9/16 Muffin pmbg 62 - skipping shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne&Muffin (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=79152

Wow, what a re-introduction to FD! :lol: Many many thanks to Jane for holding my hand all night long. :-D

Recap:
pmps 286 shot .5u first shot in almost 2 yrs
+2 207
+3 147
+5 46 fed LC
+5.5 43 fed LC (it's all she'll eat)
+6 48 fed LC
+6.5 52 ate a little bit
+7 48 ran to store for more lancets
+7.5 45
+9 45
+11 64
Amps 71 shot .25u


Last night was certainly not what I expected our first cycle to be! I need ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) :lol: It included a 330am trip to the drug store for more lancets, and I picked up Ketostix as well. I'm a little brain dead right now, and the DGD's are demanding attention, and I can't remember anything else I wanted to say. ohmygod_smile But again, thank you thank you thank you Jane!
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 shot .25

Uh wow! Re-trial by fire....goodness and I hope this means Muffin does not intend to hang out here for long.

Anne you must be exhausted. Great job! Guess its like riding a bike :-D

You did spectacular
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 shot .25

Wonderful job, Anne! I think I see a Mocha Latte with a Triple Shot of Espresso being shipped to your house today. :lol: Hope you get some rest tonight. :-D
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 shot .25

Way to go Anne for kicking RIGHT back in to handling exciting :shock: BGs!!! Kudos to an awesome bean!

I hope Marje's right that Muffin really does NOT plan on hanging around here long!

Good luck with today's cycle!
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54

Uhh....+2 54 - no food spike here, could be a long day. So glad to see her back in green where she belongs tho! \M/
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54

Get up on your board
00002042.gif

and surf now, Muffin.
Did you feed that +2?
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54

Marje: I was surprised how much like riding a bike it turned out to be - for BOTH Muffin and me :lol: Thanks!

Angela: Oooh, that would be perfect! Thank you. While I'm drinking that, I'll send one of the kids to Walmart for more test strips :lol:

Deb: Aww, thanks! I hope Marje is right too!

Jane: Could be another busy cycle! @-)

Dyana: Yes, I fed the +2. Muffin seems to have gotten back into this routine so well that she thinks she needs food after every test.. :roll:

Ella: Yes! I didn't expect to see this much change this quickly, but I sure am glad - and really glad I didn't give the 1u!
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +3 52

+3 52 Offered food here, too, but she's not up here eating it....yet. I'm sure she will be tho. I think I'll stick to testing hourly for now, unless someone thinks I should do more. Of course if she drops more, I'll test more, but I'm hoping she'll surf here (or a little higher) for a while.

When kitty comes out of "remission" does the previous data have any relevance? Because I feel like we're starting all over again, and that I can't rely on her reactions that she had 2 yrs ago. Is this normally the case? ECID?

Oh, here she is to eat her snack.
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +3 52

Anne

I would use the previous data as a refresher but there's no guarantee muffin will do the same things the same way. Usually, the best data is in the few preceding weeks.

I think you are just fine to test in an hour...you are an experienced caregiver. We are here for you any time but I certainly trust your judgment. Looking great!
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +3 52

Hi Anne, I've been trying to get over here to say "hi" to you and Muffin. What excitement! I think Muffin wants to return back to you know where. Nice to see you back here, :-D but not on these circumstances. Best place to be though if the need arises. Take care.
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +3 52 +4.5 47

DGD's came home right before +4 and Muffin retreated under the bed. I tried to coax her out several times, but she wasn't having it. So then I worried that maybe she was hiding because she was too low, so I got DS to help me get her out. Hence, test is half hour late. +4.5 47. She is not interested in eating this time. I think she's had enough of all these pokies for now. I really need to lay down for a bit, too. The no sleep is catching up to me. Even tho she's earned another reduction now, she's basically been surfing since +2. This is reminiscent of what she did the first time around in this dance, and also what happened last night. One good thing about making this fresh start is I don't have to wonder whether or not shed action is playing a role, and I feel pretty confident about letting the numbers dictate the dose. So tonight, unless the wise ones feel differently, I'll decrease her dose again. Plus, I really need to sleep at some point. :lol:

Marje - Thanks for the vote of confidence, my friend, it really helps.

Ann - Hiya! Is nice to be back, also, but I wish it was for different reasons too.

I'm going to lay down for a while, but Muffin is here in my room with me, and there is food out for her. I'll keep on testing, but it probably won't be every hour. I'll try to do every hour and a half. We are both tired! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +3 52 +4.5 47

How soon they forget....

We generally don't take back-to-back reductions. However, in Muffin's case, it may be a matter of finding the right starting dose. Also, keep in mind that Muffin doesn't have an insulin depot formed yet. For now, it's looking like Muffin may need a microdose to support her pancreas until you figure out what's going on.
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +3 52 +4.5 47 +6 51

+6 51 I'm having to drag her out from under the bed, and she's just surfing nicely. So I'm going to leave her alone for a few hours.

Sienne - That's my thought as well - that I'm more finding the right dose. And the fact that she does not have a depot makes it seem more appropriate to take these back-to-back reductions, as, at least in my mind, (and maybe I'm wrong) there is nothing at work here except the current dose she gets. I'm actually considering skipping altogether tonight, so we can both get some sleep and giving maybe a .1 in the morning. Thoughts? I wasn't expecting such a quick response to insulin, but because it seems to be so effective, I'm thinking skipping a shot wouldn't hurt? Or I could give a token drop (essentially a BCS) tonight. What do you all think? I should have lab results tomorrow morning as well, but not until after shot time.
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +4.5 47 +6 51 +9 47

+9 was 47 - that's my little surfer girl. I've decided NOT to skip tonight - I have to keep reminding myself to put my aggressive pants on. :lol: I'm thinking I'll shoot .1u. Sound good?
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +4.5 47 +6 51 +9 47

Only if your little surfer girl is above 50 ;-) ;-) :-D :-D

I'm also aggressive, as you know, but I wouldn't shoot a number below 50 on lantus. Not enough time to get them up a titch before onset.

Hopefully, she will be the model FD baby like she was last time around and come up into the 70s for her shot.

Good girl, Muffin. Gracie sends lots of best friend hugs.
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +4.5 47 +6 51 +9 47

WOW on today! Re-intro by fire for sure.

\No dose advice here, but I am inclined to think that a BCS would be good. You have to be more than tired...
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +4.5 47 +6 51 +9 47

I'm completely exhausted, and Muffin is less than cooperative at this point. I had to lure her out from under the bed with turkey for the last test. ;-) And even then she didn't come at first - she waited for me to give up, but leave the turkey in the room, and before long, there she was. So if she's not over 50 (and 52 doesn't count :lol: ) I guess I'll just skip tonight. I won't be able to stall much and have any time to test before I pass out ;-) Thank you Michelle, Sienne and Marje for weighing in.
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +4.5 47 +6 51 +9 47

I think 50 or over counts. Go for it if you can stay up to test her. If you can't, it's ok....it would be interesting to see what she does if you had to skip.

Sometimes just a little jolt of juice does it. I remember it did with BigMac once.
 
Re: 9/16 Muffin amps 71 +2 54 +4.5 47 +6 51 +9 47

I was saying 52 doesn't count because she's been pretty consistently wavering between 45 and 52 and back again. And I feel like I'm wavering just as much about what I want to do tonight. Well, it's almost shot time, so I'll just decide then. :lol:
 
Pmbg is 62 - probably a safe number to shoot, but I've decided to skip tonight. Between her non-cooperation and my lack of sleep, this may not be the BEST choice for her, but I believe it is the SAFEST choice. Will be interesting to see what she gives me at amps. Thank you so much everyone, and I am off NI NI!! I-) I-) I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top