9/17 Shooter AMPS 234, PMPS 261

Hi. I’m not sure who you tagged but I didn’t see any tags on your last two condos. We are kind of short handed right now plus if not on the board when tagged they can often be missed. Sorry you are frustrated. I remember seeing other cats go otj or get regulated while Max bounced. It is frustrating. Some go otj quickly but for most it’s a marathon rather than race.

What I notice when looking at your spreadsheet is you don’t get many +2 or +3. While not required those tests often are a signal as to how the rest of the cycle will go and if it will be active. That’s when it’s good to feed the curve. On 9/3 Shooter was blue at amps but you didn’t test again until +5 or +6 and he earned a reduction when if you tested earlier you could have avoided that with food. On 9/10 I don’t know what you fed him but when 51 at +6 I would have fed mc and tested in 30 minutes so he would surf and not earn a reduction. Then he dropped under 50 and earned a reduction. He’s not spending enough time in the normal range and so he bounces.

Perhaps you are at work so can’t test. If that’s the case I would try and move the shot time so you can get as close to a +2 as possible. Then you could set an auto feeder and put higher lc or mc in it while away if it looks like an active cycle.

Hang in there. I hope this helps a little.
 
Hi. I’m not sure who you tagged but I didn’t see any tags on your last two condos. We are kind of short handed right now plus if not on the board when tagged they can often be missed. Sorry you are frustrated. I remember seeing other cats go otj or get regulated while Max bounced. It is frustrating. Some go otj quickly but for most it’s a marathon rather than race.

What I notice when looking at your spreadsheet is you don’t get many +2 or +3. While not required those tests often are a signal as to how the rest of the cycle will go and if it will be active. That’s when it’s good to feed the curve. On 9/3 Shooter was blue at amps but you didn’t test again until +5 or +6 and he earned a reduction when if you tested earlier you could have avoided that with food. On 9/10 I don’t know what you fed him but when 51 at +6 I would have fed mc and tested in 30 minutes so he would surf and not earn a reduction. Then he dropped under 50 and earned a reduction. He’s not spending enough time in the normal range and so he bounces.

Perhaps you are at work so can’t test. If that’s the case I would try and move the shot time so you can get as close to a +2 as possible. Then you could set an auto feeder and put higher lc or mc in it while away if it looks like an active cycle.

Hang in there. I hope this helps a little.


Thanks Elise. Yes watching others at least slowly climb down the ladder while Shooter continues to bounce around is extremely frustrating. Yes I work away from home from 7:30am - 12:30pm and 5:30 - 6:30pm, so it's easiest to give his shot right when I get up in the morning (6:30) and as soon as I get home (again) in the evening (6:45). I do a lot of +3 testings in the evening because I'm home. Almost every single day/night he continues to climb at +2 & +3 then starts to slowly come down at +4 (Levemir). Maybe I should get in the habit of always checking then (if possible) regardless of what he USUALLY does to try to catch him if he does decide to drop that day/night? I'm understanding more about feeding the curve and trying to NOT let him get under 50. I just have to be able to catch him. I can try the auto feeder again, but I really don't know who ends up eating it since I have 3 cats. I guess I could try putting the nanny cam on it. lol
 
So you are home at +2 in the morning. I suggest testing then every day to see if that is onset. I would also test at +3 in case she onsets later. For Max it was between +2-3. Some cats onset at +1. Not Max so I only got a +1 if the preshot was green. Once you figure out tge onset if that test is lower than the preshot it will likely be an active cycle and you want to feed the curve.
 
So you are home at +2 in the morning. I suggest testing then every day to see if that is onset. I would also test at +3 in case she onsets later. For Max it was between +2-3. Some cats onset at +1. Not Max so I only got a +1 if the preshot was green. Once you figure out tge onset if that test is lower than the preshot it will likely be an active cycle and you want to feed the curve.

"I work away from home from 7:30am - 12:30pm and 5:30 - 6:30pm, so it's easiest to give his shot right when I get up in the morning (6:30) and as soon as I get home (again) in the evening (6:45). I do a lot of +3 testings in the evening because I'm home. Almost every single day/night he continues to climb at +2 & +3 then starts to slowly come down at +4 (Levemir)."
 
Oops. I got it backwards. It looks like during the day he’s dropping sooner so that’s where feeding slightly higher carbs if you can figure out how to make sure he gets it rather than the others might help. I know, much easier said than done. I have only two and they eat within a minute or two but the one with allergies eats faster and if I get distracted for any reason will grab the other’s food. I now feed in separate rooms.
 
Back
Top