9/16 Owen AMPS 322, +4 80, +6 74, +8 81, PMPS 241, +2 236, +4 209

Kyle & Simon (GA)

Member Since 2020
Hello! Today is Owen's first day on Lantus. We gave him 0.5 units this am and already his numbers are in the green. Four more hours until his next dose, but Im wondering if anyone has any suggestions on this? Since his nadir appears to be below 90, should we reduce to 0.25 or skip since today is his first day? Any advice or suggestions would be most appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Owens +2 is 236 after reduction to 0.25 this evening. I am relieved we may not be chasing low numbers overnight, but wondering when we should test again. It is 10 pm here now. Thanks in advance for any advice.
 
Owens +2 is 236 after reduction to 0.25 this evening. I am relieved we may not be chasing low numbers overnight, but wondering when we should test again. It is 10 pm here now. Thanks in advance for any advice.
The +2 is much the same as the preshot BG...just a bit lower...which can indicate an active cycle
I would get a +4 to see if it is going to drop much further just to be safe. Is that doable?
 
The +2 is much the same as the preshot BG...just a bit lower...which can indicate an active cycle
I would get a +4 to see if it is going to drop much further just to be safe. Is that doable?
I think we can do that. Does active cycle mean his bg may drop suddenly? Or what does that mean? Thanks for your help.
 
I think we can do that. Does active cycle mean his bg may drop suddenly? Or what does that mean? Thanks for your help.
Usually if the +2 is a lot lower than the preshot BG you can expect an active cycle where the BG will drop quite a bit.
If it is a bounce ending cycle, the BG can drop quite fast and it can keep dropping right through until the next preshot.
If the +2 is much the same or just a bit lower than the preshot the cycle will most likely be a normal active cycle where the BG drops and then comes back up.
If the +2 is much higher than the preshot, then the cycle is most likely not going to do anything much.
But in saying all that, cats will be cats and they love to prove us wrong.
As we have no data for Owen yet we really can't predict what he will most likely do, so it is always better to be cautious.
 
Last edited:
Hello! We are at 209 for +4. I don’t think we are headed for low numbers, so hoping we can sleep till amps. Let me know if that seems reasonable?
 
Sorry I am just getting back to you. I looked at 5.02 then got caught up feeding my cats!
I would give Owen a snack and leave a low carb snack out for him later...if he will leave it til later!... and head to bed. He's been a good boy.
 
Back
Top