9/17 KittenCat AMPS #93 OTJ trial day1/ +4 87, +7 73

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Jenifer, Sep 17, 2020.

  1. Jenifer

    Jenifer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  2. Jenifer

    Jenifer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    @Wendy&Neko i forgot to tag you on the above question :D
     
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That drop under 50 I think told you it’s time for a trial. I’ll get you the directions. In tge meantime change your title to say OTJ Trial Day 1. Good luck!
     
    Jenifer likes this.
  4. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm not sure. Those blues still concern me. @tiffmaxee I don't see a drop under 50 on the current dose. Where do you see that?
     
  5. Jenifer

    Jenifer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    The blues and even the yellow from earlier this week all follow a low number that we then pumped her full of carbs to bring her #’s up. Idk if it actually works that way but that’s what I’ve noticed at least.
     
  6. Jenifer

    Jenifer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    And yeah, the drop was on the .1 dose. Lowest she’s got on current dose is 54
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    My bad. That was the previous dose. How about not propping her up and let her fall to earn the trial?
     
  8. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    But

    But 54 is a reduction on SLGS. I stand by letting her earn it. What do you think?
     
  9. Jenifer

    Jenifer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    I left for work before I got any of your responses so I did not give her any insulin. So I guess we're doing an OTJ trial! My husband is home and can test her throughout the day.
    Unrelated question, do you guys do the ear poke on the inside or the outside of the ear? I've been doing the inside but I found out last night that my husband has been poking the outside. And does it actually matter?
     
  10. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    I've done both sides. It is personal (or cat) preference, I believe.
    Happy day one!:D
     
    Jenifer likes this.
  11. Jenifer

    Jenifer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    Thanks! It looks like it's more painful on the outside than the inside, just going off the marks leftover on her ear but apparently she tolerates it just fine for him. He did tell me last night when I got home that he got his first "gusher" yesterday and got blood everywhere! :oops: He didn't know that was a thing so it kind of freaked him out :D
     
    Butters & Lyla likes this.
  12. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Good luck on day 1!

    Cosmo doesn’t tolerate the inside of the ear, I think it’s uncomfortable for him, so we always do the outside...and we also get the occasional gusher :facepalm:
     
    Jenifer likes this.
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Si am cat mom and Jenifer like this.
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I poked from the inside.
     
    Jenifer likes this.
  15. Jenifer

    Jenifer Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2020
    I measured the drop by using a syringe and colored liquid and counting the drops in the dose that was basically half of .1 I had previously been giving her. It equals out to about 1 drop of insulin.
     
  16. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I've poked both the inside and outside of the ear, but find it easier to do the outside of the ear.
     

Share This Page