9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,PMPS-102,+1-96,+2-79,+4-68,+6.5-91

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=104512

Ozy earned another reduction yesterday just three days after his last one. He went low in the daytime, which is so much easier to stay awake for. I was pleased that I could pretty much handle it alone though I did ask for some help in interpreting his readings on the way up; thanks Marika, Wendy and Melissa. I did overfeed and over carb him some.

Ozy is feeling good today... playful and fiesty. He kept batting my hands away when I was trying to test him. And he found a new hiding place this morning. We looked pretty hard before we found him curled up on the bottom shelf of an armoire he has never been in before. I don't like having to pull him out but treats didn't work as an incentive.
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215

It's nice to see all those blues and greens on Ozy's SS! Congrats on the reduction - I'm glad he is cooperating by earning them during daylight hours :lol: It looks like another great start for him today, too. Great job Donaleen!
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215

Thanks, Amy. I was pretty proud of yesterday when I did a pretty good job of doing it myself. I wonder if catching low numbers as soon as they dip has any advantages in terms of keeping the bounces a little more under control.

Ozy has suddenly become so much better at being blue and green. I was losing hope.
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+2-144,+4.25-65,+5-61,+6-52

We don't do back to back reductions, as this is the depot from his previous dose talking. That said, nothing to prove so you might want to carb him just a tiny bit. These are great healing numbers and a wonderful place for Ozy to surf. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+2-144,+4.25-65,+5-61,+6-52

Thanks Wendy... he already had two reductions in the past few days.

Carb him, Danno
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+2-144,+4.25-65,+5-61,+6-52

WoooHooo!! Looking very good Ozy :mrgreen: Sounds like your getting the hang of it Donaleen ;-)
Congrats on the reducie!!
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+4.25-65,+5-61,+6-52,+6.5-59,+7-57

Thanks Pam. I propped his numbers up a bit

This is from under my rock:
We typically suggest you have two, non food influenced rising numbers before being in attentive for any length of time.

at +6 he was at 52; I gave him 2tsp of his Wellness food and 2 drops of maple syrup.
at +6.5 he was at 59. So that rise was helped by the food.

Here is what I think the protocol says to do in this case:

At +7 and +7.5 I will test but not feed him (unless his numbers go down )
At 8 I will feed him at his regular time.
at 9 I will test again
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+2-144,+4.25-65,+5-61,+6-52,+6.5-59

+7 he is at 57 which is steady from +6.5 which was 57. It isn't a rise. So I will test again in a half hour. I guess he is surfing in the 50's (Let's go surfin now, Everybody's surfin now, Come on a safari with me, Surfin Safari ... )

I think that is okay as long as I test every half hour. Right???

He was still in the fifties at 7.5 so fed him his meal then (a half hour early from normal).

I wonder if I've cut his food too much and that is lowering his insulin needs.
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+4.25-65,+5-61,+6-52,+7.5-59

Ozy has suddenly become so much better at being blue and green. I was losing hope.
Look at you go! This is wonderful.

I think that even under 60 you've still got pretty good breathing room. So don't get anxious, and let him hang out in the healing zone.
This is excellent, Ozy!
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+2-144,+4.25-65,+5-61,+6-52

Wendy&Neko said:
We don't do back to back reductions, as this is the depot from his previous dose talking.

So how do I handle tonight? Do I shoot as normal? Do I work to keep his numbers up a bit because he just had a reduction yesterday? Please advise.

Ozy just got into somebody else's food. So his PMPS may be elevated from that. It's only an hour until PMPS.

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+6-52,+7.5-59,+9-68,+11-79

you've had a wonderful green run today! go Ozy.

would you just post your +12/pmps in your subject line and we can decide from there? i'm guessing from your last post that you shoot in 20 minutes or so, is that right?

i'll watch for you. Wendy had to go out for a bit.
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+6-52,+7.5-59,+9-68,+11-79

Yes shoot we normal and Julie and I will be around tonight to watch and help you if you need it.

If you are within 3-4 cycles of a reduction, you might have to feed a little bit to keep his numbers up. If he really comes down anyway (e.g. into the 30s) and it's been 4th cycle since the last reduction, we'd probably have you take another.

Lets just see how it goes. If Ozy didn't eat too much of the civvies food, then he should be ok by PMPS and his number shouldn't be too elevated unless he ate dry food or HC canned (and I don't think you have any HC).
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+6-52,+7.5-59,+9-68,+11-79

Hi Donallen,
Ozy's looking really really great!
Glad he has come up a bit for the PM shot!
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+6-52,+9-68,+11-79,PMPS-102

Thanks Julie, Marje and Mariko. Just a little jumpy tonight and unsure. He has only had two cycles since his reduction. I am thrilled he is doing so well but also unsure about when to boost him. Since it is too early for a reduction, how low should he go before I feed him to raise his numbers? Low 50's? I am unsure how to handle tonight.

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+6-52,+9-68,+11-79,PMPS-102

the great thing about shooting low is that it often flattens out the entire cycle.

i see your pmps on the ss but no dose. did you hold the dose at 3.25?
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+6-52,+9-68,+11-79,PMPS-102

Yes, I posted PMPS while he was eating, then shot, then just entered the units 3.25

Thanks for keeping an eye on me.
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+6-52,+9-68,+11-79,PMPS-102

I shot a 57 the other night and he earned his reduction by +2. Then yesterday I shot an 84 and he earned another reduction at +3.5.

I know how to bring him up. But given that he shouldn't have a reduction, what is the feeding protocol? As I understand it, I am using food to boost his numbers in order to keep his dose stable. Is that right?

And as to what Ozy got into, it was the same as his food, grain free low carb Wellness. He may have eaten as much as two tablespoons before he was found.

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+6-52,+9-68,+11-79,PMPS-102

Just feed as usual. We will see if he needs his cycle steered as we go but id just give him LC right now.
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,+6-52,+9-68,+11-79,PMPS-102

well, you just don't want to reduce too quickly and end up under-dosed when the depot (shed) adjusts to the new lower dose.

you can feed some lower carb food to try to keep Ozy surfing. what you do with food depends on where in the cycle it is - if the drop is earlier you might want to use a little more carbs to keep the numbers up. for example, if he drops to 70 at +2 instead of having a food spike, i'd probably give a little bit of medium carbs to keep him from dropping too quickly.

tell ya what - how about you post at +1 and we go from there instead of me giving pretend scenarios that might/might not fit the situation? :-D basically, you're wanting to keep his cycle flat by using carbs.

it might be helpful if you edit your first post and subject line to clear out some of the earlier tests today. just lets the pmps & most recent ones be more visible.
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,PMPS-102,+1-96,+2-79

donaleen, it looks like Ozy's got an active cycle going tonight. are you comfortable handling the low numbers if he goes there? i see a few low cycles on his ss so i know you've got some experience.
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,PMPS-102,+1-96,+2-79

yes. I know I can keep him safe. But I am under the impression that because he isn't supposed to get a decrease in dose that there are special rules in effect for feeding him or that I am to feed him when he gets to the mid 50s.... I don't want to overfeed/overcarb him because he needs to lose a pound.

In the past when he went low I've overfed him, I think.
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,PMPS-102,+1-96,+2-79

it's one of those things that you learn through experience. you just want to give enough carbs and food that you "steer" the BGs and kinda hold it up above 50. a teaspoon of low carb might be enough. cats are different on how much is needed. i'd probably just use lc unless he's dropping fast and i wanted to slow it down.
 
Re: 9/16 Ozy AMPS-215,PMPS-102,+1-96,+2-79

donaleen

There aren't any special rules about feeding regarding the decrease he just got and him getting another. In other words, as he's coming down, feed him LC. If he drops in the 40s early in the cycle, you might want to give him LC with a bit of a drop of syrup. If he drops in the 40s late in the cycle, try LC.

If he drops into the 30s (doubtful) give him bacon/syrup and reduce his dose tomorrow morning by .25u. I think it'd important to pay attention to 30s especially if its in the third cycle after a reduction.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top