9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 Help Pm dose PMPS 138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
Just wanted to get my condo going in case I get busy later on. Garlands shot was 2 hours late yesterday morning, so this one is late as well. Im moving it up a little to start getting her back on her old time schedule.

Lots of greens yesterday, back up in pinks today.

Karrie- Her stitch has come loose(barely hanging on now), and I think I want to get the tube taken out tomorrow morning. If I dont do it this weekend, I will have to wait another week to the next Saturday (so hubby will be home to watch the kids) I haven't tube fed her at all since the 11th, and shes been eating on her own for much longer than that. But that would make it 6 full days of no tube feeds if I get it taken out tomorrow. Do you think thats okay? Or do I need to wait another week? I really feel good about her. She is back to her usual self, eating 3 cans of FF a day. Begging for food, eating really really well. But I wanted to ask your opinion on that....

Yesterday
 
Re: 9/16 Garland -- Late AM shot today, will have AMPS later

Good morning! I just wanted to stop by and tell you hello before things got busy here at tbp. You are doing amazing with Garland. Have a wonderful Friday!
 
Re: 9/16 Garland -- Late AM shot today, will have AMPS later

I'm no expert on tube feeding, however, if she's eating on her own especially for so long, I'd be considering having it removed, also. Good luck! And enjoy these beautiful cooler temps. LOL Are you going to the balloon festival this weekend?
 
Re: 9/16 Garland -- Late AM shot today, will have AMPS later

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
I'm no expert on tube feeding, however, if she's eating on her own especially for so long, I'd be considering having it removed, also. Good luck! And enjoy these beautiful cooler temps. LOL Are you going to the balloon festival this weekend?
There is a balloon festival?? Where? That sound fun!
 
Re: 9/16 Garland -- Late AM shot today, will have AMPS later

Hi Violet - I also don't know anything about tube feeding, either, but what wonderful, wonderful news about Garland eating so well on her own now! Your story truly is amazing....

Have a wonderful day!

Amy

PS - The Balloon Festival does sound like fun!!!
 
Re: 9/16 Garland -- Late AM shot today, will have AMPS later

I think six full days is safe. I can't believe its been that long already! You did everything right Violet. I can't wait to hear what her vet thinks. Wish I could be there :lol:

You should bring in a kitty kollar to show him for others that get tubes.
 
Re: 9/16 Garland -- Late AM shot today, will have AMPS later

Karrie and Maverick said:
I think six full days is safe. I can't believe its been that long already! You did everything right Violet. I can't wait to hear what her vet thinks. Wish I could be there :lol:

You should bring in a kitty kollar to show him for others that get tubes.

Well, I think its techically 5.5 days (Saturday is the 6th day). But I really do think it will be okay. Shes fine with food. Gobbling it up like she was never sick :lol: Miss piggie

The vet who took care of her is off for the next 4 days. So I dont think he will get to see her :cry: Im upset about that. But I cant take her during the week bc of the kids, and I really really dont want to wait another 8 days (YIKES) Her stitch would need to be replaced by then anyways. I wont be surprised if it comes all the way off today. She will be going in w her kitty kollar on. I love that thing. It made the last week and a half much better. No more bandages coming off, me worrying about strangling her, no more scratching.. it was a life saver! Im a full supporter of those things :-D
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370

Wow! time for tube removal! Fabulous!
couple questions -
Did you shoot early at all this morning? I'm not seeing a notation on the ss.
Did you feed any of those beautiful greens during yesterdays AM cycle?
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370

hooray for tube removal!!

and a giggle for you...

ETA: not a political statement...

celebrity-pictures-bolger-garland-job-congress.jpg
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Wow! time for tube removal! Fabulous!
couple questions -
Did you shoot early at all this morning? I'm not seeing a notation on the ss.
Did you feed any of those beautiful greens during yesterdays AM cycle?
Garland eats all day... she grazes on food and I replenish it every couple of hours...

I will be shooting 30 minutes early in the AM to make up for the late shot. I didnt think to put it on my SS, sorry :smile: FIxed now. So that means today I shot at 10am, Sat 930, sun 9, mon back at 830
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68

Thanks for coming by and everyones well wishes for Garland. :-D

So her +10 was a 68... I gave her a few small licks of Gravy because I felt her numbers were dropping kinda fast. Is that okay? What should I do come shot time if her numbers are still low like this?
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! This is fantastic news!!! YOU DID IT, Violet!!!! You are most awesome!!! And so is Garland!
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 PM dose?

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would grab a test 15 - 30 min. before your PMPS and post if numbers are still low.

121

Shot due in 10 minutes. Give her the usual 3u?
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +10 68 PM dose? +11.75 121 // 138

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
I'd like to see one more test, say in 15 mins?

eta - is this number food influenced?


AHHH!! Baby was crying hysterically (got his foot stuck in the crib rail) Finally got him settled, and I just got the new #. I should have shot 15 minutes ago. New # is 138, it is food influence a little. shes been munching for the last 45 minutes here and there
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 Help Pm dose. 121//

Its 30 minutes past shot time now... ... i guess I give the 3u? nailbite_smile umm... nailbite_smile eek
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 Help Pm dose. 121//

Well, i didnt really know what to do, and i chickened out of a full 3 units. I know that 138 was food influenced. Her numbers shot down low pretty quick early evening and then they are always extra low overnight. I gave her 2units. is that okay, or did I totally mess up? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 Help Pm dose. 121//

I thought you did.
Here are the quidelines for low preshots:
Some general rules when stalling (ECID):

** 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.

** Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.
I'm concerned that the 138 is food influenced.
Ultimately you have to be comfortable
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 Help Pm dose PMPS 13

Posted at the same time - I'm a very slow typist...sorry
You did fine going with a BCS.
Get your +1 and +2, you may have an active cycle.
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 Help Pm dose PMPS 13

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Posted at the same time - I'm a very slow typist...sorry
You did fine going with a BCS.
Get your +1 and +2, you may have an active cycle.
BCS?
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 Help Pm dose PMPS 13

Violet and Garland said:

Big Chicken Sh!t dose :-D
We've all used it from time to time.

Is there any way you can keep Garland from eating after +10?
That way you can be certain the PS numbers aren't food influenced.
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 Help Pm dose PMPS 13

Violet --

It might help if you printed out the sticky on shooting low pre-shots and numbers. Having the information handy when you're not sure what to do can help, especially if there's no one around to immediately answer a question.

Now that Garland is eating, it does make sense to pick up food by +10 so your pre-shot isn't influenced by food.
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 Help Pm dose PMPS 13

Sienne and Gabby said:
Violet --

It might help if you printed out the sticky on shooting low pre-shots and numbers. Having the information handy when you're not sure what to do can help, especially if there's no one around to immediately answer a question.

Now that Garland is eating, it does make sense to pick up food by +10 so your pre-shot isn't influenced by food.
I read that tonight when I was trying to figure out what to do. It said to not give anything if the number was under 150. But I knew I had to give her something. I just didnt know how much. And It was hard to understand what it was saying "if you arent a newbie" LOL I think im still newbie, bc all this number stuff confuses me. I get nervous... sorry LOL

I will start to pick up her food. Ive just been food sensitive lately bc of her not eating for so long and the feeding tube. I just cross my fingers everyday that she eats.
 
Re: 9/16 Garland AMPS 370 +7 120 +10 68 Help Pm dose PMPS 13

Well, given all that you and Garland have been through, you're not a newbie any more!! You are data ready.

When you have a low pre-shot number, you have 3 options:
  • Skip the shot. This is the least desirable option since it has the most impact on the shed.
  • Stall (and don't feed) and then re-test every 15 to 30 min. until you know numbers are either surfing in a reasonable range or rising.
  • Give a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose.There isn't a "right" amount for a BCS dose. A lot depends on your comfort level and what you know about your cat.
At this point, you've shot as low as 107. The basic rule is, "Shoot low to stay low." You should be getting more comfortable with shooting low blue numbers. You'll be able to work your way down to shooting greens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top