

I will say finding the ideal dose on SLGS can be tough in the beginning but if you choose to stick with it you will definitely get there :).
 
I don't think you have been on lantus long enough to find a good dose yet. He could use an increase.

I've shot early and a couple of times 2 hrs late because I've overslept. One time I found filled syringe in refrigerator at next shot time, apparently I thought I'd given it but put it in fridge with the insulin pen instead. Oops, missed shot that time. It happens to all of us. Just a couple of weeks ago I took her to wrong vet practice, that was embarrassing. Imagine what they thought.
 
I agree with what the others have said. You've not given Lantus enough time to make a decision about whether it's effective.

I would encourage you to consider switching to TR. You are testing enough and TR will give the the opportunity to increase the dose more quickly.
 
I agree with what the others have said. You've not given Lantus enough time to make a decision about whether it's effective.

I would encourage you to consider switching to TR. You are testing enough and TR will give the the opportunity to increase the dose more quickly.

I feel like I am already doing TR? I can test way more Friday-Sunday as I am off. M-Th I can test about an hour after shot and always before bed (unless I fall asleep)

I just freaked out an emailed the vet. I hope she doesn't want to increase to 3u (that was her plan in 3 weeks)
 
I have to leave for work at 6:50 so I get up at 4:15, test feed and shoot and that way I am able to get a +2 b4 i leave and leave down appropriate food for him
 
Have you taken a look at other member’s SS? It might help put things in perspective. Some immediately show progress and some take time.

Some, like mine, are taken on roller coasters. My vet started Ming on lantus with extreme doses. I was introduced to lantus on FIRE as someone on the board put it.

Right now, you are in control and despite the high numbers, this is valuable when caring for your cat.

As to Yoshi’s numbers, I think officially going TR will help fast track things and get him out of those highs.
 
Have you taken a look at other member’s SS? It might help put things in perspective. Some immediately show progress and some take time.

Some, like mine, are taken on roller coasters. My vet started Ming on lantus with extreme doses. I was introduced to lantus on FIRE as someone on the board put it.

Right now, you are in control and despite the high numbers, this is valuable when caring for your cat.

As to Yoshi’s numbers, I think officially going TR will help fast track things and get him out of those highs.
I have. What is the minumum number of tests on TR per day? What times are suggested? I looked at the sticky but I cant seem to figure it out
 
Please think about increasing your dosage by .25 - if you're following TR you can continue to increase in .25 increments every 6 cycles (2 cycles per day)...a lot of cats start really high like Yoshi. Please don't give up yet - and don't bother going with your vets recommendation - I'm sorry but I have to keep saying this...your vet doesn't know as much as the collective wisdom of this group. Unless your vet has treated hundreds of cats for multiple years - there is no comparison.

Please listen to the people here and stop worrying about the high numbers. It's your cat and as you continue to use Lantus it will build up and begin to work - but it appears he needs more - some cats here are on quite a bit more and it's the dose that finally helps them get to better numbers.

Take a look at Luci's SS - she started out high...and we move the dose up and down and up and down as needed. There are many others - review those SS's and see what works for many of us - it can work for you too :)
 
Have you taken a look at other member’s SS? It might help put things in perspective. Some immediately show progress and some take time.

Some, like mine, are taken on roller coasters. My vet started Ming on lantus with extreme doses. I was introduced to lantus on FIRE as someone on the board put it.

Right now, you are in control and despite the high numbers, this is valuable when caring for your cat.

As to Yoshi’s numbers, I think officially going TR will help fast track things and get him out of those highs.
Totally agree
 
Please think about increasing your dosage by .25 - if you're following TR you can continue to increase in .25 increments every 6 cycles (2 cycles per day)...a lot of cats start really high like Yoshi. Please don't give up yet - and don't bother going with your vets recommendation - I'm sorry but I have to keep saying this...your vet doesn't know as much as the collective wisdom of this group. Unless your vet has treated hundreds of cats for multiple years - there is no comparison.

Please listen to the people here and stop worrying about the high numbers. It's your cat and as you continue to use Lantus it will build up and begin to work - but it appears he needs more - some cats here are on quite a bit more and it's the dose that finally helps them get to better numbers.

Take a look at Luci's SS - she started out high...and we move the dose up and down and up and down as needed. There are many others - review those SS's and see what works for many of us - it can work for you too :)
So with 2.25... on a syringe that has half unit marks, would that be a full two units and then halfway to the .5mark?
 
would that be a full two units and then halfway to the .5mark

If you're using calipers there's no guess work - please pick up a calipers and get the digital measurements for your syringes. It's much more accurate than 'guessing' where the half-way mark is...and you really want to be as consistent with Lantus as possible...if you're off by a fraction from one injection to the next it does seem to matter...
 
I wonder if the dose is too high?
Everyone wonders that if their cat is in high numbers. Been there, done that. Much more likely Yoshi just hasn't hit a good dose yet. You started at a safe dose, and have increased by safe amounts, with enough tests to show that you aren't missing any lows. Therefore, the dose is too low. Speaking of which, if you can reliably get a before bed test, you will get a better picture of what is happening overnight. The black this morning leads me to think he is bouncing, the questions is what did he see last night?

U dont want to increase a whole unit, we increase by .25
With numbers as high as you are seeing, you would be find and safe to increase by 0.5 units. Per TR, if all the nadirs are over 300, increase by 0.5 units. We want Yoshi in better numbers faster.

Here is the link to yesterday's post, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-16-yoshi-amps-384.219403/
 
Everyone wonders that if their cat is in high numbers. Been there, done that. Much more likely Yoshi just hasn't hit a good dose yet. You started at a safe dose, and have increased by safe amounts, with enough tests to show that you aren't missing any lows. Therefore, the dose is too low. Speaking of which, if you can reliably get a before bed test, you will get a better picture of what is happening overnight. The black this morning leads me to think he is bouncing, the questions is what did he see last night?


With numbers as high as you are seeing, you would be find and safe to increase by 0.5 units. Per TR, if all the nadirs are over 300, increase by 0.5 units. We want Yoshi in better numbers faster.

Here is the link to yesterday's post, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-16-yoshi-amps-384.219403/
Thanks Wendy :bighug: so she should increase 2.50
 
I feel like I am already doing TR? I can test way more Friday-Sunday as I am off.
You are definitely testing enough for TR but that is only half of what TR is, the other half is how often you change dosage. SLGS only changes dose 1 time a week (1x/14cycles) whereas with TR depending on your cats BG results from the previous few cycles you actually change dose once every 3 days (1x/6 cycles). When you follow TR it is a more aggressive method which allows you to get your kitty out of high numbers sooner

I have. What is the minumum number of tests on TR per day? What times are suggested? I looked at the sticky but I cant seem to figure it out
I don't follow TR but I believe you must get at the very least 4-6 tests a day (anyone can correct me), Basically at the very least your AMPS, and PMPS plus an additional test during the AM cycle and one during the PM cycle. You may need more tests depending on how low your mid cycle tests are.
 
Everyone wonders that if their cat is in high numbers. Been there, done that. Much more likely Yoshi just hasn't hit a good dose yet. You started at a safe dose, and have increased by safe amounts, with enough tests to show that you aren't missing any lows. Therefore, the dose is too low. Speaking of which, if you can reliably get a before bed test, you will get a better picture of what is happening overnight. The black this morning leads me to think he is bouncing, the questions is what did he see last night?


With numbers as high as you are seeing, you would be find and safe to increase by 0.5 units. Per TR, if all the nadirs are over 300, increase by 0.5 units. We want Yoshi in better numbers faster.

Here is the link to yesterday's post, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-16-yoshi-amps-384.219403/
Thank you. I gave 2.5 will get before bed test in 3-4 hours
 
Back
Top