9/17 Ivy amps 400, +4.75 108, +5 232, +8 177, pmps 321, +.50 172, +1 304, +2 267, +4.5 56 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-214-pmps-400-323-3-75-248-6-74-libre.281626/
400 amps, starting the day red again.
Ivy dropped under 100 (on Libre) last night around +6. (Stayed up until past 1 am till she came back up)

I thought I could get a little sleep, but she showed me who’s the boss. :arghh:
Guess she will come down again in about an hour or so. My little bouncy drama Queen wants to be front & center of this house.
Have a safe Sunday.
 
Racing down, then bouncing up the ladder today.
+4.75 108 then bounced up to 232 at +5
Watching on her Libre. I’m tired just watching. She’s just napping through it all.
 
She’s bouncing from the higher carbs.
Really? It’s what I normally give her at this time of day. It’s her regular lamb 12.5% diet.
I’m holding off changing more of her carbs to lower carbs until she steadies on this dose. (I had begun to lower her carb recipe then increased her dose to 3 units).

Both you and @Bron and Sheba (GA) suggested I only change 1 thing at a time.
So I have held off changing more of the diet to lower 9.25%. She’s been extremely active on this dose, drops low then bounces up next cycle.

What do you suggest I do then? Thanks.
 
Wouldn’t that have something to do with it?

correct that a sharp drop will trigger a bounce but I think that by feeding the 12.5% which we at FDMB consider medium carb, throughout the cycles is also contributing to the bouncing. It seems that the MC food is shortening the duration of the insulin instead of keeping Ivy coasting in healing numbers.
I know I must sound like a broken record and I apologize if it seems I'm belaboring my point, but I think Ivy would have less volatile and flatter cycles if you lowered her overall carbs and would result in her having to receive less insulin. BTW, did you check the libre reading of 74 from last night with a handheld meter?

I would save the 12.5% to prevent a steep drop and/or bring her up if she's low per SLGS. And seeing how she likes a good dive at onset, I might try to prevent that drop by feeding the 12.5% at +2ish and keeping to the 6% and 9.25% recipes for the remainder of the cycle.

Both you and @Bron and Sheba (GA) suggested I only change 1 thing at a time.
So I have held off changing more of the diet to lower 9.25%. She’s been extremely active on this dose, drops low then bounces up next cycle.

I went back and read that condo and what was suggested was that you continue to reduce the overall carbs and not worry too much about the increase because of how close you monitor her with the Libre.

Although I stand behind this post, I would NOT change anything until after Ivy's appointments on Tuesday.
 
I agree with Angela. Feeding mc is most likely contributing to her jumping up too soon and a possibility of cutting duration. I said one change at a time but by that I meant lower the carbs first. I feel by feeding so much mc it’s harder to make progress.
 
correct that a sharp drop will trigger a bounce but I think that by feeding the 12.5% which we at FDMB consider medium carb, throughout the cycles is also contributing to the bouncing. It seems that the MC food is shortening the duration of the insulin instead of keeping Ivy coasting in healing numbers.
I know I must sound like a broken record and I apologize if it seems I'm belaboring my point, but I think Ivy would have less volatile and flatter cycles if you lowered her overall carbs and would result in her having to receive less insulin. BTW, did you check the libre reading of 74 from last night with a handheld meter?

I would save the 12.5% to prevent a steep drop and/or bring her up if she's low per SLGS. And seeing how she likes a good dive at onset, I might try to prevent that drop by feeding the 12.5% at +2ish and keeping to the 6% and 9.25% recipes for the remainder of the cycle.



I went back and read that condo and what was suggested was that you continue to reduce the overall carbs and not worry too much about the increase because of how close you monitor her with the Libre.

Although I stand behind this post, I would NOT change anything until after Ivy's appointments on Tuesday.
Hi Angela, I completely agree with what you said and we were trying to slowly transition her to the 9.25% recipe and see how she dies on that. However, when I increased her dose to 3 units, the agreement was that I shouldn’t be increasing any further until she is transferred to the 9.25%.

So I wanted to hold the line on more changes in diet till she adjusts to 3units.
Ivy takes her time to settle into a dose.
After her vet appointments on Tuesday, I will resume the transition to lowering carbs to 9.25%. And then assess.

If all goes well, we can then slowly start the process of going down to 6% again (where she began, her original recipe).

And please don’t apologize for anything. I appreciate all of your insight and for taking the time to suggest and inform me. Many thanks.
I did not double check the 74 Libre last night since I thought she was going to drop further and I was saving my pokes for when she hit low Libre 60s or 50s. Those are typically when the numbers show she’s truly under 100 on the handheld meter.
But she didn’t end up dropping more, she then bounced up.
There will be a next time I expect. :bighug:
 
I agree with Angela. Feeding mc is most likely contributing to her jumping up too soon and a possibility of cutting duration. I said one change at a time but by that I meant lower the carbs first. I feel by feeding so much mc it’s harder to make progress.
I see what you are saying. Unfortunately I increased her dose and now I’m kind of stuck with this higher dose and higher carbs.

I must have misunderstood when I was posting asking about an increase and I believe it was suggested to increase, since her overall numbers could use improvement and to follow SLGS. So I increased.
Then I was advised not to change more than 1 thing at a time. So here I am. :banghead:
Partially changed some meals to lower carb with an increased dose of insulin.
 
I agree with Angela. Feeding mc is most likely contributing to her jumping up too soon and a possibility of cutting duration. I said one change at a time but by that I meant lower the carbs first. I feel by feeding so much mc it’s harder to make progress.
So the question now is how do I proceed and safely lower her carbs while on this higher dose? many suggestions? Thanks.
 
The only green I see is with the Libre and as you know that’s a half hour ago from what it says as it often reads low.
 
Pmps 321
+.50 172 (yikes)
Ivy began dropping within 15 minutes. I’m kind of freaked out. Never seen her drop so fast.

***I sure hope I didn’t accidentally give a higher dose than intended.
Is there any reason she would drop so fast otherwise?
 
Last edited:
She bounced up to 330 on (Libre) the 304 at +1 then began to drop again down to 256.
Bouncing up and down right now. Will give small snack at +2.
The only green I see is with the Libre and as you know that’s a half hour ago from what it says as it often reads low.
So what are you saying then?
 
Back
Top