9/17 Billie PMPS 276 travel question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello LL!!

Yesterday's condo (dermatologist visit): viewtopic.php?f=9&t=125408

So, I was supposed to be visiting my parents in Virginia this week, but cancelled my trip to keep an eye on Billie and get her to the allergy specialist. If I can get past the paranoia of leaving Billie, I can visit this weekend instead, from Saturday till Tuesday. The specialty vet thinks it's fine to go, unless her cough gets worse or more frequent in the next couple days.

DB can take care of her and will learn to test and shoot, although he won't be around to monitor closely enough, so I'd have to reduce her dose. He will be available for TFS at 8:30am/pm, and he will be able to hang out with Billie a lot during the day. But, he works overnight shifts, so he won't be around at all in the PM cycle.

I'm worried about ketones if I reduce her dose. I test every few days or every day if she is running high and she has always tested negative for them, but I know that infection + not enough insulin + not enough food can lead to ketones. Since she still has her hives/scabs, it seems like she is at risk for infection. The Convenia shot was 12 days ago. So, I'm nervous about the combination of the skin issue, a reduced dose, and potential appy issues. Her appy has been mostly good, even with the food change, but she has "off" days. DB can probably stalk the litter box and test for ketones during the day, but I'm wondering what if she doesn't pee while he's there, what happens if she doesn't eat overnight when he's not there, etc.

I haven't left her alone for more than a day trip since she was diagnosed in May, so I'm definitely nervous and would be nervous no matter what. But, I really want to visit my parents. I guess I am wondering if I would be putting her at risk by leaving with what she has going on right now?

ETA: This may not be a question anyone can really answer for me, but I'm wondering what others would do in this situation. Any thoughts are appreciated!
 
Re: 9/17 Billie AMPS 175 +2 295 +6 315 travel question

Hi Deanna:

I missed your condo yesterday and just wanted to chime in with a food suggestion. How carb sensitive is Billie? Nutro's Max Cat has a venison option that is low in phosporus and 8% carbs. Cinco is not super sensitive, so I can feed it to him without affecting his BG. All of my cats love it, which is quite a trick!

I'm glad you got to meet with the specialist and have a plan. Finding novel proteins is definitely a challenge.

I can't advise you on the ketones issue - Cinco hasn't had that problem since he recovered from DKA (knock on wood). I would think that, if Billie has had all negative tests lately, he should be okay for that short period of time.

It's really hard to leave your FD kitty anytime, but when there are other health issues, it makes it even worse. You know her best. I'd sit down and try to look objectively at how she's been doing in any given four day period, and if things would have gone differently during that period if she were under DB's care as you've described it. That's what I would use to help me make my decision. Keep in mind that your own mental and physical health is important. You can't take care of Billie if you wear yourself out. A break is always a good thing.

Hopefully someone smarter than I am will be along to give better advice.
 
Re: 9/17 Billie AMPS 175 +2 295 +6 315 travel question

It sounds like the dermatologist was very thorough, and although it stinks that Billie has allergies, at least you are getting closer to pinpointing exactly what is bothering her, and that is great!

I haven't traveled since Trix was diagnosed (we are fortunate that our families are close by), so I don't have experience with "travel doses"...others have travelled, though, so I'm sure experienced folks will chime in with ideas shortly.

Have a great evening, Deanna!!
 
Re: 9/17 Billie AMPS 175 +2 295 +6 315 travel question

Deanna:

Take a look at Gabby's SS. Gabby doesn't let my cat sitter test so I have to reduce her dose. When I travel, my sitter comes in only at shot time so I've had the same concerns. I've always reduced Gabby's dose and I've never come back to a problem with ketones. The Convenia last longer that 2 weeks so hopefully, any skin problem will have been cleared up.

FWIW, I always worry when I travel. If you didn't care about Billie, you wouldn't be worried.
 
Re: 9/17 Billie AMPS 175 +2 295 +6 315 travel question

Thank you so much Tricia, Amy and Sienne!!

Tricia, your perspective of "what would be different if I wasn't here" is really helpful. I hadn't thought of it that way. And at this point, at least in the past few days, nothing would really be different except for a reduced dose. Billie might be a little upset/confused that I'm gone since she's so used to having me here, especially at night, but she likes DB too. I saw Max Cat venison at the pet store today, but it has chicken in it, unfortunately, so I have to stay away from it. Thanks for the suggestion!

Sienne, thank you, that's really good to know. I just looked through Gabby's SS, and I see that she ends up a little high but gets back on track quickly when you get home. That's reassuring. You're right - we worry because we care. DB was telling me that I'm taking years off my life by worrying :roll: but I care about my Billieboo, so I worry. I'm a helicopter.

DB is getting a full tutorial tomorrow night. I know he'll be fine giving the shots. He is in nursing school, so he is comfortable with that sort of thing. My main concern is how Billie will react to him testing her. If she freaks out and won't let him test, I guess I'll reduce more. I'm sure I'll be asking about that tomorrow or Friday.

I talked to the specialty vet for a second time today (helicopter) and asked her about the coughing (again) and if she thinks I need to be concerned while I'm gone/if Billie should have meds available in case of emergency. She said no (again) but prescribed albuterol syrup for my peace of mind. It's only meant to be used an emergency/on the way to the ER if she is having severe breathing difficulties/open mouth breathing/gasping. She said again that the coughing isn't something to be too worried about under our current circumstances. But, it certainly can't hurt to have a stash of that just in case.

I also did something that may bring my helicopter/crazy cat lady status to a new level but will make me less nervous so it's worth it - I ordered a wifi camera with night vision that will let me monitor the apartment when DB isn't there. It has audio and video so I'll be able to hear if Billie's coughing is sounding scary and I can see what they are up to. Hopefully, I'll just be seeing napping kitties most of the time.

Billie is still coughing the same amount and her hives look about the same, but she seems to be feeling good! She just chased after a bug that was flying around. Also, her heartworm test came back negative, so that's good at least.

Thank you again for your help and patience!!
 
you know what? i think your idea of a webcam to monitor her is brilliant. I know a couple of other people have them, but wouldn't have thought of it to help in this situation.

you just love her and want to keep her safe. it's so understandable. i left punkin a couple of times in my son's care, the summer after he graduated from college when he was living with us. like a good helicopter, i might've been in california, but this is the age of cell phones and i was on the phone with him a couple of times a day getting bg updates and telling him what i wanted him to do with the dose. :-D

i prefer to think of it as a caring parent. these little ones are ill and they depend on us. seems like you've got a couple of great plans in place that will keep her safe and keep you sane. it's a win-win solution! :-D

she's good with a timed feeder, too, isn't she?
 
Hugs to you and Billie! :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Well, here's one for Brooklyn as well! :YMHUG: :-D So glad to hear your appointment with the specialist went well and that there is an action plan! (Allergies are very frustrating, especially for a kitty that can't talk! Can they actually test for allergies like they do for humans? I have asthma and use a Ventolin inhaler as well as a corticosteroid, Beclomethasone Propionate) Didn't this coughing start after your road trip with Billie?

I wonder if that is just a guy thing, not to worry, or maybe just to pretend they aren't worrying?? :roll: Surely there has to be helicopter cat dad's? :lol: I like the idea of that video cam, the NVG feature especially! I'm sure DB will do just fine, that is re-assuring that he is a nurse! Billie and Brooklyn are sure lucky to have such good parents!

It is hard to leave a kitty alone at any time, I have only left Tiger alone for a day at a time for the past 10 years(speaking of crazy cat lady ohmygod_smile ) , and now that she has FD, well, this trip for my nephew's wedding was the first time leaving her for more than a few hours. She stayed at the Vet's, actually the Boarding and Grooming station for just a day and a half total, as it turns out, I could have taught the vet tech's to test her but this wasn't what the person on the phone said. I didn't have the time to stay and teach them, but will next time. I liked knowing there was someone there 24/7 and this place offers to send you live video feeds as well as updates via text or e mails.
 
Thank you Julie and Ruth!!

You guys are all the best. :YMHUG: I'm so grateful to have ended up here. It's very comforting to know that people understand and don't think I'm nuts. Julie, you're very right, we are all caring parents who love our little ones. There is nothing crazy about that!

I just remembered what my grandmother used to do when she traveled and had to leave her cat (another Max) at home. She had my mom and my aunt take turns sleeping over every night so he wouldn't be all alone in an empty house. At least Billie and Brooklyn can keep each other company.

I haven't tried a timed feeder with Billie. I almost ordered a couple today but decided not to since DB is available to feed multiple times during the day. Overnight, I think I'm going to have him leave out a ton of fresh food and a ton of frozen food so they can graze throughout the night. I hope that works out. I'll experiment with the frozen stuff to see what they think of it.

Ruth, thanks for the hugs for all of us, Brooklyn too! Your boarding situation sounds great. I like the live video feed option! I also wonder if there are helicopter dads...they must be out there. I guess it's good that DB doesn't worry the way I do. If he did, we'd probably just make each other more nervous.

The coughing started 5 days after our road trip, and the hives first popped up about a week before that. I don't know if there is any connection there. The vet said that allergies are very tricky to figure out, and we just have to wait and see if the food change helps. They can actually test for allergies, although she said that the food allergy testing is unreliable, so she likes to start with a 4 week food trial, then move on to environmental allergy testing if nothing improves. So, that's the game plan!

So far, Billie is doing well tonight. I boiled some pork to use for her snacks since chicken is blacklisted for now, and I learned that she loves pork. While it was cooking, she was in the kitchen meowing at me like "is it done yet??" I kept the bones simmering for a while to make some pork broth that I will mix in with her food to get her interested in the novel protein options. It's surprisingly flavorful, so hopefully it will do the trick.

Thank you all again!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top