? - 9/16; Henri PMPS 97, +1 94, 89@ +1.5, +2 77, 97@2.5, +3 98, 100@3.5, +4 116, 127@4.5, +5 118, 120@5 | Page 2 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 9/16; Henri PMPS 97, +1 94, 89@ +1.5, +2 77, 97@2.5, +3 98, 100@3.5, +4 116, 127@4.5, +5 118, 120@5

I think you will need to keep feeding her small amounts until possibly +5-7. You want to make sure he’s hit nadir and coming up enough. We are going to have to take this test by test.
ok...will do
I think I can stick to the LC food if she's sticking in the 90's then?
 
Looks like he might not need as close monitoring as I thought he might. Test again in an hour. Lc is perfect now.
Thanks! I didn't get as much into her for this last feeding, (only 16 calories as opposed to low 20's). I think she's not as hungry bc of all the food. I'll keep an eye on her though. Ill give her a full hour in between trying to feed her instead of every 30 min. going to test her BG in about 15 min
 
she's up to 116. I'll not that she stopped food a half hour ago, so I'll monitor again at +5 and so long as she's going up on her own I won't feed her anymore. I want her to be hungry in case she drops again later.

Question, If tomorrow morning and tomorrow evening continue like this where I am using food to keep her from going too low, would we reduce her insulin again? I can monitor her nonstop tomorrow until about 1 in the afternoon. From 1-5, my husband should be able to check in on her once..maybe twice but he wouldn't be able to do it like I had to tonight
 
No. She only earns a reduction if she drops under 50. You want to keep her surfing normal numbers as much as possible so that she gets used to them.Thats the reason to guide her curve with food. Normal bg for a cat is roughly 50-80 or 100 on a human meter. That’s where the healing takes place. She’s doing really well.
 
No. She only earns a reduction if she drops under 50. You want to keep her surfing normal numbers as much as possible so that she gets used to them.Thats the reason to guide her curve with food. Normal bg for a cat is roughly 50-80 or 100 on a human meter. That’s where the healing takes place. She’s doing really well.

Ah...so that's why you shoot low to stay low

Makes sense. Oh good... this is exciting then!
 
127 @4.5
Does this mean I can take a nap? I need to eat something so I'll test again at midnight (+5) but then I was thinking I might be able to sleep for a couple hours? Maybe until +7 or +8?
 
I don’t think you need to worry about a big drop. If the +5 hasn’t gone down I think you can sleep until +11.5 so if you need to see if heading up at that point so you can shoot on time in the morning.
 
I don’t think you need to worry about a big drop. If the +5 hasn’t gone down I think you can sleep until +11.5 so if you need to see if heading up at that point so you can shoot on time in the morning.

Nice! I have a question.
If we have another shoot low cycle, and they continue...will her body get used to it and it will be easier to keep her up at a good number? And everyday she'll stay in the good numbers without my having to feed her every 20 min

And if i wasn't going to be home to monitor her tonight, what would I have done as far as food and insulin goes
 
I don’t think you need to worry about a big drop. If the +5 hasn’t gone down I think you can sleep until +11.5 so if you need to see if heading up at that point so you can shoot on time in the morning.
her +5 went down from 127 (+4.5) to +5 118

did I jynx myself :/
 
She was done eating at +3.5
Her +5.5 is 120

I'm having a problem accessing my spreadsheet but ill update the thread title
 
She’s surfing nicely. I hope you get rid of the pests so you can start using your auto feeder. I would get some sleep.
 
Back
Top