9/17 Charms AMPS 92,+2 64,+3 42, +3.25 34,+ 3.5 44 PMPS 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

I could not fit all of Charms BG tests this morning in the subject line so here goes:

AMPS 92
+2 64
+3 42 gave LC
+3.25 34 gave 1/2 can FF gravy lovers
+3.5 44 gave LC
+3.75 36 gave the rest of the FF gravy lovers
+4 43 gave temptations treats
+4.25 45 gave LC and a couple more treats
+4.5 49
+5 66
+5.5 91
+7 191

Ok what happened is that panic set in and then crazy took over!!!! Charms is very very carb sensitive, and only eats zero carb food so I panicked when at +3 I gave him the LC and he dropped to 34. Broke out the big guns, FF gravy lovers , seemed to help , but when he went back down to 36 , that was way too much for my caffeine induced panic to take. Started giving him the temptations treats! He hoovers them up like a vacuum. So as many times as I have told myself I can handle these low numbers, the truth is they scare the heck out of me!!!!! Charms seemed to be acting a little strange throughout all of this but maybe that was because I was acting a lot strange!!
Need some advice now. Charms earned a reduction two cycles ago, and then immediately after got a low PMPS so I gave him a one time half dose. He takes a LOT of insulin 7.5u. Did he earn another reduction today? His PMPS was high last night and I thought he was bouncing so I went to bed. The low AMPS took me by surprise this morning, but I thought I could handle it. I did not handle it that well. The 191@ +7 is evidence of that!! It was embarrasing to put that in his chart knowing I caused it!! Reduction to 7.0 tonight ? After all those carbs I threw at him , I think he will continue to rise today.
Let me know what you all think, thank you. - Sam

PS I do not know how to get those inbetween BG numbers into Charms chart, so I put them in the remarks. We are very low tech here! I am amazed I have gotten as far as I have with this board, but my love for Charms and the incredible help I get here from all of you has motivated me!
 
Re: 9/17 Charms AMPS 92,+2 64,+3 42, +3.25 34,+ 3.5 44 Reduc

Hi Sam! I just looked at Charms' SS and it's amazing how it went from pink & red to blue & green! I don't know about the reduction since I know Charms' high dose calls for a bit different approach, but I can help with the tech stuff:

To put extra tests within the same hour on the spreadsheet, just type them all into the cell for that hour. So in the spot where you usually type the BG you got at +3, type all of it: 42 @ +3, 34 @ +3.25, 44 @ 3.5

(It took me a while to figure that out too so don't feel like it was too obvious :lol:

You will have to choose the colour for the cell manually since the formatting doesn't know what to do with all that. In this case it would be green, so look for the icon near the top middle of the screen that looks like a little paint bucket, click on the arrow beside it for the drop down menu of colours, and choose green.

That green is a lovely colour and I'm glad you're seeing so much of it . . . just not in the 30s please Charms!
 
Re: 9/17 Charms AMPS 92,+2 64,+3 42, +3.25 34,+ 3.5 44 Reduc

Diabetic less than a year.

The protocol would normally call for a reduction of at least 0.25 units, though sometimes folks will shoot through the bounce (if one happens), then take a reduction.

Maybe this'll bump it up for folks to take notice.
 
Re: 9/17 Charms AMPS 92,+2 64,+3 42, +3.25 34,+ 3.5 44 Reduc

Hi Sam, busy morning! :shock: :shock: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Yup, I'd reduce by .5 and depending on where he is tonight, might even take the reduction tonight. A rule of thumb I use is that those 30's mean business and if it takes work to get them up, they are asking for a reduction. So a prolonged visit to the 40's would mean the same to me. With the 1/2 shot and 3 shots at 7.5, he's been there long enough to give a try at 7 units. Congrats on that reduction. Some higher dose cats will all of a sudden decide they want to come down the scale at a brisk pace. Charms might be doing that do you now. If not, you can always go back up but better to drain that depot for now.

For now, I'd stick to .5 unit reductions and think about trying smaller reductions on for size when/if you get closer to 5 units. I used to use .25 unit changes more to tweak the results. So if the nadirs were almost but not quite where I wanted them to be, then I'd use a .25 unit change when we were over 5 units.

FWIW, we don't have the As Fed by numbers yet for Young Again and experience of others says it's probably really low carb, not zero carb. I'm not sure at what point you gave Charms HC or treats. It's useful to track that to see how he responds to what food and how much. If it's been at least two hours since he's had any higher carb food, I think you are OK to relax the testing.
 
Re: 9/17 Charms AMPS 92,+2 64,+3 42, +3.25 34,+ 3.5 44 PMPS

Charms did continue to rise as I expected , I threw so many carbs at him!!!
I took your advice Wendy and gave him the reduction. He is now at 7.0. !!! Easier to go back down as you said , rather then putting myself in another panic situation. Usually Charms is so sensitive to carbs he just looks at them and his BG raises. Scared me when he kept going back down.

Thank you BJM for advice and the bump.

Thank you Amy and Papaya for dropping by and for the spreadsheet instructions!
 
Re: 9/17 Charms AMPS 92,+2 64,+3 42, +3.25 34,+ 3.5 44 PMPS

Hi Sam,
I don't have much to add. It does look like you over-carbed Charms, but that is a common mistake (and it takes trial and error to figure out how many carbs you should feed when trying to bring up bgs). I agree with Wendy that you should take the reduction tonight. Normally a reduction is .25 of a unit, but I don't have any meaningful experience with high doses. My GA kitty, Stu, was overdosed by his vet, who didn't understand how Lantus works. So I had eventually to go back to 1 unit and work up. But I didn't know what I was doing at the time.
Is Charms an acrocat? When you get around to writing a profile for him, it would be a big help.

We had a beautiful sunny day today and tomorrow will be more of the same. Hope you had a good day, too.

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top