Re: 9/16 Tibbs amps 306 increase?
when people talk about stopping the kitty's insulin, my heart always stops. punkin was a high dose kitty - he had acromegaly - and when we got here he was on 3u of Lantus, i thought. Turned out that we were using the wrong syringes (from the Prozinc syringes we'd started with), which made punkin's dose more like 7.5u. What if people had seen his high numbers on 3u and suggested dropping him back to 1u to restart him? Weeks and weeks longer he'd have been left without the amount of insulin he needed.
somehow people get the idea that all cats should respond to 0.5u or 1.0u or maybe 1.5u, but when it gets over that sometimes i'll see people suggest dropping the dose. I have no idea where that comes from, but it isn't based in science. the thing is that cats need such a variety of doses - even a non-high dose kitty might need 5 or 6 units per shot. If there is an infection or some kind of inflammation, IBD, hyper thyroid, pancreatitis, etc., in the picture that can really increase the dosage needs. Sometimes the cat has
Glucose Toxicity from spending too long in high numbers. That causes a need for even higher doses to get the cat's blood sugar down.
There is nothing in Tibbs' spreadsheet to say his dose is too high. More likely it's too low. Getting those mid-cycle tests will answer the question for you.
There is a weight calculator on the Tight Regulation Protocol that helps with a starting dose, but from the starting dose, we just move on. How much insulin a cat needs is incredibly individual. Right now we have people posting in the TR forum whose cats need one drop, all the way to Cobb, who is our current Big Gulper at 21units per shot. There is absolutely everything in between.