9/17 Ivy AMBG 236, +3 178, +6 223, +9 216, Pmps 283, +2 116 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
9/16/24
AMBG 236
No shot (for fasting and labs at vet this morning at +4)

Sleepy kitty due to sedation from last night. Will give more soon. Claw trim done before we go today.
Was able to get a urine sample last night at Pmps just in case.
Tried again this morning but I had the cup positioned badly under her butt and missed the stream :banghead:

Will take the urine I have in hopes it will be ok.
Wish us luck today;)
Hope she behaves and it’s an easy visit with good results.
Have a safe day everyone :cat:
 
Hi Staci,
Not a bad start after a half dose cycle. :)
Great job trimming her claws! Nice to be able to do that! (I have to be super-opportunistic!)
Good luck with the vet visit. Always stressful event.
Hoping for the better blood levels for Ivy.
I'll be thinking of you and Ivy today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
Not a bad start after a half dose cycle. :)
Great job trimming her claws! Nice to be able to do that! (I have to be super-opportunistic!)
Good luck with the vet visit. Always stressful event.
Hoping for the better blood levels for Ivy.
I'll be thinking of you and Ivy today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I know, Kit. Interesting in that she’s actually come down since AMBG this morning. :rolleyes:Interesting with that half dose last night and a skip this morning, at the moment has her lower than she was all night. I assume at some point she’ll start to climb and of course the goal will be to get a full dose into her at dinner time.
Luckily she was a little bit groggy this morning from the sedation so I was able to get the nail trim in. I wanted to make sure to do that before we go to the vet so she doesn’t do any harm to anyone. Hope you guys have a great day.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good luck with today's vet visit - I'm hoping you get better numbers for her! :bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Alicia. She did very well today. So relieved. Much better than the last vet who seems like they couldn't handle her and always wanted to give injection sedation on top of the gaba and trazodone.
This office seems to be fine with just what I give her. (Whew). Makes a huge difference in her recovery.
Hope Kit is having a safe day :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

so glad to read everything went well! Good girl Ivy! :cat: I had to smile about how you collect the urine. I do it the same. One try at night - so I already have something - and another try in the morning to get something "fresh".

I think her curve does not look bad at all for no insulin and I hope she comes back on track soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Now all fingers and paws are crossed for a good result!

I hope you can relax a bit today. I'm sure it was quite stressful. I send you a hug! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

so glad to read everything went well! Good girl Ivy! :cat: I had to smile about how you collect the urine. I do it the same. One try at night - so I already have something - and another try in the morning to get something "fresh".

I think her curve does not look bad at all for no insulin and I hope she comes back on track soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Now all fingers and paws are crossed for a good result!

I hope you can relax a bit today. I'm sure it was quite stressful. I send you a hug! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
Hi Heike, She was a good girl (from what they told me).
I'm glad to hear you do the same urine routine, I always figure that just in case I can't get one in the morning, at least I have one to take. They said it should be fine (and the tech was amazed I had no problem capturing the urine so well, lol).

I'm always curious how the next few cycles will be after a reduced and skipped dose. Sometimes I thing she goes green (her body may feel like she got a increase since she has had half dose and then no dose).
So tomorrow could be dicey - or even tonight. :rolleyes:
I'm always happy to get back to the regular routine.

Wishing you and Binie a zen night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci :)
Good luck with the vet visit today. And hopefully everything will be well and you'll get good results - what are you going to test?
Great that you took to opportunity to cut her claws. With Fistuk it's very easy, I sit him on my laps and sing to him and cut his claws. He's got one that curls into the flesh. He pulled it out when we moved from Italy to Switzerland. He was so distressed on the drive and kept on pulling at the cage door until it bled so badly. Now I need to make sure I cut it in time before it touches the flesh or it's almost impossible to cut it.
I'll be thinking of you and check in for updates.
Sending you much love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, She was a good girl (from what they told me).
I'm glad to hear you do the same urine routine, I always figure that just in case I can't get one in the morning, at least I have one to take. They said it should be fine (and the tech was amazed I had no problem capturing the urine so well, lol).

I'm always curious how the next few cycles will be after a reduced and skipped dose. Sometimes I thing she goes green (her body may feel like she got a increase since she has had half dose and then no dose).
So tomorrow could be dicey - or even tonight. :rolleyes:
I'm always happy to get back to the regular routine.

Wishing you and Binie a zen night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci,

is this the normal routine in the US, that they take the cat to another room for taking blood or other treatments? I read that a lot and I never experienced that at the vet in Germany. Just in the clinic where they did the iodine treatment, they did an x-ray in a separate room without me and I could hear her screaming three rooms away. :( I always feel Binie is more calm if I am with her. My vet showed me a point on Binies forehead I should massage, while she is taking blood. She is always getting calmer if I am doing it. I think I would freak out if they bring Binie to another room. :rolleyes: Maybe Ivy would be calmer having you close?

Funny story from the waiting room: At my vet I met a middle aged couple with their cat waiting. I just said to them that it's nice, that both are coming and taking care. Then the woman told me, that her husband refuses to join them in the treatment room, because he thinks that it might ruin his relationship to the cat. He wants to stay the "good one" while the cat might get angry about her. This left me speechless....:p

I hope Ivy is responding well but not too extreme to the dose tonight and tomorrow. You really know her so well! Amazing!

I send you a hug! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, She was a good girl (from what they told me).
I'm glad to hear you do the same urine routine, I always figure that just in case I can't get one in the morning, at least I have one to take. They said it should be fine (and the tech was amazed I had no problem capturing the urine so well, lol).

I'm always curious how the next few cycles will be after a reduced and skipped dose. Sometimes I thing she goes green (her body may feel like she got a increase since she has had half dose and then no dose).
So tomorrow could be dicey - or even tonight. :rolleyes:
I'm always happy to get back to the regular routine.
So glad you and Ivy are home and getting back to your normal routine, and I hope her BG gets back on track soon. I had to laugh at the image of you collecting the urine sample. I got Chispa one of those "senior" litterboxes to make things easier for her, but she just tinkles over the edge. Collecting a urine sample would be a breeze!:rolleyes: A couple of times I've caught her putting only her front paws in and then peeing -- like "I made it to the finish line!" The floor around her litterbox is generously papered with pee pads, extending about five feet in both directions. It's a lovely addition to the decor, let me tell you.:joyful::smuggrin:
 
Hi Staci :)
Good luck with the vet visit today. And hopefully everything will be well and you'll get good results - what are you going to test?
Great that you took to opportunity to cut her claws. With Fistuk it's very easy, I sit him on my laps and sing to him and cut his claws. He's got one that curls into the flesh. He pulled it out when we moved from Italy to Switzerland. He was so distressed on the drive and kept on pulling at the cage door until it bled so badly. Now I need to make sure I cut it in time before it touches the flesh or it's almost impossible to cut it.
I'll be thinking of you and check in for updates.
Sending you much love :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly, we are testing her T4 to see if the dose of methimazole is working better since the increase a month ago. Plus they will check other values while at it (kidney, liver, etc).
I cut her nails every 2 weeks of so. They Grow quickly but are thick now so I try to keep them under control. And I always try to cut before a vet Appointment so she can’t hurt anyone.
Poor Fistuk. That sounds so painful what happened to his claw. I’m glad you can keep it under control for him.
I hope you are all doing well. Sending you hugs and love back to you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,

is this the normal routine in the US, that they take the cat to another room for taking blood or other treatments? I read that a lot and I never experienced that at the vet in Germany. Just in the clinic where they did the iodine treatment, they did an x-ray in a separate room without me and I could hear her screaming three rooms away. :( I always feel Binie is more calm if I am with her. My vet showed me a point on Binies forehead I should massage, while she is taking blood. She is always getting calmer if I am doing it. I think I would freak out if they bring Binie to another room. :rolleyes: Maybe Ivy would be calmer having you close?

Funny story from the waiting room: At my vet I met a middle aged couple with their cat waiting. I just said to them that it's nice, that both are coming and taking care. Then the woman told me, that her husband refuses to join them in the treatment room, because he thinks that it might ruin his relationship to the cat. He wants to stay the "good one" while the cat might get angry about her. This left me speechless....:p

I hope Ivy is responding well but not too extreme to the dose tonight and tomorrow. You really know her so well! Amazing!

I send you a hug! :bighug::kiss::bighug:
Hi Heike, Unfortunately they all seem to take her out of the room to do the labs. I would rather be there too but they don’t seem to want us there. I have to give them a whole list of do and don’t with Ivy. (They must think I’m a nutty overbearing parent). Oh well.

That is a funny story of the couple at the vet. My husband never goes with me. Ivy is my department.
I’ve made him go a few times when I felt it was very serious and I wanted him there. (Sometimes my son will go with me for extra support).

You are very lucky they let you be there to calm Binie down I think that’s a better way to manage her care!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So glad you and Ivy are home and getting back to your normal routine, and I hope her BG gets back on track soon. I had to laugh at the image of you collecting the urine sample. I got Chispa one of those "senior" litterboxes to make things easier for her, but she just tinkles over the edge. Collecting a urine sample would be a breeze!:rolleyes: A couple of times I've caught her putting only her front paws in and then peeing -- like "I made it to the finish line!" The floor around her litterbox is generously papered with pee pads, extending about five feet in both directions. It's a lovely addition to the decor, let me tell you.:joyful::smuggrin:
Hi Karen, that’s a funny story of peeing just over the line. She’s so adorable.
I can imagine the surrounding pee pads. But you gotta do what works!
Ivy likes to throw her litter so it goes everywhere. I’m constantly sweeping the area near her boxes. I think she believes she’s burying precious goods under that litter :rolleyes:

Cats :p
 
I am glad it went well today Staci. I was thinking of you both today. Our vet used to take Tiger to the back too but we told them we would rather they just do the blood draw there with us (for Tigers sake) they never questioned it. You might politely suggest it to them. I don’t like not seeing what they are doing behind closed doors…..

I hope you get things back to normal quickly and smoothly. Have a wonderful evening.
 
I am glad it went well today Staci. I was thinking of you both today. Our vet used to take Tiger to the back too but we told them we would rather they just do the blood draw there with us (for Tigers sake) they never questioned it. You might politely suggest it to them. I don’t like not seeing what they are doing behind closed doors…..

I hope you get things back to normal quickly and smoothly. Have a wonderful evening.
Awww. Thanks, Deb. I appreciate the good vibes. I like your suggestion. I will ask next time if I can be present. Good idea.

My last vet office tried to let me stay when I asked but then they “needed better lighting” in the other room and then took her away after I made a request to be present.

I’ll try again with this practice and see what happens. I too would rather be in the room.
Hope you have a good night. Hugs to sweet Tiger :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci.
Glad it went well at today's vet visit.
I hope you both have a calm night and surf safely!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Madeline. I appreciate your checking in. I’m so glad today is behind us.
Now I need her to eat her snacks since her bg is dropping and she’s not too hungry :arghh:
Hugs to you and Butch:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, Unfortunately they all seem to take her out of the room to do the labs. I would rather be there too but they don’t seem to want us there. I have to give them a whole list of do and don’t with Ivy. (They must think I’m a nutty overbearing parent). Oh well.

That is a funny story of the couple at the vet. My husband never goes with me. Ivy is my department.
I’ve made him go a few times when I felt it was very serious and I wanted him there. (Sometimes my son will go with me for extra support).

You are very lucky they let you be there to calm Binie down I think that’s a better way to manage her care!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci,
I am sorry, they don't let you be with her while they do the labs. :( I would definitely write a list too. And maybe they are greatful for it. I made a list like that for the catsitter, who injects if I have to work late. First time I apologized for it but she told me, that she was super happy with it and would hope, that everyone would do that. :)

So happy you can ask your son or your husband to come with you if it is necessary. It's helpful to have two more ears to listen. If I go alone, I sometimes take notes, because I tend to forget things when I am nervous. I am sure they find this strange but that's how it is. My friend always says: "You go there to help Binie, not to make friends." and "They are specialized in treating cats. You will not be the only crazy cat lady they deal with." :smuggrin:

Hope you have a relaxed day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci,
I am sorry, they don't let you be with her while they do the labs. :( I would definitely write a list too. And maybe they are greatful for it. I made a list like that for the catsitter, who injects if I have to work late. First time I apologized for it but she told me, that she was super happy with it and would hope, that everyone would do that. :)

So happy you can ask your son or your husband to come with you if it is necessary. It's helpful to have two more ears to listen. If I go alone, I sometimes take notes, because I tend to forget things when I am nervous. I am sure they find this strange but that's how it is. My friend always says: "You go there to help Binie, not to make friends." and "They are specialized in treating cats. You will not be the only crazy cat lady they deal with." :smuggrin:

Hope you have a relaxed day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I agree completely Heike. I also go in with a notepad and make notes.
I also take a printed list of all of her supplements and dosages and hand it to them each time. That way we don’t have to go down the list and waste time with them putting it all in the computer. They just scan my list. (They love it when I hand it to them)

Your friend is absolutely right about not needing to be their friend. We are there for our cats. And yes, we are crazy cat ladies. Strong and proud :cat::cat::cat::cat:
 
I agree completely Heike. I also go in with a notepad and make notes.
I also take a printed list of all of her supplements and dosages and hand it to them each time. That way we don’t have to go down the list and waste time with them putting it all in the computer. They just scan my list. (They love it when I hand it to them)

Your friend is absolutely right about not needing to be their friend. We are there for our cats. And yes, we are crazy cat ladies. Strong and proud :cat::cat::cat::cat:

Such a good idea with the list! I will copy that, thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top