9/16 Loki AMPS 320 +2 300 +3 250 +4 200 +5 191 +6 148

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by ctmorris, Sep 16, 2020.

  1. ctmorris

    ctmorris Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Decent day - don't want to increase insulin yet think this is a resolving bounce.
     
  2. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Very nice day indeed.

    Since you're following the SLGS dosing method, an increase would not be in order until after 7 days.

    From the dosing method:
    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
    Hold the dose for at least a week:
    • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
    • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
    After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
    • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
    • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
    • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
    I do hope you can wean Loki off the dry food soon...

    Have a great evening!
     
    Si am cat mom likes this.
  3. ctmorris

    ctmorris Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Thank you!!
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  4. ctmorris

    ctmorris Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    and earlier at night?
     
    JOJI and Kit likes this.
  5. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Would you mind putting your questions in the same condo?

    We're only allowed one condo in this forum per day...
     
  6. ctmorris

    ctmorris Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    What is a condo? is that a post? Sorry not meaning to be daft..
     
  7. JOJI and Kit

    JOJI and Kit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2019
    nadir and pre shot are pretty much the same thing for kit.
     
  8. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
    Hi Amethyst usually is a Late Nadir Kitty I have to always test her twice before each shot because of this:)
     
  9. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
  10. ctmorris

    ctmorris Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Ok - glad its not just me! :)
     
  11. ctmorris

    ctmorris Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Thanks!!
     
  12. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Nova is too.
     
  13. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
  14. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    When a cat is breaking a bounce, the nadir is often later too. Neko liked to nadir late too. It means you have to get used to shooting lower.
     

Share This Page