9/17 Sarge AMPS 160 Dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
A couple days ago Sarge earned a .25 reduction and now his AMPS is 160. I know that he won't stay there for long after eating but since this is less than half his usual AMPS I am scared to give him his usual dose. Due to an out of town work commitment I won't be able to check on him until around 3pm. Any other day I would be right down the street but unfortunately not today. I want to keep him safe and keep whatever he is doing going. What is a girl to do?
 
Its best to caution on the side of error. If you are not comfortable or not able to monitor then it's probably best to skip shot. Its "better for a cat to be high for a day then low for a min" the safety of your cat needs to come first.
If I was in your situation I would skip, then you know your cat is safe and no need to stress or worry at work.
 
If I skip do I hurt his chances for remission if maybe he has started to make a hint of his own insulin? Would it be better for his numbers the next couple of days to do a half dose instead?
 
There is also something we call bcs "big chicken shot" this is a considerably reduced shot, which still allows your kitty to get some insulin in its system and not enough insulin to drop them into the danger zone.
 
I think the bcs is what I am learning today and I expect (hope) it will come up again. I think 0.75 would be enough to prevent two days of catch up but wouldn't drop him too low. Once he eats he can really skyrocket and I can get home to check him at +6 which is where he usual has his lowest numbers.
 
Right now looking at your SS it looks like your kitty is/has cleared a bounce from the low numbers the other night. Also a little flag is that your amps is less then your last nights +6, and still could be leveling out, you could stall and retest to verify rising BG. I can't advise on dosing, I can only give you the standard info and you make a decision.
Skipping should not affect chances of remission. I have done both the skipping and the bcs.
 
Any chance you can make it home at +5 instead of 6, the other night when sarge earned his reduction @+5, he was in the process of clearing a bounce. Same possible situation now. At what + do you leave for work, maybe a test before you leave and have extra food out.
 
Knowing the +6 rule of thumb I may have stalled but I just gave him 0.75 unit for his AM dose before your last message. He is such a spiker after he eats I am confident he is going up from here. I will sneak in a test before I leave for work and as soon as I get back into town I will run home and check him. Thanks so much for you help this morning! This was our lowest morning since this started and I was in uncharted waters :)
 
Yes, actually there is a chance I will be home at +5. +6 is the worst case scenario. My plan is to test before I leave and leave out extra food. Sarge is really good about eating when he needs to so I tend to have food out all over the place :) Thanks!
 
Looking at your SS it looks to me a lot of your amps/pmps numbers are bounce influenced which can last up to 6 cycles. If you look on your SS to when sarge unfamiliar number not just low numbers, then shot up into 300+ numbers you will see several cycles where the BG did not really move almost as if the insulin was not working, those are bounce numbers.
And as far as +6 being a rule of thumb is not really correct, my charlie nadirs between 6.5 and 7, also the nadir can move with no rhyme or reason.
To better pinpoint the nadir you can test between @+5, +6, and +7.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top