9/16 Sibon AMPS 63 no shot +3 231

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elinor & Sibon

Member Since 2017
Previous post

Good morning everyone, I've been shooting Sibon with 2 units for the past 9 cycles, and it has been the most yellow we've seen in his spreadsheet so far on Lantus. This morning should have been the 10th cycle (I'm following TR protocol), but it seems his numbers have been dropping since last evening. I didn't record his +8 +9 +10 on his PM cycle because I was just so exhausted. I left plently of food for him during the night (frozen fancy feast) and in the morning I saw he didn't touch any of it, and he seemed fine.

I'm guessing I'm about to get a huge bounce today because of last night's numbers and the fact I didn't shoot today. The fault is on me that I didn't even wait 1 hour until his number was high enough to shoot.. I know better for next time.

Here's my question:
Does a kitty earn an increase in dosage even though he did hit low numbers once?
Should I stay with 2 units?
 
Hi Elinor.

Does a kitty earn an increase in dosage even though he did hit low numbers once?
No, when you get green numbers, you hold the dose. The numbers you got yesterday are just what you want, and that is an indication that this is a good dose. Sibon has never been this low, that we know of, so he will undoubtedly have a bounce. Let's give it time to break and see where he is at the end of it. Bounces can last up to six cycles, so you'll hold the 2 units at least that long, unless he goes below 50.

When you don't shoot, could you please put NS in the dose column on your spreadsheet? That tells us that you deliberately skipped the shot. Thanks.
 
Hi Elinor.

No, when you get green numbers, you hold the dose. The numbers you got yesterday are just what you want, and that is an indication that this is a good dose. Sibon has never been this low, that we know of, so he will undoubtedly have a bounce. Let's give it time to break and see where he is at the end of it. Bounces can last up to six cycles, so you'll hold the 2 units at least that long, unless he goes below 50.

When you don't shoot, could you please put NS in the dose column on your spreadsheet? That tells us that you deliberately skipped the shot. Thanks.

Thanks for the reply. Is there any point in monitoring BG in the cycle I didn't shoot?
 
Thanks for the reply. Is there any point in monitoring BG in the cycle I didn't shoot?
Sorry, I was in bed when you asked this. There is no such thing as too much data, so doing some spot checks, even if you skip a shot, is never a bad idea. In a case where a shot was skipped because the PSBG was too low, you absolutely want to check for the first few hours to be sure kitty is coming up.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top