9/17 Skooter +6.25 95 PMPS 102 +2 85 +3 74 +4.5 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Another Late Condo Condo (9/16)


Ugh, I hate getting my condo done so late in the game. I have been waking up with headaches most of this week, so I T/F/S Skooter and go
smileys-sleeping-820031.gif
and then wake up with barely enough time to get dressed and ready for work and still be about 15 minutes late....and I have been craving a Hot Apple Steamed Carmel Cider from Starbucks all week :( Hopefully tomorrow I will be able to get my crap together, not have a headache and not have to go
smileys-sleeping-820031.gif
.

Skooter seems to be doing really well (antijinx), just waiting for him to tell me he is ready for a reduction.....I am trying REALLY hard to remember this is HIS journey, not mine and I need to follow his lead. It sucks because I still feel pretty new to the game where I don't leave him alone much. I have so many family and friends going away for weekends, overnights and even just out for a late night and just hard because I don't feel like I can do that yet. I don't want to lose any momentum that we have going, since we lost some when he did his stint in the yellows a few weeks ago.

I just keep hoping that he will either eventually go OTJ OR I start feeling more comfy going out and just leaving food for him to go to etc.....Oh well.... just part of the ups and downs of this sugar dance, eh? I also think with the headaches I have been getting, it would just be super nice to share this load with someone...BUT I know so many of my fellow LL family do this solo as well....so if you all can, so can I!

I am digging his PMPS number and curious to see where we go tonight :)
 
Re: 9/17 Skooter +8.25 93 AMPS 155 +6.25 95 PMPS 102

Even with green nadirs, you can increase the dose:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

but i think with that 71 yesterday, i'd hold it a little bit longer until you are sure he's not going lower than that already, and are home to monitor.

it is hard to be stuck at home - try to convince yourself that it's short term intensive inconvenience in the hope of a huge long-term gain!
 
Re: 9/17 Skooter +8.25 93 AMPS 155 +6.25 95 PMPS 102 +2 85

{{{Molly}}}

I know how frustrating it is. I also understand about feeling like you can't go do stuff and really wanting to. My cousin's husband does competition barbeque and we are accustomed to going to two or three rib cookoffs every summer, to help out and to cheer him on (and to eat the good stuff!). We haven't made one this year, as they are all at least a two hour drive away and we'd be gone all day. For us it's also about getting Cinco all his eye drops, as well as worrying about BGs and getting shots on time. So even though there are two of us, we still miss out. Mark's best friend wants to take us to Reno one weekend soon, and I just can't bring myself to go away again so soon! And I LOVE going to Reno! I just keep reminding myself how lucky I am to have kitties to love, and try to immerse myself in all the love they give back. Sitting down with a purring cat on your lap really helps put things in perspective! :-D

Cinco was happy to hang with Skooter in the lagoon today. I'm not sure if they'll meet up there tonight, or not. Looks like Skooter has a head start. Don't get too far out, Skooter, or Cinco won't be able to find you!
 
Re: 9/17 Skooter +8.25 93 AMPS 155 +6.25 95 PMPS 102 +2 85 +

Another nice cycle for Skooter, I haven't looked at his SS in awhile, so I see he is very close to just inhaling fumes of insulin! You have done such a wonderful job of taking him this far, and made this journey possible for him- way to go Molly! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I feel for you, you are so diligent about waking up and getting all of those +8's, +9's and not ever really getting a full night's sleep- no wonder you have the headaches! :YMHUG: Is it an option to get an occasional pet sitter to give you a night out?
 
Re: 9/17 Skooter +8.25 93 AMPS 155 +6.25 95 PMPS 102 +2 85 +

I have a few people who will shoot him, but no one that is comfortable testing him. I would be just a big ball of worry anyways.

I guess it is all part of the sugar dance. I am just seeing so many posts on FB these days about last minute or planned trips and fun things people are doing and just bums me out some. I hate making plans in advance because I never know when I may have to cancel at the last minute.

I have been lucky fro the past several events that Skooter has done well....but for as many 5Ks as I am doing these days, I am not at the point where I find them completely enjoyable or consider it a fun day out lol.....This feeling, too will pass, I am sure.

As much as I preach it to others, it is hard not to be "controlled" by the numbers. I need to remember his numbers are just a portion of this and need to look at everything going on. It is also difficult to not feel like I am doing something wrong because he hasn't gotten his OTJ trial yet, or when his numbers go wonky, when I really should know that it is the nature of the beast (the beast could be the disease or the cat).

Tonight, I was challenged/nominated by a friend to do the Gratitude Challenge, so I think that will actually help...3 things I am grateful for every day for five days....I have already cheated (funny how most of what I am grateful for revolves a certain fur legged furry kid of mine)....

1. My one constant, who has been there for everything over the past 12 years – Skooter the most amazing and loving cat I could ever imagine having. I remember the day I got him, as they took him out of the condo he hissed at the other cats. When they put us in a room with him, he spent most of his time doing figure eights around my legs and I was a goner. While he has had some medical challenges, I would not trade him for the world. I am grateful he picked me that May day so many moons ago.

2. Speaking of medical challenges, I am grateful for finding an amazing vet clinic who could diagnosis what other vet clinics could not and provide him with loving and amazing care over the years. Hopefully, we have many more years together, in part because of the clinic.

3. I am grateful for having the financial ability to be able to provide Skooter with all his diabetic and IBD needs – insulin, test strips, lancets, glucose meter, medicine for his IBD, vet visits and tests. While it is very challenging to be able to fund all of this, I always seem to manage. There are amazing pet owners who are doing the same as I am on far less.

4. ADDED BONUS – While I understand this will totally make me look like the “Crazy single old cat lady”, I am grateful for being the “crazy single old cat lady” because it means I get to have the best snuggler around.

5. ADDD BONUS TWO – I am grateful for the opportunity to participate in this challenge. As an individual who struggles not only with Depression, but Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD), this time of year can be especially challenging. I welcome the opportunity to be forced to focus on the positives in life.
 
Re: 9/17 Skooter +8.25 93 AMPS 155 +6.25 95 PMPS 102 +2 85 +

I agree with Julie that if Skooter isn't going lower and you are home to monitor, it's OK to increase. Sometimes they need to go up to go down. Just a little kick in the pants so to speak.

Have you thought about trips where you can take Skooter with you? We've had a couple members take their kitties camping. Jen takes Eddie to the lake cabin for a weekend. After taking Neko on the road for 3 days each way to Fort Collins and back a couple years ago, I'd be totally comfortable taking her to a pet friendly place. Julie took punkin to a cabin on the coast. You can also skip to have fun for yourself. Skooter will get back on track. Several people skipped to go attend concerts, family gatherings, etc. You have to take care of you too. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/17 Skooter +8.25 93 AMPS 155 +6.25 95 PMPS 102 +2 85 +

Off topic response here.

MollynSkooter said:
...I have been waking up with headaches most of this week...
Just a quick check from Miss OCD - have you turned on your furnace and do you have a carbon monoxide detector that works? Daily headaches on waking could be CO poisoning.

(Of course they can be form something else too, like a sleep disorder or migraines, etc.)
 
Re: 9/17 Skooter +8.25 93 AMPS 155 +6.25 95 PMPS 102 +2 85 +

Nope I have not turned the furnace on.....I tend to get them with stress, not a lot of sleep and the changing of the seasons....all of which seem to be happening right now :) I turned the AC off earlier this week....tonight I am starting back up with a fan, so I am hoping that will help me sleep through most of the night. I don't mean to get up in the middle of the night, I just wake up periodically, so I figure if I am awake and Skooter is laying with me, I mind as well test.

As for traveling with Skooterbear.....He does not make for a great travel mate to my sister's house, which is about 15 minutes away, so not sure how he would do long distance. I know I can skip if I need to, but then I feel guilty for skipping.....I am hoping it is all related to being more new and hopefully some of that will go away with time -- just an ever ending cycle lol

I also think once I feel like I am understanding his cycles and what he does and what his trends are, that will make it easier. I find it fascinating how others can look at his spreadsheet and explain stuff that makes perfect sense, yet when I look at it I am thinking, how in the heck did they get all that from those numbers?!?! lol That is why I spend so much time reading other condos, looking at spreadsheets, I am hoping at some point something will just jump out at me and make sense and I can feel like I can interpret to some degree and as much as he will let me, what his trends are....of course probably just to change them again :roll:

I did almost bring him with me to a wedding in May, but my DS and BIL were willing to learn to shoot him. They are not comfy with testing him and honestly, I am not sure how Skooter would react to someone else testing him anyways. I have been toying with the idea of even just finding a hotel that is local to me that accepts cats and just doing a night a way from the house with him. It might do us both some good.

On the other hand, I feel like if I can stick with this and be really mindful and focus on this, I can maybe get him OTJ....I have to admit, I have been feeling a bit more discouraged as of late, but again, I am hoping that is just the ups and downs that come with this wonderful sugar dance.

The first time I will really be home to monitor for a long period of time, will be Saturday night. I will be home tomorrow night and Friday night, but of course, I worry about increasing him one of those nights and then something happening during the day. If I wait until Saturday night, I can monitor him Saturday and all day Sunday. I am still trying to wrap my head around when to increase. I guess I assumed because he was hitting his greens that he would be good at this dose. Other than going below 50, is there a number I should be watching for as a "good low green" where I wouldn't need to increase him?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top