9/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56,+8=160, +11=209, pmps=253

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, It's been a busy day!

Anne&Muffin said:
Wow, crazy morning for you guys! Great job Jaye!

I'm exhausted! :-D

It looks like the Karo is starting to wear off. At +5 we're back down to 151. Hopefully the food he had will keep him from dropping too far but I'll check again at +5.5.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, It's been a busy day!

As to rapid reductions - it takes Shadow a good 6 cycles (3 days) to settle into a new dose. I've learned not to base a dose change on just one day's data. But you don't know that kind of stuff until you've been testing a while and I think the protocol calls for it to done that way on purpose. Our vet had worked us up to a pretty high dose as well and when I finally started asking questions around here, it was decided that the best thing for Shadow was to cut her dose in half and test diligently and see where she levelled off. She still gets a lot more per dose than a bunch of these kitties but her numbers are just getting better and better. Patience is not my best thing. When we love our kitties like we do, we want them to feel better as fast as possible and I just have to remind myself "patience is a virtue."

See what the experts have to say about dose reductions when they come by later. Shadow and I are still pretty new ourselves and I don't give advice. I'm just a cheerleader. :RAHCAT

It has been a busy morning for you, you're doing great!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, It's been a busy day!

Good idea. I'll see if he'll eat soon. He's finally snoozing now.

I just checked out Shadow's profile. Yes, your dose was "up there," all right. I didn't post my spreadsheet while I was on the Lantus, but started it only when I started Levemir. Chester was up to 7.0 units 2x bid on Lantus and bouncing all over the place. It's nice to see him down to where other kitties are, for a change.
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, It's been a busy day!

I like Lev...but I was all over the place with him I am so sad to say...but now we are on track I think...
Jaye...when you get your next test, can you put it in your header so it's easy to see... like +6=whatever? Thank you...
glad to hear he is sleeping and not racing around for a change. :lol:
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, It's been a busy day!

Yup...

Just fed him again. I'm going to test at +6 (about 15 minutes). His poor little ears!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester's +12 (131) amps 182, It's been a busy day!

Dang! Even after more food he's still dropping. Now at +6 he's 127.

Suggestions?
 
Re: 9/17 Chester at +6 (127) amps 182, It's been a busy day!

Will he eat a tablespoon of HC gravy?
He ate the LC and my concern is to get ahead of the further drop...so even if his numbers are high later, you will know it's from the HC right?

that's why I always say "Never trust a surfing cat"....you have to watch them to make sure they don't go diving again....
 
Re: 9/17 Chester at +6 (127)+8 (160) amps 182,

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Will he eat a tablespoon of HC gravy?
He ate the LC and my concern is to get ahead of the further drop...so even if his numbers are high later, you will know it's from the HC right?

that's why I always say "Never trust a surfing cat"....you have to watch them to make sure they don't go diving again....
I'll give it a try. My vet had said more Karo...think that would be too much?

He ate the gravy. I'll test in 15 minutes or so again.

I REALLY want to lower the dose tonight!

+7 Surfing now at 127
+ 8 is now 160 (without more Karo)
 
Re: 9/17 Chester at +6 (127) +7 (127) amps 182

He earned his dosecrease .... your new dose is 2.0u.

Maybe see if he will take a little more LC at +9.
Then, he will fast until PMPS time so maybe the little extra LC will keep him in the nice blues.
Can you post your +11 tonight Jaye?


I think he is looking fine with just that HC....that turned him around again...
Surf Chester, Surf!! :mrgreen:

Did your test strips arrive yet?
 
Re: 9/17 Chester at +6 (127) +7 (127) amps 182

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
He earned his dosecrease .... your new dose is 2.0u.
I think we ALL earned Chester's dosecrease today! :-D

Maybe see if he will take a little more LC at +9.
Then, he will fast until PMPS time so maybe the little extra LC will keep him in the nice blues.
Can you post your +11 tonight Jaye?
Yes, definitely.
Did your test strips arrive yet?
Yes, thank goodness! Now I can prick his little ears 100 more times...and then again when the next batch arrives which I've already ordered. Never want to have to be counting strips like that again!

Thanks again so much for your help today!
 
Re: 9/17 Chester at +6 (127) +7 (127) amps 182

What a great feeling to have enough test strips....ahhhhh....I have a unopened box myself and I am in test strip heaven. With the Walmart brand, one can do that a little easier.
I am happy you already ordered another since Chester likes to keep you busy...(not too sure that will change so quickly in the near future.) :thumbup

Your header should/could read : 09/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56, +6=127, +8=160 see?

We leave the AMPS there for the day and add a few updates as we go along. You can put whatever numbers there you'd like but I like to put the ones that are outstanding in one way or another, kwim?
We then add the PMPS at the end....and take away some updates. We don't want the header to wrap around and take up two lines...
If someone looks quickly, they will see where he started and how far he dropped...then they will see that he is on the rise again.
(the way you have it now, it looks as if the PM cycle had that +6, and +7 and that you are now up to the AMPS for the day. Know what I mean?)

You really did a great job Jaye! And you have good data on how the karo works and you got good practice monitoring the surf...and retesting....very nice job! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/17 Chester at +6 (127) +7 (127) amps 182

Wow, Jaye you had some day and did great. I had to leave for a while, and your condo was the first I tuned to see how you and Chester were doing. You did great, and Pat is a great teacher. I can remember holding my breath waiting for my Alpha Trak Strips to arrive. It would always be at a time when I need to be testing a lot. I was nervous for you hoping your strips would arrive today. Take care and have yourself some ice cream or coffee or something good as you sure deserve it. Good luck with the dosecrease. :razz:
 
Re: 09/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56, +6=127, +8=160

Thanks...I was oblivious on how to title the thread, particularly with so many numbers. :-D

I don't want this to happen again tomorrow if I can help it. Do you think going down to 2.0 is enough? Really though, since he's only had two doses of 2.25 after his earlier dose of 2.5, going down to 2.0 is really almost like decreasing .5 at once, since the other dose was so short lived. That was clear as mud, I think!
 
Re: 09/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56, +6=127, +8=160

Thanks, but after this day I think something a tad stronger than ice cream is called for! :lol:
My husband, who works out of town during the week, will be home in a couple of hours to take over...just in time to help me give sub-Q fluids to one of my two CRF cats. ;-)
I guess I should be proud of myself for not using this smilie even once today. nailbite_smile
Off to do my +9 test.

+9 was 160. I'll offer another tbsp of food and let it go from there. Looks like he's surfing again.

I'm a bit worried that he won't be hungry come dinnertime.
 
Re: 09/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56, +6=127, +8=160

Jaye and Chester said:
Thanks...I was oblivious on how to title the thread, particularly with so many numbers. :-D

I don't want this to happen again tomorrow if I can help it. Do you think going down to 2.0 is enough? Really though, since he's only had two doses of 2.25 after his earlier dose of 2.5, going down to 2.0 is really almost like decreasing .5 at once, since the other dose was so short lived. That was clear as mud, I think!

Yes, that seems fine - I just looked at what Pat wrote above. I know; I can imagine you must be feeling exhausted. Too bad we can't fall asleep as quickly as our cats!!
 
Re: 09/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56, +6=127, +8=160

My vet is recommending a steeper drop in dosage tonight to 1.5 units. I'm not so sure I want to go quite that steep. I would be comfortable with 2 units. I would be even more comfortable with 1.75 units because I can't vouch for my ability to perfectly nail the inbetween doses, therefore his 2.25 this morning could have been closer to the 2 that I was going to drop to tonight. And if that's the case, it wouldn't really be a drop of hardly anything and tonight could be today all over again. :shock: I just don't get the feeling that he's rising on his own yet (without the extra food, I mean). Guess I'll wait until +11 and then +12 to make the decision.
 
Re: 09/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56, +6=127, +8=160

Your vet kinda prescribed the dose to begin with, correct?
And the .25u is technically what the dosecrease would be usually.....BUT
YOU have to be comfortable and Chester has to be safe. The .25u may not be appropriate now...so...

There will be dosing people on later who are very experienced with this and I think it would be great to discuss it with them...are you comfortable with that? They will take a look at your SS and if you have your +11 that would help. I will try to give them a heads up....what time is your PMPS and how many hours is that from now?
 
Re: 09/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56, +6=127, +8=160

There will be dosing people on later who are very experienced with this and I think it would be great to discuss it with them...are you comfortable with that?
Definitely.
What time is your PMPS and how many hours is that from now?
Normally at 5:00 p.m (almost exactly one hour from now) but now closer to 6:15 p.m. (2.25 hours) because of the late start this morning.
 
Re: 09/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56, +6=127, +8=160, +11=209

nice day today. Congrats on the dosecrease!

First, since you have time to make up, you should be able to shoot 1/2 hour or 45 minutes early, if you want. It looks like he's on his way up, and he's probably going to bounce so getting the insulin in early *might* help a bit with that.

Second, I wouldn't back down on the dose too far, as the vet suggested. This is the dose that gave Chester a breakthrough, and if you reduce too much you risk losing the momentum he just gained. He'll probably just go back to the 400's and 500's again.... You already reduced by 0.25 yesterday and you'll reduce by another 0.25 today. I *would* reduce further when you go out of town, for safety's sake, but I would like to let him run in these nice numbers until then, if he will do it. I suggest reducing to 2 units, but of course the final decision is yours.
 
Re: PM DOSE? 9/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56,+8=160, +11=209

Congratulations on your anniversary, Libby and Lucy!

If I feed/shoot now, it's actually very close to his normal time and wouldn't be a "late" shot...well, not TOO late.

I'm actually not going out of town (can't remember the last time I did!) My husband works out of town, but he is home tonight to help.

I'm just afraid of repeating another day like today tonight. I'll test him again now at +11.5 and see what we've got.

He just tested 253 at +11.5
 
Re: PM DOSE? 9/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56,+8=160, +11=209

Well, I compromised a bit and gave him a very skinny 2.0 units. Now I guess we'll just test again tonight and see how things fall. I do expect a bounce, though...almost forgot about that ugly probability. Frankly, I'm becoming a bit sleep deprives (seriously) and I'm finding myself having to check things 3 or 4 times before I do them. I almost just fed the dogs twice (and one is diabetic!)
 
Re: PM DOSE? 9/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56,+8=160, +11=209

Maybe take the dose question out of your header Jaye...
hope Chester will like his new dose ....
 
9/17 Chester AMPS=182, +3= 56,+8=160, +11=209, pmps 253

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Maybe take the dose question out of your header Jaye...
hope Chester will like his new dose ....

Oops! Thought I already did. Must have forgotten to hit "submit." Sleep deprivation is an interesting thing...
 
Great Job, Jaye!

Congratulations on the dosecrease!
Great job, today, Jaye. I know, I know, about how exciting/hard/all consuming this is. But, you're on your way to a healthier and better regulated kitty :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top