9/17 Chino|AMPS=322|+4=129|+5=70|+6=50|+7=52|+8=67|PMPS=364|+2=437|+4=353|+6=208

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

I gave the first dose of Levemir this morning. In retrospect, I should've gotten a +2, but I went back to bed, expecting the Levemir onset to be the same or later than the Lantus onset. :banghead: I think this is the fastest I've ever seen him drop during the day without the use of R. He's eating his 2nd meal now. Next check at +5.
 
Beenie had quite a fast "reaction" to Levemir too! Not sure but it seems like the high dosers seem to do pretty well on Lev. Can't wait to see what the rest of the cycle brings:woot:
 
Wow, I wasn't expecting that!

I was. He dropped an average of 50 mg/dL per hour for the first 4 hours, and if it took 2 hours to start working then he'd be dropping at a rate of 100 mg/dL per hour. So a drop of 60 in one hour was right on target. He might be coming down from a bounce, which could explain part of why he dropped so much so quickly, but I'm going to reduce to 11.5 on the next cycle.

AMPS = 322 (1st meal LC 3%)
[1st cycle on 12 units of Levemir]
+4 = 129 (2nd meal LC 3%)
+5 = 70 (2 tsp HC 20% gravy)
+5.5 = 54 (same)

Next check at +6.
 
AMPS = 322 (1st meal LC 3%)
[1st cycle on 12 units of Levemir]
+4 = 129 (2nd meal LC 3%)
+5 = 70 (2 tsp HC 20% gravy)
+5.5 = 54 (same)
+6 = 50 (3 tsp HC meat/gravy)
 
AMPS = 322 (1st meal LC 3%)
[1st cycle on 12 units of Levemir]
+4 = 129 (2nd meal LC 3%)
+5 = 70 (2 tsp HC 20% gravy)
+5.5 = 54 (same)
+6 = 50 (3 tsp HC meat/gravy)
+6.5 = 54 (same)

Good thing I recently ordered more test strips... there's just about 1 tsp left in the can. If he's above 60 at the next check, I'll give it and test again in an hour.
 
It's hard to say if it's a super marked response to Levemir and/or the Lantus depot. He'll likely bounce eventually just from that drop. Hopefully he'll surf now.
 
I've seen some Lev kitties onset around +3, they do like to be unpredicatable. :cat: I wouldn't have gotten a +2, but maybe a +3.

Jack had a similar marked response to Lev. Which is why we suggest starting on a reduced dose. If you can keep monitoring, I'd hold the dose. It could be the Lantus talking but even when we've seen the marked initial response, it usually doesn't hold. I might wait to see if he bounces so you can get some night time sleep, before deciding what to do.

Are most of the stores open in Tampa? Can you easily get more HC?
 
AMPS = 322 (1st meal LC 3%)
[1st cycle on 12 units of Levemir]
+4 = 129 (2nd meal LC 3%)
+5 = 70 (2 tsp HC 20% gravy)
+5.5 = 54 (same)
+6 = 50 (3 tsp HC meat/gravy)
+6.5 = 54 (same)
+7 = 52 (1 tsp HC, 3 dry treats, 3 gtt Karo)

Are most of the stores open in Tampa? Can you easily get more HC?

I'm on call until 8 AM tomorrow, unless no one steps up to cover call for the co-worker who takes Mondays but is on PTO... in which case I'll be on call until 8 AM on Wednesday. But I have 3 cans of HC left and plenty of MC.

If you can keep monitoring, I'd hold the dose. It could be the Lantus talking but even when we've seen the marked initial response, it usually doesn't hold. I might wait to see if he bounces so you can get some night time sleep, before deciding what to do.

Thanks! Right now I'm just hoping to get him to where I can safely go a full hour between checks!
 
AMPS = 322 (1st meal LC 3%)
[1st cycle on 12 units of Levemir]
+4 = 129 (2nd meal LC 3%)
+5 = 70 (2 tsp HC 20% gravy)
+5.5 = 54 (same)
+6 = 50 (3 tsp HC meat/gravy)
+6.5 = 54 (same)
+7 = 52 (1 tsp HC, 3 dry treats, 3 gtt Karo)
+7.5 = 59 (3 dry treats* w/3 gtt Karo)

*Ingredients: salmon, whitefish, dried peas, dried potato.

If the +8 is between 60 and 70, I'll repeat and test again at +9.
 
AMPS = 322 (1st meal LC 3%)
[1st cycle on 12 units of Levemir]
+4 = 129 (2nd meal LC 3%)
+5 = 70 (2 tsp HC 20% gravy)
+5.5 = 54 (same)
+6 = 50 (3 tsp HC meat/gravy)
+6.5 = 54 (same)
+7 = 52 (1 tsp HC, 3 dry treats, 3 gtt Karo)
+7.5 = 59 (3 dry treats w/3 gtt Karo)
+8 = 67 (same)

Next check at +9.
 
Looks like it's just been 1.5 hours since high carbs (karo). I would get a +10 in case those carbs wear off. No more carbs now.
 
I found that if Neko was on her way up to preshot, the +2 test didn't tell me much. Chino still hasn't onset yet and we don't know when he does onset on Lev yet.
 
I found that if Neko was on her way up to preshot, the +2 test didn't tell me much. Chino still hasn't onset yet and we don't know when he does onset on Lev yet.

If he bounces on Levemir the same way he bounces on Lantus, he might just go up or stay flat the whole cycle and I still won't know when the onset is tomorrow morning. I would love to see his BG start to go down on its own, but I don't want to leave him in the 400's all night if it doesn't... If he's still above 400 at +6, would it be safe to give R at that time?
 
If he's still above 400 at +6, would it be safe to give R at that time?
The same principles of R apply - you don't want the R nadir and the Lev nadir to coincide. We don't know Chino's Lev nadir yet, but typically it's at +8. Typical R nadir is +2, making +6 not a good choice. At least until we know more about Chino on Lev.
 
+6 = 208!!!!! That's almost 150 in 2 hours. Next check at +7. If I have to open another can of HC, he's getting a reduction in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top