9/17 Klinger AMPS 462; PMPS 574

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/17 Klinger AMPS 462

The GREAT news is that I was finally able to do a Keytone test and it was negative. YAY!
He didn't care one bit that I was there either. :RAHCAT
 
Re: 9/17 Klinger AMPS 462

Yay for no ketones.

Harley is not modest either. I wave the stick around behind him while he looks at me puzzled.
 
-Can you describe for me his test, feed, shoot pattern on a typical day? As I recall he just grazes all day right? Maybe that has something to do with the erratic numbers. for example a number may be higher if he just ate.
-Please please try not shooting near the scruff, at all, and split the shot into 2 locations, preferably near the sides of his belly, its ok to stick him twice with the needle- cody rarely complains with 3-4 sticks. This may help it absorb better, maybe - worth a shot.

- is he getting ANY dry kibble or treats at all? a few pieces can mess you up. Dehydrated 100% chicken breast treats marketed to dogs are cheaper than the same thing for cats.

- this was only cycle 3 on 3.4u right?
- thank goodness the ketone strip is negative

- how is he acting, compared to how he acted when he was on higher, or lower doses. This is almost more important than the numbers...

peeing
pooping -
playing
purring
preening- grooming
and eating and drinking.

how do his teeth look? does he have any bad teeth in the back. I've heard of cats whose numbers suddenly improved after a dental.

adding a bit of water to his food might help a bit.
 
is it ok to admit the last time we saw klinger in any good #'s was on 7U's or more?
i mean, seriously...maybe he is just a gulper..high dose kitty. we though the 7U's was wrong but now....i am having 2nd thoughts.
 
Test at 5:00 a.m. feed at 5:15-5:20 ish and shoot at 5:30 am and pm.
Yes he grazes all day. Give him a can of FF in the am and he grazes on it throughout the day. Another can at dinner time. I was home with him today and he ate a little more after I gave him the shot, ate a little more at +2, ate +8 and I waited until +10 to test him again. His morning plate still had about 1/4 of the food left.

I'll shoot near the sides of his belly tomorrow to see if that helps him.
His snacks have been Vitakitty -chicken. Given in the am before I leave for work at 6:00 a.m. and again after he eats his dinner and before I go to bed. I saw those dehydrated chicken breast treats for dogs and they were huge.

Yes it was only the 3rd cycle this am. I'm picking up some different LC food for him tomorrow, hopefully something he'll like.

I was so nervous about the results of the ketones because lets face it, it could (and I'm really surprised it wasn't) have been "large." Because he's been so high for so long.
How often should I test for Keytone's? That is when I can catch him in the act again. If I can do once a week, is that enough?

Honestly he's acting the same as when he was on the higher doses.
peeing - check - still large quantities, actually I think the clumps were smaller on the higher dose then they are since I did the "re-do."
pooping - check (back in Feb, we noticed him straining to poop and his anus looked inflammed or bigger - brought him to the vet and that is when he was dx with diabetes). He's been fine in that area since.
playing - sometimes
purring - check
preening - check
eating and still drinking a lot
His teeth need work, but the vet wants to wait until his numbers come down some more. She worried about putting him under and endangering his life.
I've also read about adding a bit of water to the food and I've been doing that this whole week.
He might be a gulper but I think it was a positive move to start over when I did, so now we don't have to go there again - hopefully??? Well I guess you never know what the future holds.
Thanks everyone, I really appreciate the questions and suggestions and positive thoughts.
 
I agree you needed to see, but he should probably ramp back up as quickly as possible, and keep an eagle eye out for ketones and other signs of trouble (peeing outside the box, not eating, sitting in meatloaf or frog legged, hind leg weakness, decreased bowel output, cloudy eyes etc).

Test for ketones when you can, when you see him headed for the LB. You never know when you will catch him again.

the decreased pee, was when he was better regulated. The increased thirst/pee is to help flush the high glucose, which makes them dehydrated, and then constipated.

and the spiky fur, I think is common to being unregulated- but I'm not sure, and Cody did not fast before his test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top