9/17 Rusty PMPS 167, +4.5 208 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

9/17 Rusty PMPS 167, +4.5 208

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=52324

Good Saturday Morning, Everyone,

This morning was the worst of any of my mornings trying to administer insulin to Rusty. First: it took 4 strips to finally get a blood drop and to get a strip to work (I think it was too cold for the strips in the cabin). Then, after I mangled his ear and got his breakfast set down and started to do the shot, I poked the needle through his skin and it came out the other side before I pushed the plunger. So I got ready to try again and just as I was about to shoot, he pulled back so violently that he jostled my elbow, setting off the plunger, and the insulin went all over his fur. I know that nothing went into his body. So I decided to do what we are not supposed to do: I filled a new syringe with a reduced amount (1 unit instead of 1.25), and shot that. I have no idea if it went in or not, because he reeked of insulin from the insulin all over his fur. I am totally depressed.

It was very cold last night and Rusty slept under the covers with us.

Back later. Keep fingers and paws crossed that our day will improve.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty AMPS 181; awful fur shot

gosh darn it!!

what a rotten way to start your day...

the cold makes a huge difference, doesn't it?

paws & fingers crossed here that some went in. (we'd cross our tails as well if we had them)

hoping for quick improvement to your day, Ella!
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty AMPS 181; awful fur shot

Hi Ella and Rusty hope the rest of your day is better then the morning and he got some insulin second time around :smile:
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty AMPS 181; awful fur shot

morning guys... Ella, so sorry! it happens... i think he cold had to play a part, and there just is no controlling that. So we start anew with the PM cycle. he'll be OK. Just do your best to watch him this morning, in the event that any of the first made it in, doubtful, but best to be safe. Don't worry...

Smart kitty to sleep under the covers! I enjoy that, no matter what the reason.

I hope your day gets better, that it is a good one.

Rusty!! We are on our way!!! Bus is packed, and we gots toddy's on the bus stove. See you soon!! We are coming with lots of hugs for your bean. I think she need them today. Lubs ya!~~ Mannie
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty AMPS 181; awful fur shot

Yes, the cold does affect them with getting a drop! I sometimes have a hard time early in the am with Mags ear, too! Hang in there. Which size needle are you using. I use the 1/2 inch, but I know some use the other size. The day will get better, and you did what you thought best under the circumstances.

Rusty, I'm excited about today at Camp Stu but needs some mittens if you have a spare, see ya later, Mags
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty AMPS 181; awful fur shot

Half my strips go to the garbage, as Moonie's ears are tough to get blood too!
OK so you shot again(bit of a no no) but if you will be there to monitor, just keep an eye out!
We know you are a loving, competent bean who loves& does the best for your good boy!
I think they get a sore spot after we are shooting there for a long time & they jump--
Moonie did it this am but it went in--Then I take her whole back & sniff for insulin!!
God we are crazy :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Not to worry I feel this will all be well--Try to have a happy Caturday! Lubs & Hugs from us!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty AMPS 181; +5.5 112, +8 76, +9.5 105

Hi again,
well, Rusty came down a lot by +5, but I suspect he was going to do that anyway (the day after the car trip). We'll see where he is at +9.5. I can't imagine that any of the first shot got in. After I pulled (without shooting) the syringe that popped out the other side of his skin, I examined it closely and all the insulin was still in it. The second try with that syringe was when the insulin didn't find skin at all and squirted all over his fur. Then the new syringe was the one that apparently got in (1 unit). Maybe I should take his dose back to 1 unit. The volatile numbers he has been having lately may in part be attributable to too much insulin (1.25 units)??. Anyway, he is alert and is having a good time going outside today. We've been sitting by the stone wall, near the lake, trying to keep him off the neighbor's yard, making a circle of the cabin (being careful that he doesn't go underneath it), etc. In the late morning he went down to the water. I think he likes it here. He also played with a bug on the grass. He is on the porch now, being scolded by a bird. The weather is deteriorating and getting gray and damp.

I'm about to test again (at +9.5, in 10 minutes), so I'll hold this post until then.

+9.5: 105 (with a little food on board from +8.25). We're about to leave for an early dinner at our friends'. Back at PMPS. Sorry I haven't gotten to any condos today, but will tonight.

Rusty is acting fine.

Ella & Rusty

Hey all my pals, bring warm clothes. I've got hot tuna toddys for later.
Rusty
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty AMPS 181; +5.5 112, +8 76, +9.5 105

Nice to see those greens for Rusty! I think you made the right call, you've been at this long enough to know what you are doing, just NEWBIES, you do not have the background to do this yet!

Oh, that fire is going to feel so good on my paws later, but what fun! and I found chestnuts, we can roast them! -- Tess
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty PMPS 167

Hi again,
We've bounced up a bit to near where we started this morning. I shot the 1.25 units, but I'm still not convinced that this dose is optimal for Rusty.
Thanks to everyone for the encouragement and support today. I think tonight's shot was a good one (hope is eternal)!

Off now to visit condos,


Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty PMPS 167

I sure hope your shot tonight was good also. This morning I'm sure the cold was responsible for part of the problem. Weren't your fingers cold. Hopefully Rusty will return to his normal Rusty numbers. Thinking good vibes for Rusty's numbers and hope you have a warm lovely evening.
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty PMPS 167

YAY for a good shot tonight. I am with Ann - you have been at this long enough to know what you are doing. that is for sure. It was so nice to see the greens for Rusty! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :razz:

Rusty's day sounds so nice... way to go Rusty! you were a good boy.

Rusty!! I am with Tess - that fire will feel so good on my paws!! and lots of toddy's! ~~Mannie
 
Re: 9/17 Rusty PMPS 167

Your tale sounds familiar!!! We had a dickens of a time getting a blood droplet today, though thankfully, we still only needed one strip! Is the problem your strips getting cold? maybe keep your supplies wrapped in a wool sock?

No advice on the dose... we've got issues too! :lol: :lol: :lol: You know what, though? Stuff happens (and sometimes, yes, it is the brown kind!). No need to get down... it will be all be okay. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Hope tomorrow is a better day!
 
Hi Ella. Sorry you guys had a hard time this morning but I'm glad that things generally are going well for you and Rusty. You're such a good Mamma and never ever doubt it. Give your beautiful boy a hug for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top