9/17 Checkers. 304+1..185+2..147+2.5..158+3..194+3.75

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
..helpyesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=25097
2.5u....new pen today.

Morning All.
Breffis eaten, water drunk, screen porch checked out, bean perplexed yet again.
Started new pen. Going to make appt for dental. I need answers.

He may have gotten into dry 12 hours ago. Doubt this number is from that, because he had gone down to 223 at +3 after the fact.
I need to read others' happy news, back after coffee's done:-D
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463

Morning Barb...this is the 7th day on this dose, correct?
Maybe someone will top by and suggest something...any chance of an update for your SS in the meantime? I know you are having troubles with that...but I was just wondering...
Is there a chance that he has been getting into dry regularly?

Come on Checkers....please get back to the blues again and don't be so skeered of them....you don't have to bounce this high after you see pretty numbers....You need to pay better attention in LTS boy.... Can you find some blues today? confused_cat
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463

Hoping for good #'s today for you both. :)

Pssttt... Hey Checkers... Iz ok to go lower... don't be frightened of dem lower #'s... See..? I can surfz da bluez... So can you... See you on da blue horizon, my fwiend! Come surfz wid me, ok? It'll be fun!
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463

I hope you get the answers you are looking if you do a dental ... hopefully starting a new pen will do the trick too! Have a great friday guys!
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411

No Pat, there's no chance of his getting into dry. Last night, was a stupid oversight. Explanation wouldn't make a difference.
I intend to raise dose, but I need to know why this is going on. Going to do dental as soon as possible to at least rule that out. I tried to do it last month, but he got that awful infection at the time.
Whether or not it helps his numbers, he still needs cleaning.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411

I'm not sure why you're perplexed. Checker's bouncing. Every time he has a blue, he bounces into the pinks or reds. I would wait until the bounce clears before increasing.

Also, could you update Checker's SS with last evening's shot and numbers?
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411

Hi Barb, I know how frustrating this must be for you. I hope that the dental will help clear this roadblock. In the meantime, hang in there. If he bounces every time he gets a blue, he needs to stay in school!!!

See you later, hopefully in blue again!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411

ah yeah - been through what you describe... I always wondered (sometimes still do) if Mannie was ever learning anything in LTS. Some kitties are just slow learners. I think too a dental would be a good thing - it should help with Checkers numbers.

So sorry for the reds. But I too think it's just a bounce, hopefully it will clear sooner than later, and back to those great numbers he had a few days back. It will get better.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411

If there is inflammation, that would explain the higher numbers Barb...I got Shadow for his second dental this year and then I was sure there was nothing brewing..
As long as he teeth were looked at and cleaned, I could then focused on the dosing....

So, I agree with you on that...although I do hate dentals so much, I know it is the best thing to do. I go through so much stress...and they do too...but then when it is over, I am so relieved...
When was his last dental?
Hope he brings himself down nicely today...Come on Checkers....
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411..+2/327

SS has been updated. We had bad storms last night and I had to unplug 'puter.

Sienne, I'm perplexed, because every preshot is red lately. I give small snack at every test, which seems to be every hour when I'm home. How can he bounce so high every day, just because he gets a couple of blue numbers!
What is the possibility that he is getting too much insulin, and his liver is fighting back? Seems to me, the more he gets, the higher his bg goes.

Pat, dental was in March, 6 months ago.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411..+2/327..+3/252

Mornin' Barb - I bet you are frustrated. After those nice numbers in the spring and now all that red. Hopefully he's on his way down now. Some good yellows.

C'mon Chex - we HATE that red.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411..+2/327..+3/252

Hey Barb, FWIW I think the new pen is what you need. The last pen was opened 7/25, correct? I was seeing the same sort of thing after 36 days on a pen. I know others can go longer on a pen, but that doesn't mean we all will...

Good luck!
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411..+2/327..+3/252

Laurie has an excellent point Barb...maybe some new insulin would do the trick...what do you think?
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411..+2/327..+3/252

((((((((((Barb)))))))))) He's on the way down already with nice even steps, but you could slow down a little Checkers. I hope the new pen does the trick, sometimes they last for a month sometimes longer. It's a good place to start. The dental is a good idea too. Could there be any hold over from that infection?
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers amps/463..;+1/411..+2/327.+3/252.+5/276

Laurie, you're right on the date of the pen. I had in my jouirnal that I opened it on 8/20, and didn't see the notaton that it was 3 weeks old. (semi-long story)
He is scheduled for dentistry next Wed. His teeth look yucky to me.

Michelle, I don't know why he drop fast, when he gets a snack every hour, unless he's napping.

Ann, he was already consistently high at the time he got sick. I had taken him for complete bloodwork the week before because of that. I believe that's where he picked up the infecton. His bloodwork was perfectly down the middle.
I wanted to do dental the following week, but couldn't because he got sick.

At +5, we're on our way up again. Had LC fancy feast snacks at test time, and boiled chicken at +4
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers..+7.5/422..vet visit

When Checkers was 422 @ +7.5, it was time for vet visit.
Had a long discussion about dosing, feeding, and daily activities. He has no fever, so we didn't do bloodwork to check white count. HIs venous bg was 430 at vet.
Doc who has known him for 11 of his 14 years, kept telling me how good he looks. He is sturdy, shiny, eats well, plays well.
I'm to raise dose to 3u, starting tonight, instead of the 2.75 that I was going to do.
If he hasn't responded by Monday I bring him in again. They have 24 hour emergency care if necessary.
He reminded me to keep my hypo kit handy.
So, tonite he gets a dosecrease.
I love this vet. He has 2 adult daughters, that have had diabetes since childhood, so he knows what I am feeling when I blubber.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers..+7.5/422..vet visit

best of luck with the dosecrease and the new pen, barb...you guys deserve a break.

celi
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers..+7.5/422..vet visit

I hope the new dose works for you guys ... I know how I feel when I see reds on mochas meter, I imagine it is same for everyone ... it's a sick feeling for me ....
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers..+7.5/422..vet visit

If his teeth look yucky to you, then I am concerned that there might be an infection brewing. That would raise the BGs so I am glad you are going to have the dental done, just sorry that bloodwork wasn't done today as well.

Keep a close eye on him with the new pen and the double increase Barb...I know you will....
(are you comfortable with such a big increase?) I am certainly not a vet, but I am just wondering how you feel about it...wish others would add their thoughts here.
It is up to you and your vet though....
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers..+7.5/422..vet visit

I'm confused.
Barb said:
Sienne, I'm perplexed, because every preshot is red lately. I give small snack at every test, which seems to be every hour when I'm home. How can he bounce so high every day, just because he gets a couple of blue numbers!
What is the possibility that he is getting too much insulin, and his liver is fighting back? Seems to me, the more he gets, the higher his bg goes.
Yes, a cat can bounce every day from a blue number. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. AND if you are feeding every hour, especially after nadir, the food is further propelling numbers upward as the insulin is wearing off.

On the one hand, you were questioning whether Checkers is getting too much insulin. An then you want to raise his dose by 0.5u even with blue nadirs. With a nadir in this range, the protocol recommends raising the dose by 0.25u. It's your decision how much to increase but you will need to be prepared to deal with low numbers if you are doubling the amount of the recommended increase.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. pmps/433..+1/304

Sienne, I never did understand exactly what 'bounce' is. He has not always bounced up to red numbers,just because he had a few blues....or green.
How can I let a bounce 'clear', if it always is going to soar back up again after a blue?
I intended to raise to 2.75, but doc wanted it upped to 3u, at least until Mon, to see if he responds. I decided to try.
deleted unimportant stuff.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. pmps/433..+1/304

If everybody is not too disgusted with me, could I please get some much needed advice.
I screwed up, listening to the vet!!!
I KNEW to raise only a quarter of a unit. I mentioned that to him several times and he insisted to raise it to 3 units.
Now Checkers is dropping too fast and I messed up so bad. I can't stop crying, because I knew better.
Please don't turn your backs on me......I am so sorry I listened to the doctor, instead of what I knew to do.he was
433 pmps.....gave 3u...up from 2.5
304 @+1
185@ +2.......i gave a teas gravy food to slow the drop
147 half hour after gravy

now what should I do?.......help us please
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

it's ok, you're testing and you caught it. Can you give a bit more gravy and test in another 1/2 hour?

I'll be back after I look at your spreadsheet...
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

Get a check in 30 min from your last. Give a small amount of LC with gravy. If you can always add Karo to the LC to bump things up. Just keep testing, feeding w/ HC, and posting.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

And Barb....stop crying now...it will be okay...we are here and will not turn our backs on you sweetie!!!

Now....take a very deep breath...through your nose and hold it a second...now out your mouth!

You have gravy, right?
You will be fine...it will be a little work, but Libby is here...do not worry.... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

No one's going to let you dangle with your kleenex in the breeze!!

As you get numbers, remember to put them in your subject line and keep your SS up to date.(It will keep you a little distracted and help us keep eyes on Checkers.)

No worries. We have your back.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

couple of things when you have a minute:

1) can you update the spreadsheet?
2) and then put the current number in your first subject line so we can keep up with you more easily?
3) and then go into your spreadsheet and manually change the colors on the cells that didn't change with the autocolor? (sorry, I'm visual and it really helps)

You didn't do anything wrong. It's a bigger increase than I would have done when you had green on the 2.5 dose, but you just listened to the vet, that's not wrong. Ok? You can manage this, it's not *that* high a dose so the gravy should help.

LOL, Sienne posted at the same time I was typing!
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

(((barb)))
you're in control. you have the tools to control the drop. we're all here and not going anywhere, k?
see you soon...
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

I see on your SS that you said there was unusually large poops...we call that the "Magic Poops"
If they have been a little constipated, the wonderful LB action sometimes lowers their numbers....

You have the HC gravy and karo if needed...you will just keep monitoring him and giving him those to increase his numbers as you go along. It will be work and you will be very busy...but it will be fine...
You okay now Barb?
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

Thank you. testing again in 15min...updated SS
something so weird happened tonite
checkers poops have been a joke in the famile all his life. he digs to Chine then drops balls into the bottom of box.
i noticed this morning..no poop.......tonite he made 3 large ,wet logs.....never ever saw that before
wondering if constipation couldhave raised bg? it wasnt dry tho

gotta get out my cans of grave.....be back .......thank you....so scared i screwed up my baby
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

(((Barb)))

Breathe...it's going to be ok! I just got home and saw this. You have the help you need, I just wanted to give you a cyber-hug for moral support! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 304+1..185+2..147+2.5

awww barb .. how could you think we would leave you? You know we are here for you and we will be here until checkers is staying steady in a good number range .. I think your baby is going to be just fine cause you know what to do ...
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

Barb, don't be kicking yourself in the butt for listening to your vet! It was also a struggle for me to make decisions when my vet would say one thing and what I learned on the board was something totally different. You want to believe that the vet knows best, but sometimes it doesn't turn out that way.

ANYWAY...you got this! You've learned what to do when Checkers goes low...you got yer gravy food, you got yer strips...and hopefully you got yer cawfee cuz you may be up for a while this evening!!! No one will be turning their backs on you (I may be heading off to bed soon, tho, sorry...long long week for me). You and Checkers will be great!!!
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 1/304 Made mistake need help

You have grave? "Grave".. I know you meant gravy... :lol:
You will be fine and Checkers will be too. This is manageable Barb....you can do it!

And, BTW, you did great by testing +1, +2 ....you were monitoring him so well and that's how you caught the drop! You did a fine job!! And you know, we all have that respect for what our doctors tell us because we do go to them with our concerns and pay them for their prescriptions.....we all do that...
Now you see that maybe he was not on the mark with the dose thing...but you can deal with this now.

You caught him as he was going low and you have your grave gravy!!! :lol:
Good job! :thumbup
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 304+1..185+2..147+2.5

158 now....up from 147 half hour ago. That was when I gave teas gravy with food.
i can't keep updating SS.....my puter is unbearabley slow....it freezes.
I will go do it now and put in color too.
I will test some more tonite, but as long as it's going up, is okay now?

What dose do I give in morning, if Im allowed to ask that? I know no one is a vet.....that's almost funny, since it was the vet who got us in this predicament.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 304+1..185+2..147+2.5

Barb...test again in a half an hour and make sure you get a couple more rising numbers, ok?

If your computer is slow, can you at least update in each post and update the header as you just did?
I know it freezes up so you can update later if that's the case...just do post your new numbers as you go along...
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 304+1..185+2..147+2.5

So Pat, you're gonna instruct me in spelling when my cat is in crisis because he is blue???? :lol: :lol: :lol:
Yeah, now it's funny...it wasn't when he dropped from 304 to 185 in one hour.
good thing I have peach custard pir to stuff in my face.

THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH for help....I was almost too ashamed to post for help
I love you all so much.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 304+1..185+2..147+2.5

I would test in 30 minutes just to be sure it wasn't the gravy that bumped him. After that test you can be more confident.

Let's see how the next few tests go before talking about dose.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 304+1..185+2..147+2.5

Let's see how this plays out for a bit before worrying about the AM dose (unless Libby or Jill has an idea).

Right now, you're seeing a surf. That's good. You're holding the numbers steady -- but, it's early in the cycle. I'd keep giving a bite or two of food topped off with some gravy.

When I'm testing a lot and I know all of the numbers won't fit into my subject line, I have a "Recap" in my condo. I keep a running list of the test time and the BG number. That way, it's all in one place. If your computer keeps punking out, you can do the same thing. For example:

PMPS - 403
+1 - 304
+2 - 185
+2.5 - 147

Just copy the list and add your next number to your post.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 304+1..185+2..147+2.5..158+3

I will keep the numbers running in my post, because I had to close out the SS. It keeps me from coming back to this page. It's the only time I can't keep open windows and go back and forth.

His nadir today was 252, Most days his nadir is blue for only for 1 or 2 hours between +4 and +6.

pmps....433
+1.....304
+2.....185
+2.5...147
+3....158
Five more minutes.....I didn't do condos today, because I felt foolish commenting on someone else's when mine is such a mess.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 304+1..185+2..147+2.5..158+3

barb - i am so sorry you have had to go through all this today. it will be fine - you haven't harmed checkers. it will be OK. you've got great people here to get you through. as jill said - you've done everything right.. we are all here for you.

and now that i have said that i will let those in the know take over. Checkers will be fine.
 
Re: 9/17 Checkers. 304+1..185+2..147+2.5..158+3

pmps....433
+1.....304
+2.....185
+2.5...147
+3....158
+3.5...157

had to reboot...Google does a job on puter
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top