9/17 Harry AMPS 76, +5 =261 +7 =263 +10 =292 PMPS=291

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erika&Harrycat

Member Since 2015
Just tested AMPS 76. Just switched to Lantus last night. Is it ok to feed and shoot?

Short intro post in LL

Hypo post

[AMPS 118, NO SHOT +1 177, +4 279, +6 261, +8 263, +10 310, PMPS 334 ON NOVOLIN ] [ON LANTUS units 1]

Went HYPO last night. Didn't shoot since he was under 200 this morning.
Just started Lantus tonight at 6pm
Have a wonderful evening!

Hope I did this right.
 
Last edited:
Background post when 3 times/day on Novolin and had hypo

Short intro post in LL

Welcome Erika!! Glad to see you over here!

Each day, you start a new post...we call them condo's and in the subject line, you put the date, name and AMPS number...as the day goes on and you get more tests in, you just "edit" the subject line and add those results (You did this one perfect except the numbers were from when he wasn't on Lantus yet, but that's OK for now)

In the body of the message, first put the link to your prior days post so people can quickly go back and see what's been going on. Then you put the "WCR" (Whole Cat Report)...how Harry is feeling, how he's eating, the 5 "p's" (peeing, pooping, playing, purring and preening)

Ask any questions you have too as well as adding any little information you think is important for us to get to know Harry better

Look forward to seeing you and Harry here!
 
Last edited:
Welcome aboard Erika and handsome Harry :cat: well done on the switch to lantus - much more cat suitable :) you will require patience pants while he adjusts and finds his dose but I'm sure you'll end up being much happier with it. The other huge benefit is that you get to join our lantus/levemir family :) There is endless knowledge and support to be found here and it is given so willingly so please take advantage by raising any concerns that you have and asking as many questions as you like.
 
I wouldn't give insulin with a 76 reading on the first day of lantus as you don't have enough data to know what the response will be. Hopefully more experienced members will answer your question shortly as I don't give dosing advice. Usually you don't shoot below 200 or 150 when starting out on lantus but I can't remember now which it is. I can check that for you now. I will tag some more experienced members and see if they are online to assist. @purrdydolly @Vyktors Mum @Chris & China @julie & punkin (ga) @Sienne and Gabby @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba
 
I wouldn't give insulin with a 76 reading on the first day of lantus as you don't have enough data to know what the response will be. Hopefully more experienced members will answer your question shortly as I don't give dosing advice. Usually you don't shoot below 200 or 150 when starting out on lantus but I can't remember now which it is. I can check that for you now. I will tag some more experienced members and see if they are online to assist. @purrdydolly @Vyktors Mum @Chris & China @julie & punkin (ga) @Sienne and Gabby @Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba
Yes! I thought so... And I'm not feeding him either but poor guy is super hungry...
 
Yes! I thought so... And I'm not feeding him either but poor guy is super hungry...
It is hard when they are hungry and you can't feed them. But you don't have enough data to know the response to shooting a green number. If you are following the tight regulation protocol you will gradually shoot at lower numbers whilst observing the response to each number you shoot and you will need to monitor closely whilst doing this. For example you might say at first no insulin if pre-shot is under 200 then work your way down to shooting at lower numbers whilst monitoring. I will post the links with this information soon.
 
Hi Erica, welcome!
I believe that the "do not shoot below" number for a new diabetic is 150. I'm not sure what to tell you, since you have no data on Harry's use of Lantus. My suggestion would be to skip (as per the protocol):

"Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?

A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine. Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher. Keep in mind that these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's reactions to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then your experience should be your guide."

When you skip a shot you can feed. It is only when you are stalling when you are not supposed to feed, because food will influence the bg number. Do spend some time today reading the "Stickies". They are full of important information about how to proceed with Lantus.

Welcome to you and Harry,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. What dose will you be giving?
 
He's rising but because he's only had one dose (ie depot has barely started to fill) and got to such lovely numbers already and we don't yet know his reactions to lantus I'd be inclined to skip this morning. You're probably going to see a yucky high number tonight but better safe than sorry. You're probably going to want to restart at a lower dose tonight too.
 
Hi Erica, welcome!
I believe that the "do not shoot below" number for a new diabetic is 150. I'm not sure what to tell you, since you have no data on Harry's use of Lantus. My suggestion would be to skip (as per the protocol):

"Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?

A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines. Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin. Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value. Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine. Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher. Keep in mind that these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's reactions to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then your experience should be your guide."

When you skip a shot you can feed. It is only when you are stalling when you are not supposed to feed, because food will influence the bg number. Do spend some time today reading the "Stickies". They are full of important information about how to proceed with Lantus.

Welcome to you and Harry,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. What dose will you be giving?


Thanks Ella!
Yes, he's very hungry. Planning on reading and reading today! Thank you!
Last night I gave him 1unit. Don't know if I should keep it there or lower.
 
He's rising but because he's only had one dose (ie depot has barely started to fill) and got to such lovely numbers already and we don't yet know his reactions to lantus I'd be inclined to skip this morning. You're probably going to see a yucky high number tonight but better safe than sorry. You're probably going to want to restart at a lower dose tonight too.
Sounds good!! Thank you! My cat is yowling his head off at me!! Lol
 
For future reference - when you see a big drop at +2 like you saw last night that means pay extra attention. Chances are Harry went pretty low last night so he may well bounce today. If you grab a test and post for advice 2-3 hours before his shot is due tonight you can confirm a new dose. At the moment I'd be thinking .5 units but let's see what others have to say.

So much for needing patience pants for good numbers, some kitties delight in proving us wrong!
 
For future reference - when you see a big drop at +2 like you saw last night that means pay extra attention. Chances are Harry went pretty low last night so he may well bounce today. If you grab a test and post for advice 2-3 hours before his shot is due tonight you can confirm a new dose. At the moment I'd be thinking .5 units but let's see what others have to say.

So much for needing patience pants for good numbers, some kitties delight in proving us wrong!

Ok thanks! I'll make sure to get those tests in today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top